Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Mascara Plus Rose

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Aveda.

Mascara Plus Rose

lengthens, thickens lashes
Overall rating:
4.447 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 Reviews
5 Stars
54
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
78 of 85(92%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Mascara Plus Rose
Review 1 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Customer avatar
By greengirlmk7
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:alaska/texas
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I am a make up artist as well as an aveda trained esthetician and i absolutely love this mascara! i'm all about dramatic lashes usually and for a long time i would just use whatever gave the best results reguardless of how badly it would dry out my lashes. after using a different brand of mascara for a year i was begining to lose my eye lashes every time i took off my eye make up.
i never looked twice at this mascara because i didn't think it gave dramatic enough results the first time i tried it but when i started losing lashes i remembered i had it from my kit and gave it a try and i am so glad i did! after about a month my lashes actually grew longer and became thicker! no lie!! it's the best. and i adore the smell as well. now if i want high drama i always use this as a base coat."
This product is best for:moisturizing lashes!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mascara hands down!

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Customer avatar
By keller
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:ridgecrest, ca
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have been searching for a mascara as fine as this product. Until now every mascara I used would get chunky on my eyes and leave bits of mascara on my face, very unattractive. Aveda Rose mascara is the best and I don't plan on changing now that I found it. It has a beautiful rose smell and if I forget to remove it at night, it won't make my eyes itch like other mascara does when I wake. I high recommend this product and I now have my mother using it!"
This product is best for:beautiful eyelashes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellet Choice for your Eyes

PostedSeptember 5, 2008
Customer avatar
By Jody
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
From:Wyoming, MI
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"While reading a review of eco-friendly mascara this product was mentioned very favorably. I really never liked mascara but thought I'd give the product a try. WOW!!! Easy application, great looking, easy to remove--who could ask for more. The best part though is that it's not harmful to my eyes (no petrochemicals). Love the product!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedOctober 28, 2008
Customer avatar
By cwreview
From:Shakopee, MN
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Love the scent and the color, but this mascara flaked and smudged very easily, leaving black smears under my eyes. I try to use solely Aveda products but this one won't work for me."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Naturally beautiful with a single stroke.

PostedOctober 9, 2008
Customer avatar
By Nessa
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Anchorage, AK
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I personally try to wear as little make up as possible. I have blonde lashes so I like mascara to accentuate my eyes. My light facial features are not complimented by dark/thick lashes unless I add more color to my face which would mean more makeup.
It is absolutely the best of the animal friendly and natural mascara I have ever used. It isn't clumpy and it is easy to regulate the amount you get on your lashes (natural to dolled up look capabilities). It really does make your lashes feel soft too!
It comes off very nicely. If you choose not to wash it off it stays for an extra day with a minimal touching up.
One thing I did notice was my eye cream attracted the mascara under my eyes a tiny bit. It can be prevented with loose powder or fixed with a quick couple dabs of a moist q-tip (or anything soft you trust under your eyes that doesn't pull/tug on your skin).
It really does smell like roses and it is an overall wonderful product. I will purchase again."
This product is best for:blonde lashes, natural look, soft lashes, accentuating
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this mascara!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
By Aquarius
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Rural Minnesota
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"With age, my lashes have become thin and brittle. Finding the right mascara has been trial and error. I was so happy I bought the rose formula from Aveda and quickly saw the benefits to my lashes. It's very conditioning and doesn't look flaky or clumpy, even at the end of a long day. It goes on easily and evenly, and washes off right away with even the most gentle cleanser. So, I was very disappointed to learn it had been discontinued, at least in Aveda salons. Luckily, it is still available on line and my order shipped very quickly. I bought two tubes and even got free sample products. If Aveda comes out with an improved version, as I was told by salon staff is likely, I will buy it but hope it's similar to the current formula. It really works and costs about half what I paid for department store brands."
This product is best for:healthy lashes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Macara

PostedJanuary 23, 2009
Customer avatar
By flowerflowerbutterfly
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Corvallis, OR
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This mascara lengthens, thickens, and even conditions the lashes. With rose, it has a little scent, which is pleasant, unlike many of its mascara counterparts. It does not smear or flake. It does not dry out the lashes at all and lasts all day. Even though, it is not waterprooof, it did not smear under my eyes, as many non-waterproof mascaras seem to do. Waterproof mascaras are thought to be very drying for everyday use (from what I have read) and I am glad this one is moisturizing and does not cake or smear (even though it is not waterproof). Finally, a mascara I like, actually LOVE!"
This product is best for:lengthening thickening conditioning lashes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Mascara

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By MissJBP
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Orange County, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This mascara is wonderful. It doesn't make your eyelashes clumpy- just long and lovely. I love that it doesn't harden onto your eyelashes like most mascaras; it makes your eyelashes feel and look natural and beautiful. That's also great if you happen to put too much on- you can still comb it out after it dries. Oh, and the smell!! It makes me so happy in the morning to smell the sweet, fresh scent of roses when I'm puting on my makeup rather than the chemical smell you get with other brands."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aroma & the espresso color

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer avatar
By ShiShiGrl
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Arlington, WA
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I've used this product for a long time. I can honestly say I'm a repeat customer of this product due to the scent and the color.
The rose scent is luxurious and the espresso color is amazing. I'm not a fan of black mascaras. However, I have noticed that the product tends to dry/flake/clump; not while wearing it but the product, itself, in the container, seems to dry up quickly.
Perhaps a different/better mechanism is required to keep it sealed.
"
This product is best for:natural look
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Lengthening Mascara!

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
By carliez
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Ravenna, OH
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"LOVE this mascara!!!! It really lengthens my lashes and at the end of the day, it doesn't make my eyes irritated. With any other brand of mascara, if I could wear them at all, I was happy if my eyes weren't red, watery and itchy by the end of the work day. With Aveda's mascaras, I don't have to worry about that. They look great all day and smell like roses too. I like the Espresso for daytime and Raven if I am going out for the evening."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Mascara

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Customer avatar
By lolatx
"I really wanted to love this mascara after reading the reviews, but I simply didn't. Too much comes out in a goop form and it ends up smearing on my eye lid. I wanted it to look natural but it's just not possible. I don't smell the rose that everyone else does and it does smear during the day, so I have to wipe under my eyes constantly. I wouldn't recommend this to a friend and I definitely will be looking for a new mascara."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gives Lashes a Nice Length

PostedAugust 15, 2008
Customer avatar
By lorenn
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Oldenburg, IN
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This is the first time I've used this mascara, and I am happy with it. It gives your lashes a nice thickness and length. I am a blonde with very light lashes, so I am always looking for a product that helps my lashes to stand out. The only problem I found with this product is you must apply it very carefully or your lashes get clumped together. It's not a problem anymore, though, once I got comfortable applying it."
This product is best for:eye enhancement
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not the best on the market

PostedNovember 29, 2008
Customer avatar
By babycatface
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Smithville, TX
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This product, while smelling lovely, runs onto the lower lid within two hours of application. I applied a light coat to the outside corner of my lashes as instructed, but it ran anyway. Granted I have really long lashes that sometimes rub against eye glasses and my lids. Also, the brush got clumpy by the third use - like it was already six months old. Still - not bad for the price and herbal nature of the product."
This product is best for:photo shoots
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
By Autumn29
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:NY
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
"At first I thought this mascara was good. But then I wore it for a while and it smudged, it ran and it just didn't wear well at all. It doesn't enhance your lashes so if you have thin lashes to begin with this mascara doesn't help at all. Will never buy this again unless they reformulate it and swear that it works a thousand times better...."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for sensitive eyes

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Customer avatar
By Sandar
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:South Carolina
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"For the past several years, I have had difficulty wearing any brand of mascara due to itchy and burning eyes. I tried this mascara based on several of the reviews and have had great success. My eyes no longer burn or itch with this mascara and I enjoy the rose smell. I do find that the mascara clumps but since it doesn't bother my eyes, I will put up with the clumping!!!!"
This product is best for:sensitive eyes
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedSeptember 18, 2008
Customer avatar
By LawyerGirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Warsaw, Indiana
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"It is amazing how decedent it feels to put on this mascara and be enveloped with the scent of english rose. I not only love the scent, but I love how this product almost dyes my lashes, so I only have to put it on every other day to be have perfectly defined lashes! My only caution is that it is not waterproof, so don't put on if your evening plans include singing in the rain!"
This product is best for:long lasting lash color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Me

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Customer avatar
By pkst
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Monument, CO
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This mascara does what it says it will do. I was very pleased the first time I tried it. There was no eye irritation and my lashes looked great. They looked natural without the spider eye look. My daughter now uses it too and has very sensitive eyes, and this works for her. We both like the scent. The price is right for comparable mascara too. WE are hooked!!!"
This product is best for:great looking lashes without any problems
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous and long lasting

PostedMarch 28, 2009
Customer avatar
By jch549
From:Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I just purchased this mascara for the first time and I love it. I put it on early this morning and it still looks like it was just applied (6 hours later). It is also kid proof after playing with an almost 2 year old rough and tumble on the floor for those 6 hours, not a smudge or smear. The color is true, it thickens and lengthens just like it says."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How I came to love AVEDA

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
By gurlcurl
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Whg. W.V.
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am a salon owner
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I was introduced to AVEDA Mascara Plus Rose fifteen years ago and have absolutely loved it. The mascara builds my lashes, does not smear, and the wand is perfect size! I am a salon owner and since loving this product I became interested in all AVEDA products. I have now been an AVEDA CONCEPT SALON for fifteen years!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mascara Plus Rose
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Lovely Mascara

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
By GwenG
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Newark, DE
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I tried this mascara and immediately fell in love! The scent of rose is lovely. When the Aveda Concept Store consultant put it on me, my eyes just "popped" as she put it. I can't say enough great things about this mascara.
It really stays on the eyelashes and doesn't give the "raccoon look" by the end of the day.
"
This product is best for:looking great
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>