Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews invati™ thickening conditioner

invati™ thickening conditioner

Thickens hair and restores strength.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(306 reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 306 Reviews
5 Stars
185
4 Stars
83
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
9
1 Star
7
273 of 299(91%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews invati™ thickening conditioner
Review 1 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could Be A Good Product For Someone Else

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
By yorkgirl
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I've been using the shampoo and conditioner for a couple weeks. I love the smell and the way my scalp feels afterwards. The big problem I'm having with the product is the tangles. I brush my hair before washing, apply the conditioner and work it thru and let it sit. I get out of the shower and my fine hair is one big mess. It takes me 15 minutes to carefully comb thru my hair which leaves me pulling out a large pile of my hair out of the comb. Defeats the purpose of the product I'm using is to prevent more hair loss and instead is actually causing my hair to break."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
By Kyona
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
"I am an African American woman w/very long hair who in the past has always had problems finding a good conditioner - especially one in which 90% of the ingredients aren't 13-letter words - that also provides the hair w/moisture, body, shine AND detangles the hair w/out weighing it down. I've tried just about every line of hair products for African American hair. While buying another Aveda product at the store, a sales rep gave me a sample of Invati conditioner. After using the sample once, I fell in love instantly. Invati conditioner is the ONLY conditioner that I will use now, because it not only provides moisture, softens my hair, and smells awesome, but it also detangles my African-American-naturally-wavy hair like no other conditioner has ever done before. There was a time when I would comb through my hair w/a wide toothed comb and still experience lots of shedding w/hair in the comb. Now, whether I have 2 inches of new growth or a fresh relaxer, this conditioner allows me to comb through my hair easily w/out shedding or breakage, even while using a fine-toothed comb!! . That has NEVER happened!! If I could make a commercial for this product, I would be the producer, the star, and the narrator. I finally have found the conditioner for me!!! Thank you Aveda!!"
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly....Amazing!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By DiJohn
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Pacific Northwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I made this purchase with a hefty dose of skepticism. Due to a health condition, medications and plain old genetics, my hair is thinning. I stare longingly at co-workers beautiful, thick, shiny hair and wonder what it's like. I've used grocery store expensive conditioners and unheard of brand name expensive conditioners in the hopes of getting some body, shine, and health into my strands. What usually happens is that my hair is conditioned but heavy, lackluster, and hard to hold a style. Going on...it doesn't feel any different, even some concern that it wasn't emollient enough, but it does the trick. It has the classic "Aveda" smell. I was truly surprised at the way my hair felt after drying and styling. It was thick, shiny, full and still had body. It held the style - no problem. I kept "petting" my own head to feel my hair because it felt like someone else's head of hair! I even told my husband to feel it! LOL... Thin, lackluster locks? Give it a try, you won't be disappointed."
This product is best for:dry thinning lackluster strands
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By SISTERCHICK
From:Jonesborough, TN, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I AM THRILLED WITH THIS PRODUCT!! MY HAIR HAS BEEN THINNING FOR YEARS AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN FINE TEXTURED TO THE POINT THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO USE ANY CONDITIONER WITHOUT IT COMPLETELY WEIGHING DOWN MY HAIR.
THIS PRODUCT IS FABULOUS! IT CONDITIONS MY HAIR AND DOES NOT LEAVE IT AT ALL LIMP OR LIFELESS. I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON PRODUCTS OVER THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS THAT SIMPLY HAVE NOT DELIVERED AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE WITH FINE, THIN HAIR."
My salon isI PURCHASED ONLINE
This product is best for:volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've ever used

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
By mommy3
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:South Carolina, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have always had thin hair, and it has thinned more as I've aged. Because my hair texture is also fine, volumizing shampoos and conditioners leave my hair tangled and frizzy, but moisturizing shampoos and conditioners leave it too weighed down and sometimes oily-looking. Invati is the perfect balance for me. My hair has never looked better than it has since I've started using it daily, and I have even received some compliments on my hair--something I've never experienced before. Invati leaves my hair shiny, but not weighed down at all, and it feels great. I also love the way it smells."
My salon isIvy Salon, Greer, SC
This product is best for:thinning hair fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get thicker, more luxurious hair that shines!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
By Zebramel
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have color-treated hair that requires a conditioner in order to make it workable after shampooing. While my hair is pretty strong for blonde hair, I like it thicker and with more volume. After consulting with an Aveda specialist at the store, I bought and tried Invati thickening conditioner. It works better than the Brilliant conditioner I used to use and much better than other thickening products I have tried in the past. It does take a bit of getting used to the smell of the product coming out of the tube, but after hair is dried, what happens is your hair is not only thicker and has more volume, but it also smells wonderful! Want fresh, clean hair that shines, is more voluminous and thicker? You simply have to try Invati!"
This product is best for:thickening, volumizing, leaves hair shiny and fresh clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right away I felt a difference

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
By Jeaniper
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
From:Grand av st paul mn
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"It takes time & don't expect a lathering frenzy! My hair felt healthier & had more body. This line makes sense. Abit pricey, may move off the shelves faster with a reasonable price point. I've only used the shampoo & conditioner. The conditioner is one of the best I've used. Moisturizing but not heavy."
My salon isVera in Mendota Hts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this!!

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
By 2moms
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
"My hair has always been fine & thin but in the past year really became see through thin due to getting "older" & some medical problems. I have been using the Invati shampoo & conditioner for 2 months and all I can say is "WOW"! My bald spots are gone! And I have never gotten more compliments on my hair as I have in the past couple of weeks! This conditioner is absolutely perfect for fine hair! Styling my hair is a breeze now & I don't have to work hard at covering thin spots - as there aren't any!!!
Thank you, Aveda, for this wonderful product!!!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Left hair a tangled mess

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
By daystolze
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Glendale, ca
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My hair did not seem to get CONDITIONED using this product and I noticed a lot of hair coming out in the shower and on my comb after the shower. I'm sure the product may be able to help thicken the hair on my head, but it doesn't help the hair stay ON my head. I know this because I stopped using the product after two weeks of trying and noticed that when I started using other conditioner, I had fewer problems with tangles and less hair was being found in my hair trap in my tub and on my comb after my shower."
My salon isGlendale Salon Spa
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Same deal as shampoo

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
By Anne02
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Maryland
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"Disappointing product. Expensive conditioner which doesn't help thinning hair as claimed. Won't buy again."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for thickening hair, doesn't weigh down curls

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
By AnnaS
"This conditioner was great paired with Invati shampoo, even for every day use-- I have curly hair prone to drying, and it was thick enough to handle my hair without leaving build-up. It livens up my hair, removes build-up, and gives me natural volume that lasts for days. Great scent, too."
This product is best for:thickening curly hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels Good

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
By Aurora420
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:Pittsburgh
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This is a great conditioner does not weigh hair down and make look greasy like some do. I've been using for a month and noticed my hair is stronger and a lot of breakage. I'm on my second bottle, purchased my first very late December. Would be nice if came in larger size."
My salon isSalon Christine, Pittsburgh PA
This product is best for:thin hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
By thinning
From:Georgia, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
"My hair feels thicker after just one use. I have fine, thinning, curly/wavy hair that is color treated and would recommend this product!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No results, expensive

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By pennybear
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I've gone through an entire bottle of both the shampoo and conditioner, and sadly can't say I've noticed any reduction in hair loss. Also, I was kind of surprised how small the shampoo and conditioner bottles are (despite, of course, seeing the size listed on the site before buying, it just didn't register how little product it would be). I have medium length hair, and finished the bottles in less than a month- and I only wash my hair every other day! At $50 for the shampoo + conditioner, that'd be a $100/month haircare cost if I washed every day!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

invati conditioner is a wow

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
By Aveda7762
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Reno, NV, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"I have to say it does what it says it does. I love the smell and this system is great for thinning hair. It must be used with the shampoo. The shine is wonderful and I don't know what I would do without this product. Thank You Aveda"
My salon isTangerine Aveda Salon & Spa
This product is best for:this is a must have, thinning hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
By Katsmonchesbay
"I have only been using the shampoo and conditioner, waiting on the treatment, and can't believe how my hair has already improved. I was losing a lot of hair before. I would see it in the shower drain or on the bathroom floor. Now I see very little. Invati gets my stamp of approval. I'm just disappointed in Aveda because they never sent me my birthday present on the 19th of march."
This product is best for:lose of hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, but pricey

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
By Escobar
"I had picked up a sample of this conditioner from a nearby Aveda store and liked the results after using it. My hair is thin and this conditioner made my hair look fuller. However, after purchasing the actual size, I felt the amount I got for the price I paid wasn't enough for me to continue. If Aveda would provide a better price, I would definitely use it again."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a difference this makes for thining hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By LCNL
"I bought the invati line for my son who has thinning hair as a gift. His hair has never looked better (stronger and healthier). He can't believe the difference. It is probably too soon to tell but it even looks like there is some new growth. I have always like Aveda products but this product is really amazing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enjoying the Invati line

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By ItsHollyAgain
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Cleveland, OH, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I purchased the full Invati line about a month ago. I have thinning hair due to both a medication I was on and a chronic health issue. I am now off of the medication, but the thinning hair has stayed. I would want fuller hair anyway, but I'm also getting married at the end of May and would really like my hair to look nice. I thought about getting extensions (not for length, but to fill in sparse areas), and am hoping to avoid that route!
While the shampoo is still my favorite product, I like the conditioner. The line does take some getting used to. The shampoo is thin (but works well) and the conditioner is thick and not as easy to spread around. Since my hair is fine, I've been so hesitant to follow directions and apply this conditioner to my scalp. Come on people with fine hair, you know the drill - you apply conditioner to just the tips or ears down. So now I have this conditioner that says apply to the scalp? I was shocked. I think the first week or two, I applied conditioner like I normally do - avoiding the scalp! Then on a day i had no where to go, I applied it to the scalp primarily. I really massaged it in (feels wonderful!) and worked the rest of the product down my hair (past my shoulders). I rinsed it right away and was sure that my hair would be limp and stringy. I was pleasantly surprised! My hair looked great and not totally flat! While the Invati conditioner doesn't add a ton of volume, I don't think that it weighs my hair down at all and my hair is still shiny and soft. No complaints here about that!
As I mentioned with the shampoo, I wasn't a fan of the smell at first - but now I really like it. If you don't like it, I found that the smell didn't linger at all. This is another slam-dunk for Aveda. My only complaint is that the products are currently only available in one size - I would absolutely buy a larger size!
Last thing: since I do dye my hair (only a few times a year) I swap out this conditioner about once a week for the Color Conserve. It doesn't seem to cause any issues. The Invati conditioner is not super hydrating so if you have very dry hair, you may want to add an additional product - I find that it gives my hair just enough moisture, but I know my mom (who doesn't have thinning hair! So jealous of her full waves) would be miserable with the level of moisture the conditioner gives."
This product is best for:gentle, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedApril 6, 2012
Customer avatar
By Dcme
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Made my hair dry, frizzy & limp.The conditioner is very watery."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>