Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Aveda.

Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free

hydrates with oil-free formula
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 Reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
229 of 236(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
Review 61 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and Easy

PostedAugust 27, 2008
Customer avatar
By MomOf2
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Madison, WI
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is my favorite skin care product - I can dash it on just before I run out the door in the morning and it has everything I need for the day. It is a nice, light moisturizer with the all-important SPF. It isn't too oily and smells fresh. I have sensitive skin and it doesn't make me break out like so many lotions with SPF."
This product is best for:Combination skin, sensitive skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product!!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By josie123
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Los Angeles, CA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This is the perfect moisturizer for my combination skin. It provides the right amount of moisture to the drier areas and does not make the oiler parts look shinier. Also, it helps with reflecting the light to minimize my fine lines. I've tried many, many moisturizers but always come back to this one. It's the best!"
This product is best for:Combination skin, Dull skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOW WHAT?!

PostedApril 27, 2010
Customer avatar
By auntecarole
"To say I am disappointed is an understatment! I finally found a product w/sunscreen that didn't feel like Crisco. I'm sure someone who has never used Tourmaline Protecting Lotion is the ONE who decided for the rest of us to discontinue it. This WILL cause me to shop for skin care products elsewhere."
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE it

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Customer avatar
By kcaden
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Los Angeles
Skin type dry
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
"It has only been two days since I've tried this product I can see the huge difference. My skin looks so radiant and flawless. I'm hooked!!
I had been using the Botanical Kinetics line for dry skin for about 2 years, and I was satisfied. However, this tourmaline line is far superior and so worth the added cost."
This product is best for:Dry skin, All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome sun protection

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
By eveben
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:norfolk, va
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"most products make me break out or the smell of the product bothers me so much that i can't use it. i do not have this problem with the tourmaline charged protecting lotion spf 15/oil-free. the best part is no breakouts. so i finally found something i can use so i can get the sun protection that i need"
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nourishing SPF lotion

PostedApril 20, 2010
Customer avatar
By JustcallmeD
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Cleveland, OH
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Love this lotion; I have oily skin and even with an SPF and a lotion texture, this moisturizer doesn't leave me greasy. The lotion itself has a neutral aroma, contains loads of antioxidants that make skin glow and has an SPF 15 that should be good for an all day application. I'm sad to see it go"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful texture and scent

PostedSeptember 2, 2008
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Darien, CT
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"The lotion is always a welcome addition to my daily regime. The scent is delightful, yet non-offensive to those sensitive to fragrance. I rest assured that the SPF will protect my skin from harmful UVA/UVB rays on a cloudy or sunny day. The tourmaline helps prevent the aging process, so I couldn't be more pleased."
This product is best for:Combination skin, Dull skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

miracle lotion

PostedApril 7, 2009
Customer avatar
By Susee
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Lancaster, CA
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is the first product I ever purchased, and it is the one product I will never be without! Within 3 months of using this Tourmaline protecting lotion the brown age spots on my nose, chest, hands and arms deduced in size by half. By 5 months the age spots had faded to small freakles. It's a miracle lotion!"
This product is best for:Dry skin, All skin types, protecting and repair of sun damaged skin.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Light Daytime Moisturizer

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Customer avatar
By Kate75
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Oklahoma
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have combo skin, and heavy moisturizers can make me sweat, which I worry makes me lose the benefits of any sunscreen. This moisturizer is nice and light, absorbs easily, and is non-greasy. It feels weightless and is invisible, so it works well under makeup. I am very pleased, and I am hard to please!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15

PostedNovember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
By Chargirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Charlotte, NC
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This product absorbs beautifully into your skin. I have used this product for a very long time and will continue to do so. It is perfect for protecting your skin against the sun, and it doesn't feel like a lotion containing SPF. Great scent as well. Highly recommend this product for those with dry skin."
This product is best for:Dry skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

five years and counting

PostedNovember 13, 2008
Customer avatar
By barnlady
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Paris, Maine
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My skin care consultant began using this product over five years ago when I first began a monthly facial appointment. Since then I have maintained the Aveda product regemin, and have been very pleased with the result. I am nearly 60 years old, and my skin still looks surprisingly youthful. Great stuff."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Every-day Lotion

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
By Nexianladyluck
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Lansing, MI
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"The consistency of this lotion was great for both myself and my roommate, even though we are at opposite ends of the skincare spectrum (she has dry skin, I have oily, acne-prone skin). It is easy to wear under makeup, and its lack of fragrance and fuss-free packaging makes it an ideal unisex product."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please bring this back!!

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Customer avatar
By jmc4733
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Chicago
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
"I too just found out that this item is discontinued and am OUT! GRR. This is the best moisturizer I have found and am bummed that I have to go on a new search. Where am I going to find something that feels so nice and is so good to my skin. I'm really disappointed."
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great moisturizer

PostedAugust 27, 2008
Customer avatar
By princesstofu
"i've been using this product for years and it works great for my oily skin because it is oil free. plus the sunscreen is built right in, which is great, because i get lazy and forget to put sunscreen on otherwise. and the little bottle with the pump that closes easily is great to take on vacation."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic purchase!

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Customer avatar
By SaxieLadie
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Montague, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"It took me a LONG time to find a moisturizer that didn't make my oily skin break out. And this is it!! Not only does it moisturize without breakouts, but it is SPF, too. This way, when I forget my sunblock, I still have protection! And it makes my skin feel sooooo soft and silky smooth. I love it!"
This product is best for:Oily skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Afraid of moisturizers that are too oily?

PostedAugust 27, 2008
Customer avatar
By wg29
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Waltham, MA
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"You don't have to worry when using Aveda's Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion! This facial lotion is lightweight and oil-free - it also smells great! SPF 15 protects agains the sun's damaging rays as well. I have problematic skin and never hesitate to use this moisturizer. I use it year-round!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tourmaline is the best!!

PostedApril 10, 2009
Customer avatar
By watt
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Delaware
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used this product for a while now and I actually stopped to try out another product that claimed to be more enviormantally friendly. After a week I actually noticed the glow from my skin start to disappear. Once I started using the Tourmaline lotion again I had "hollywood" skin again!"
This product is best for:Dry skin, Combination skin, Dull skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Missed it and came back!

PostedMarch 28, 2010
Customer avatar
By HappyAvedaUser
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Richmond, VA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is such a great, lightweight, lotion and you don't feel at all like you are lathering on the protection you need! I tried another product for a while that my sister gave me, but I had to come back to this. The texture and the smell and the performance can't be matched."
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By Pammie
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Scottsdale, AZ
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love my Aveda tourmaline lotion- in fact I love the whole line of this product!! I am a busy lady that wants my skin to keep it's 55 years young look and feel and this does the trick! I have many people ask me about my skin and ALWAYS love to tell them about my Aveda Love Affair!!"
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why discontinue?

PostedJune 14, 2010
Customer avatar
By Ctac87
From:Philadelphia, PA
I am an Aveda customer
"This was my favorite Aveda product. It was an expensive but necessary and worthwhile purchase. Please bring back or replace with a similar product ASAP! It's the only daily lotion I could use that'that wasn't too thick/oily and had SPF. Now I don't know what to do!"
This product is best for:Oily skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>