Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Aveda.

Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar

all-in-one shower bar for daily use
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 Reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
61 of 63(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
Review 1 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why?!

PostedApril 26, 2010
Customer avatar
By Typifire
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Memphis, TN
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
"I have used this product for over half a decade. Everyone loves the scent. I have recommended it to many people, who have loved it just as much as myself.
And yet in typical Aveda fashion, we discontinue a popular product. (Control Granules, anyone? Granted we got it back with a new marketing spin, I'm just saying...)
At least replace it with something similar. Maybe the same item with a Men's line scent?
I like the current scent, but the only reason I can think of to discontinue this product is to bring it in line with the rest of the new Men's line branding..."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

never in my life

PostedMay 19, 2009
Customer avatar
By adam
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:los angeles
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"never in my life i thought i would write a review a soap let alone fancy soap im a mans man an can tell by my grammar and of course my wife turned me on to aveda and of course i grumbled and griped till i started using the product and wow what a diff. i dont smell like a bag of potatoes on a hot summer day!lol now every where i go people ask me or give that look like was that you the good one though! anyways great stuff im hooked and thats from a mans man works hard sweats all day you know the good stuff!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't believe Aveda has discontinued this product

PostedMay 30, 2010
Customer avatar
By sjl997
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Irvine, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
"This body bar was simply one of the best items in Aveda's product line. The scent and clean/refreshed feeling after using this product was better than any body wash I have ever used. My wife loved it so much that she also used it. I JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY AVEDA WOULD DISCONTINUE SUCH A QUALITY PRODUCT!! The other bars are descent, but don't come close to the Men Shampoo Bar. I never take the time to write product reviews, but in this case I felt compelled to respond."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is the BEST soap I have ever used!

PostedAugust 5, 2009
Customer avatar
By Benj
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Chicago, IL
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
"This is my favorite soap out there! I just love it! I occasionally switch it up and use a body wash, but I love this soap. It feels amazing and smells great! I never get that residue feeling after rinse or itch like you didn't completely rinse off all the soap. It is a wonderful product. The only drawback is the price!!! $14 for a bar of soap is excessive! I would have otherwise given an excellent rating, but the price takes it down a star in my book. I still love it!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HELP!!!

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Customer avatar
By drettig
From:Connecticut
"Aveda, please help me!! Bring this product back for online orders. I am down to my last bar, and my wife will divorce me if I stop bathing. I really do not want any other product for my skin and hair due to a history of allergic reactions to most other products. Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar is by far a superior product to all others on the market for men. Again, PLEASE HELP me and my marriage by bringing the product back for online orders. Thank you!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Customer avatar
By bayp
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Lansdale, PA
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Having never purchased a bar of soap from anywhere other then the supermarket, this was definitely the pleasant surprise! The lather is amazing, I don't feel any sort of residue when it washes off and I enjoy the smell a lot! I think it dries my skin out less then what I used to use. Only real "issue" is the price. I'm not used to paying that much for a body bar, but that doesn't mean that I wouldn't buy one again! Definitely would!"
This product is best for:Dry skin, Combination skin, Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Aveda Item I Come to the Store for

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Customer avatar
By NotHappyAboutDiscMenBar
From:Atlanta, GA
"I am a customer that's allergic to half of the items in your store. However, the Men's Bar was one of the only soaps on the market that year round I could use without allergic reaction. Please do not replace it with a different product, like New Coke, only to realize that you are just going to have to bring back the Coke Classic... bring back the riginal Men Body Bar, its the only way to bring back my business to Aveda period!!"
This product is best for:All skin types, allergies
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Myfavorite bar soap

PostedMay 17, 2009
Customer avatar
By Woodi
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
From:Boston, Ma
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"I have been using Aveda products for 20 years. The Aveda Shave Cream and this shampoo body bar are staples in my bathroom. This bar soap leaves your skin and hair feeling great. The scent in the morning gives you a nice clean pick up feeling and in the evening its very calming. It has a great scent with out being over powering. My Partner also loves it."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please bring this back!

PostedMay 19, 2010
Customer avatar
By DissappointedGuy
From:Minneapolis, MN
"Please don't discontinue this product! This has been hands down my favorite Aveda product, and has been a part of my daily routine for well over a year now. I agree with the other reviewers here that the scent is good and the product is fantastic. I've tried the other body bars that Aveda offers and while they're good, they're just not the same."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please don't discontinue

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
By Cleansmellingman
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Chicago, IL
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"This is the best product sold by Aveda. Actually, it is the best product from any manufacturer. It smells fantastic and leaves you feeling clean, but not dried out. I start every day with this soap.
I've heard that Aveda is discontinuing this product. Please, PLEASE, contact Aveda to plead with them to continue to make this fantastic soap."
This product is best for:Dry skin, Oily skin, Combination skin, Dull skin, Normal skin, All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT bath bar!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2008
Customer avatar
By sontez31
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Missoula, MT
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
"Living here in western Montana, the DRY air really plays havoc with my skin in the winter. I switched from soap to body washes and still had to use lotion or baby oil to keep my skin from feeling itchy. On a whim, I decided to try this body bar and I couldn't be happier. My skin doesn't itch at all, and I like the clean scent."
This product is best for:Dry skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By MusicLuvr
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Memphis, TN
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
"I bought this for my husband to replace his soap, shampoo and face wash. He loves the scent, the ease of use and has noticed a distinct difference in his skin clarity and softness. He commented just yesterday that he swears his skin has never looked better. And, I love the way he smells when he gets out of the shower!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring it Back!

PostedJuly 3, 2010
Customer avatar
By eventide
From:Indiana
"Six years of loyalty and now it's discontinued???
The feel, the fragrance, please bring it back! This bar cleanser is what made me switch from shower gel and it was the one item that triggered my obsession with Aveda products. I look forward to my day (and my trips to the salon) with a little less enthusiasm now.
"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All good things must come to an end.

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Customer avatar
By RubyQ
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Cleveland, OH
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"If they didn't, then we wouldn't change.
And change is good.
Loved this bar- used it since I was in high school and I stocked up when I found out of it's discontinuation. I love the smell so much that I'm not going to open the last one... so I can always open the box and smell it when I'm feeling nostalgic."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FANTASTIC for irritated scalp

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Customer avatar
By pumpkinman
From:Mattawan, MI.
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I was searching for in all-in-one mans products and then I came across this product. I was amazed at how well it smelled, lathered, and reduced my irritated red scalp. This product did not strip the natural oil onmy scalp. My hair now feels so soft and managable. Thanks Aveda. THIS IS A MUST BUY!!!!!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great soap to buy, use, and enjoy

PostedAugust 14, 2008
Customer avatar
By TomdaDad
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Scottsdale AZ
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"My Aveda Men's Bar was at first a joke around our house. "Dad is using Aveda!" Well, I tried it and will not switch. THis is a solid soap that really gets you clean and never gets soft and messy.
Now the kids have no comment and are not allowed to borrow my soap.
Man soap for real men.
"
This product is best for:Oily skin, dad skin-old but a dude!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great body bar

PostedJanuary 5, 2009
Customer avatar
By SimplyJLH
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Florida
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used the Shampoo Body Bar for 2 years. I use it as a body bar and as a shampoo. It cleanses very well, lots of suds, no remaining slick or oily feeling on my skin or on my hair. The bar is the longest lasting product I have ever used. I would recommend this product highly !"
This product is best for:Combination skin, All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring this back!

PostedMay 4, 2010
Customer avatar
By MrsBrit
"My husband was crushed to hear this soap is being discontinued. He tried the refreshing soap and doesn't like it at all. Too slippery - the bar doesn't rest easily on a shelf in the shower and it doesn't smell as nice as the shampoo body bar. Please don't discontinue this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not just for men

PostedOctober 14, 2008
Customer avatar
By kenai
Choosing Aveda Since 1983
From:Page, AZ
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1983
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"A bar that does it all! It cleanses every day dirt and grime yet leaves a sutle yet calming smell that is intoxicating and none like I every smelt before. The most important thing is that I can use soap again! So it is not just for men, the whole family will love it!"
This product is best for:All skin types, daily use
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aveda Men Shampoo Body Bar
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS SOAP!

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Customer avatar
By Dorrinda
From:Lehigh Acres, FL
"This was a perfect fit for my boyfriend who has always just used "soap" for both body and his hair. Now I feel better that he is using something better suited for his hair and scalp, and it SMELLS AWESOME!!! Large bar, seems to last, good value for the money too."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>