Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Aveda.

Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free

hydrates with oil-free formula
Overall rating:
4.767 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 Reviews
5 Stars
196
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
229 of 236(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
Review 1 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tragedy to lose this product!

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer avatar
By birthdaygirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:NYC
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Seriously, Aveda. What's up with this decision to discontinue?! I LOVED this lotion. I started using it two years ago instead of the acne-control lotion alongside the regular acne-control line (the skin wash, the pads, and the spot lotion). I am 33, and literally for the first time since I was 15 my skin cleared up and stayed clear. It was Aveda's only oil-free moisturizer and Aveda's only face moisturizer with SPF. It was the only moisturizer that worked for my acne-prone, sensitive, yet aging skin (and this is after years of searching for a product that worked). Are you planning to reveal some even better answer to my skin problems? Are you at least going to offer an oil-free moisturizer, or one with SPF? If not, please bring back this wonderful product. I am really truly sad to see it go. "
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, Dull skin, sensitive skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Lotion

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer avatar
By KellyCat
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Salt Lake City, UT
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I ditto most of the other responses. I, too, have used this product for about 5 years, and I have been using Aveda for the past 10 years (hair, skin, and makeup). I LOVE this moisturizer. I have combo/sensitive skin, and Aveda is all I use. I have used the other lines like Green Science, but this works best for me. I am begging Aveda to also bring back this lotion, as it is the best thing I have used that is oil free and has SPF that doesn't break out my skin. "
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for overly sensitive skin

PostedSeptember 7, 2008
Customer avatar
By evilangel8130
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Boston, MA
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I was really excited when I saw a moisturizer with spf and I burn very easily. I tried this and my face started feeling tingly and there was a little burning sensation and my cheeks got a bit more red. Not sure if there was just something in it my face didn't like. I opted for the sensitive skin moisturize which I love and as a plus I use the inner light liquid foundation that does have spf in it and doesn't make my face tingle. "
This product is best for:Normal skin
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Leaves skin feeling dewy

PostedFebruary 7, 2009
Customer avatar
By NoyMK
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Wynnewood, PA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I've been using this product for 3 months. Although I haven't noticed a significant change in my skin, I do love the dewy texture my skin gets after using this product. But by the end of the day, my t-zone does get oily again. Overall, it is very light and a little bit goes a long way. I just added the tourmaline charged products (serum, eye cream and mask) to my regimen and am awaiting the results. "
This product is best for:Dry skin, Combination skin, moisturizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mostureizer Ever!!!!

PostedApril 13, 2009
Customer avatar
By vegygrl
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Arizona
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" This really is the best mosturizer I've ever used. It is so worth the money. I have sensetive skin that likes to break out from too much oil, so the oil free formula works great so me. Light easy smell. And the SPF makes it a one stop shop. "
This product is best for:Dry skin, Oily skin, Combination skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best overall moisturizer

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Customer avatar
By manheini
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
Pure Privilege memberYes
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Please, please bring this item back on your market, it's the best moisturizer I have ever used, I can't believe you would discontinue such a popular item. "
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaves residue on skin

PostedNovember 11, 2008
Customer avatar
By JerseyGirl2
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Northern New Jersey
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I didn't like this at all. It left a filmy residue on my skin. By the end of the day, my skin was oily and this made me break out. "
This product is best for:Dry skin
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great every day lotion

PostedSeptember 23, 2008
Customer avatar
By CinPV
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:PVE, CA
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
" I love this lightweight lotion. My face feels refreshed and glows every morning when I put in on! Love it! "
This product is best for:Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only moisturizer that I use and will ever use

PostedSeptember 12, 2008
Customer avatar
By slawless77
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Everett, WA
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I don't wear make-up and don't put much fuss into getting ready in the morning. This is the only Aveda product I get on a regular basis... not because I don't like Aveda, its just that I don't do much to myself, but getting older I have been in great need of a moisturizer in the past few years. This one is so light but does such a great job keeping my face soft, and I LOVE that it has SPF! My skin is pretty normal, not sensitive at all, so not sure how it would be for anyone with special skin care needs, but I could not reccomend this product more. I have been using it for probably 2 or more years, before that I was using a different Aveda moisturizer (can't remember which) that I wasn't quite as pleased with. One bottle of the Tourmaline moisturizer lasts me quite a long time as well (using it daily), probably right around 6 months, so worth the investment! "
This product is best for:Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent moisturizer for the choosy skin

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Customer avatar
By YTemptF8
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Raleigh, NC
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I've used Tourmaline Charged protecting lotion for over 5 years, and it has worked consistently great for me! My skin is dry but I have rosacea so I occassionally have red splotches and break out from that. I absolutely need a moisturizer with SPF to keep rosacea from flaring up. I've tried a bunch of products - a BUNCH! - and this is the only one that consistently keeps my skin moisturized & protected from the sun, without causing any bad reactions like acne flare-ups or rosacea blothces. And a special treat - it smells fresh and natural!! If this works for my fussy skin, it will probably work for a lot of you out there who share my quest to find moisture and sun protection without breakouts. Try this - the price is reasonable, and Aveda stands behind their products if they don't work for you. "
This product is best for:sun protection of sensitive skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

protect your skin!

PostedAugust 12, 2008
Customer avatar
By flashtobang
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York, NY
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" this is a must if you live in an urban or even suburban environment. i don't leave the house without it on. it protects your skin from free radicals, pollution and the sun. there are so many airborne pollutants in our modern world that can wreak havoc on our skin. when i have this on, i feel like i am shielded and the balance of moisture and vitality in my skin is preserved all day long. it's a light, oil-free moisturizer that can be combined with other facial moisturizers and worn every day. great to pack for trips to big cities in developing countries where pollution can be especially devestating on the skin. i've relied on it in bombay, bangkok, saigon, cairo, etc. etc. "
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great moisturizer, but beware of parabens!

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Customer avatar
By Loran
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:Philadelphia
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I use the tourmaline scrub, and I bought this cream for the SPF benefits.
I buy Aveda because I love that they don't use petroleum, and I assumed that the line was parabens free too, but this is not the case! I know that most sunscreens have parabens, but I was surprised that Aveda would have them in their products. I didn't even think to check the label.
If you don't mind that, the product is nice, it is a bit filmy but I think all SPF creams are. It is moisturizing and my skin feels nice and taut.
I won't be buying it again but I would recommend it to others. "
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wish there was more of this product!

PostedApril 11, 2009
Customer avatar
By JerseyGirl79
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Central New Jersey
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This is a fantastic product as my summertime moisturizer. i use a heavier moisturizer in the winter (aveda tourmaline charged hydrating creme) because my skin gets really dry that time of year but this stuff is great for the summer because it's much lighter. i wish the bottle was bigger for the price but a little goes a long way, for sure. i don't even need a whole pump for my entire face. also, it absorbs into my skin quick and has absolutely zero oily residue. that's awesome. this is another aveda staple in my daily regiment. so worth the purchase! Thanks, Aveda! "
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, Dull skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Customer avatar
By flyjerseygirl77
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Laurel, MD
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I was severely disappointed when I walked into my local Aveda store and was told this product is discontinued. Of all the Aveda products I have tried over the years, this moisturizer, combined with the cleanser and night-time hydrating creme, has had the most and BEST effects on my skin. My skin doesn't break out or have any adverse reaction AND the SPF protection is necessary and great. I am trying to use the serum, but it does not produce the same results. PLEASE bring this product back...if not in stores, at least online!! "
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good it changed my skin

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Customer avatar
By LongBeachAvedaLover
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Long Beach, CA
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I purchased this after getting an Aveda facial. It was OMG good. Yes, it's expensive but worth EVERY penny, and I'm pretty cheap. My skin was so dry at the age of 25 that there were big flaky circles, even though I had acne. Gross... After six months of using the Tourmaline moisturizer my skin still had acne but not as bad and the tone was completely evened out. That was five years ago and I'll never stop using it. I still have acne, but the tone is great.
And this is the ONLY moisturizer I've EVER used that doesn't make my acne worse. "
This product is best for:Dry skin, Combination skin, moisturizing, evening out tone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Thumbs Down on the SPF

PostedMay 6, 2009
Customer avatar
By Organaturally
" I don't like the SPF in this product as I can feel the residue on my face and can smell a hint of SPF, kind of like self tanners...they all have that same scent, well... SPF does too. Other than that, the scent is somewhat pleasing as it does have the Aveda trademark aroma. My skin feels soft but the thinglayer of residue isn't pleasing. It's great for normal skin as it's not at all oily (it's an oil free product). I'm trying to enjoy it but unfortunately, I probably won't purchase this product again because of the issue I have with the SPF. "
This product is best for:Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for ANY time of year!

PostedDecember 4, 2009
Customer avatar
By Addicted2Aveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Hagerstown, MD
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" With sensitive skin that's prone to be quite dry in the winter time, I'm SO glad I stumbled upon this product. It's not greasy at all, has the clean & pleasant scent associated with Aveda's products, and keeps my skin hydrated all day long. I was hesitant to spend $40, but only a small amount is needed and it's SO worth it. I'll continue to use this product, not only in the winter but all year round, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great moisturizer that also has the benefits of sunscreen! "
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedMarch 23, 2009
Customer avatar
By JZup
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Tucson, AZ
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I generally do not break out, but did for about two weeks after beginning to use this product. I called Aveda to ask if I was possibly using the wrong type for my skin. I was urged to continue use, that my skin was not used to such a natural product. I am so glad of their advice as this is the best skin cream I have ever used. I live in the desert where the sun is constant, as with dry weather. Just a small amount daily keeps my skin moisturized. It has just the right amount of SPF and never feels heavy. "
This product is best for:Combination skin, All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i miss this product!

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer avatar
By shonnanichole
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:charleston, sc
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" at 31 years young, i've been using this product since my early twenties and have flawless skin! i do not wear make-up and am complimented on my skin almost daily...
then the unthinkable happens! this product has been discontinued! over the past two weeks, i've tried other moisturizers and have experienced flaws on my once perfect skin. fortunately, after numerous calls and emails, i was able to find 2 bottles on the shelf of a retail store in houston. PLEASE bring this product back!!
"
This product is best for:Oily skin, All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion SPF 15/Oil-Free
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Moisturizer for Oilier Skins

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Customer avatar
By cicadamom
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:U.S.A.
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Tourmaline Charged Protecting Lotion is a very effective moisturizer that gives the right amount of moisture to oilier skin types. I have aging, combination skin and this product is the ideal weight and texture for me. The built-in sunscreen is also a big selling point for me. A little bit of the product goes a long way. I have found I do not need the entire amount that comes out of the pump with one squirt, so I don't push down all the way and only use about one half of a squirt for my face. "
This product is best for:Oily skin, Combination skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>