Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Aveda.

Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne

helps clear clogged pores
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 Reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
70 of 75(93%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
Review 1 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a gentle approach

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
By Poseyp007
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Montgomery, AL
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"many years ago I was taught to use these products quite effectively by adding a drop or two (I switch bw this and sensitive infusion) to one pump of my basic aveda moisturizer and then spraying one spritz of toning mist into my palm. mix it, blot it on and then pat with fingertips to increase cirulation / absorption. A small amount covers my face and neck. It is very soothing and calming to aggravated skin and probably the most effective approach in the long run for skin that is overly sensitive to fragrance & chemicals /suffers surface dehydration / and prone to hormonally driven breakouts (cysts) . This is NOT a miracle- but safe and effective. There are no miracles for adult acne...I've tried them all! This naturally reverses the inflammation and damage allowing the body to heal as necessary. Typical "quick fix" treatments over dry & over treat the skin increasing inflammation and therefore scarring."
This product is best for:freaky sensitive w/cystic acne
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magic!

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Customer avatar
By Mishri
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I mix a few drops of the Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne and a few drops of the Balancing Infusion for Sensitive skin with the Intensive Hydrating Masque. I sleep with this mixture on my face whenever I have a break out and it work like magic! It leaves my skin soft, supple and clears up the break out. I also use the Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne as a spot treatment during the day and it works really well!! In the event of a bad break out situation I also add a few drops of the Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne to the Deep Cleansing Herbal Clay Masque. What I like best about Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne is that it can be used by itself or to enhance the effect of another masque!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real problem solver

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Customer avatar
By aginggrace
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Northern Virginia
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have been using this product for a few years now. I have combination, mostly oily, some dry, sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts and fine lines and I can't use many moisturizers. This balances my skin beautifully after cleansing and leaves it soft but not at all oily. Then I can use moisturizers or other treatments which are perfectly absorbed. My skin has been so balanced since using it, I have forgotten what the swings of oily/dry used to be like. I use the Balancing Infusion during the winter and the Acne Balancing Infusion during the summer. My skin tells me when to switch! I'm really grateful I tried this product. I'm not a product junkie type so I was skeptical, but it has been a godsend."
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, unbalanced skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It worked for me

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Customer avatar
By EarthGoddess
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Norfolk, VA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"A facial consultant used this on me at an Aveda salon for my facial. I'm prone to break outs very badly. It smelled wonderful to me and felt great when she put it on, so I bought it.
I started using it twice a day. Within a few days, I noticed my break outs starting to diminish. My face felt softer, and I've noticed a big decrease in white heads, especially. It feels very calming to my sensitive skin and smells wonderful. I was concerned about putting an oil on my already oil-prone skin, but I don't think it's harming me any. True, it feels a little oily, but not enough to stop me from using it. Try using just 2 or 3 drops on a cotton ball."
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't leave home without it!

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Customer avatar
By jeannenyrn
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Main Street USA
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"When I turned 30, I broke out with acne for the first time in my life. I was devastated, having survived being a teenager without acne problems, then here I was 30 - worrying about grey and wrinkles and now ACNE!?! I tried a bunch of different products, finally, I settled on washing with botanical kinetics gel cleanser, then using tourmaline charged moisturizer with spf 15 and 2-3 drops of the Balancing Infusion... It worked. I haven't deviated for almost 3 years and am more than pleased with how my skin looks. I like the salicilic acid for more than just keeping acne at bay, but also to help exfoliate and maybe keep my skin looking young."
This product is best for:normal with hormonal acne
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it works!!!

PostedMay 29, 2009
Customer avatar
By JMA1
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:NJ
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am devoted to Aveda
"FINALLY something that works!!
I found I still had some stubborn whiteheads hanging around my troublesome areas (chin, forehead) when using the Outer Peace line, so I thought I'd try this. It's been less than a week, and my skin is SO clear! Better yet, you see a difference overnight!
I use the Infusion as a night treatment (it is oily) and then use the Outer Peace spot treatment in the morning. I find the Balancing Infusion works most effectively on those stubborn whiteheads which never go away. It will take care of them overnight, if not by the next day. Not to mention it smells really good (almost calming)."
This product is best for:Combination skin, whiteheads, stubborn acne
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By FarmTownGirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:VA
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I thought that this being an oil....I would probably be sorry I bought it because my skin is sooooo oily already. But it really does seem to "slow" the over oil production a bit. My skin seems to be a little more "normal" but I'm still oily. I have noticed that I don't get the little dry patches around my mouth (because of all the washing I do) any more. It has a strong smell......it's not bad.....just strong. I use it at night because it is a little to much moisture on my already oily skin for day time use. I will dab a bit on around my eyes or mouth when needed though. All in all........it's worth a try :)"
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Try it!

PostedMarch 15, 2010
Customer avatar
By Jessy
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:TX
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am devoted to Aveda
"I have very oily skin and get large painful pimples along with white/black heads and regular pimples. I have tried everything, and this is the only product that has made a significant change in my skin. It is soft, supple, even, less wrinkles, tiny pores, very few white/black heads (only around the nose) and my large painful pimples are very rare occurances instead of a new one every week. The only thing this doesnt do is decrease my oiliness, but it has not increased it either. If you have tried everything and it hasnt worked, try this! Two drops twice a day makes a beautiful face!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Product for Oily Skin

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Customer avatar
By hopetess
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Louisville, KY
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"After dealing with continual breakouts on my 40-year-old skin, I was getting really frustrated. Even though the Outer Peace products were helping, I was still getting pimples on a regular basis, just not as bad as before. When an Aveda employee recommended this balancing oil, I was skeptical, to say the least... putting oil on my already oily skin sounded counterintuitive. But to my complete surprise, IT WORKS!!! Amazing. I now swear by this product and use it once or twice a day after cleansing. No more breakouts. Plus, I love the smell of it...very natural and soothing."
This product is best for:Oily skin, acne/breakouts
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just didn't work for me

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Customer avatar
By YogaMom
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Cincinnati, OH
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love all of my Aveda products, particularly because the scents are very natural and not overpowering. I purchased this product at an Aveda store after talking with a salesperson, but wish I would have tried a sample before I committed to the full size. It didn't make a noticeable difference in breakouts and the scent was too overpowering for me (and my family - my kids kept asking me what that smell was!). I didn't care for applying an oil to my already oily skin either. Unfortunately, I had to get rid of this before I had even used half of the bottle."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Balancing Infusion

PostedSeptember 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By Mia
From:Tampa, FL
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern reduce frizz
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I just have to say that i am so glad that i was introduced to this product..My sister has been using it for years now. About a month ago my face broke out so bad and she told me to try it. At first i was a little hesitant since it's an oil and i thought that applying it to my skin would just make matters worse. I am so glad i decided to try it..THE VERY NEXT day i noticed my breakouts reduced in size drastically..it's been a month now and my face looks so much better I LOVE IT! I will definitely buy this product again and recommend it to friends!"
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, All skin types, acne prone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of both worlds!

PostedJune 24, 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Tallahassee, FL
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I had this used on my face when I went into an Aveda salon for a facial and I loved the smell and it was recommended to me by my aesthetician since I had combination skin. At first, I was a bit skeptical because why would I put oil on my face if prone to acne? But it does not make your face oily, instead it moisturizes and treats at the same time. It really does balance your skin to the ideal moisture level and leaves it very smooth and full. And like I said before, I absolutely love the smell!"
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, Normal skin, All skin types, Dull skin, Dry skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best stuff

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Customer avatar
By Rizzo
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:Murrieta, CA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use this instead of moisturizer after my nightly cleansing routine and before I put on my makeup in the morning. It is a wonderful product that I cannot imagine living without since I have been using it since it's inception. Using Outer Peace acne spot relief is NOT even a close substitute. I have been told by all the Aveda stores and customer service that this product is being discontinued. I AM NOT HAPPY THAT THIS PRODUCT IS BEING DISCONTINUED."
This product is best for:Oily skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Really wanted it to work

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Customer avatar
By Worleybird
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Kansas
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I've loved everything else Aveda that I've tried, but this did not work on my sudden onset of adult acne. I used it twice a day for 1 week. In the end, the only thing that worked on my stress-induced acne was a radical diet change for a few days. Water, fruits, veggies and fish. Now my skin is clear as a bell, and I know which foods to avoid. Despite this, I am in love with the Tourmaline and Botanical Kenetics lines, and I can't wait to try more!"
This product is best for:Dry skin
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 4, 2010
Customer avatar
By PeacefulSeraph
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Kissimmee, FL
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I add this to my lotion and night creme everyday and it clears up my skin... I'm not crazy about its smell but the results sell me every time I use it. If you have sensitive skin it's very important to moisturize with this, or you'll suffer skin peeling and red patches (it's very powerful stuff!)... and despite the fact it states it's for "oily" skin, I find it works better than the sensitive version for enlarged pores. Overall a great product!"
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I think it is working.

PostedJanuary 14, 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Birmingham, AL
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This was highly recomended by friends. So far I like the aroma and it is doing wonders on those small little blackheads that hide in the t-zone. I am not so impressed by how it treats an actual blemish. While it seems to prevent the white head from popping out as it heals the red bump doesn't truely diminish and is seemingly a bit hard. I do love the scent and the feel of this very light not over drying formula on my skin."
This product is best for:Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't live without it

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Customer avatar
By fwgvt
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Hudson, NH
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I absolutely could not live without balancing infusion for oily skin/acne. I use it daily as a part of my regular skin care routine and it really helps to keep my combination skin looking fresh. Additionally, I will put a drop onto an emerging pimple and it's cleared up quite quickly. When I use it in the evening on a pending breakout, my skin looks completely refreshed when I wake up in the morning. Fabulous find!"
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Balancing Infusion great for breakouts!

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Glendale, Ca
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Aveda's Balancing Infusion for oily skin/acne is a wonderful product for people that have the occasional (and/or) frequent breakout. Because of its gentle sterilization, it doesn't dry your skin out as much as straight salicylic acid or tea tree oil. I use it pretty much every day on my affected areas directly onto my skin, but I also mix it into my skin lotion if I need a little extra help with clogged pores."
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Liquid

PostedJune 23, 2009
Customer avatar
By Padmaja
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Herndon
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I had acne since I was 14 and I have a sensitive skin. I wash my face with sensitive skin face wash and then apply the Balancing Infusion Liquid before going to bed. My acne has really cleared up and I also noticed that if I apply this liquid on a popping pimple, it would disappear the next morning. You really need only 2 drops of it. I am giving a 4 star since its a little expensive but worth the buy."
This product is best for:Oily skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Balancing Infusion for Oily Skin/Acne
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like no other acne product

PostedNovember 22, 2009
Customer avatar
By ka62
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Laurel, MD
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This oil is amazing. It cleared up the congestion that had been on my forehead for years. I have tried the product both on the skin directly and through a few drops mixed in with my Tourmaline serum, and it has been very effective in keeping acne at bay. It works to reduce inflammation on larger spots when applied directly, which is great. I will always be keeping this product around!"
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>