Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews invati™ thickening conditioner

invati™ thickening conditioner

Thickens hair and restores strength.
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(357 reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 357 Reviews
5 Stars
219
4 Stars
96
3 Stars
24
2 Stars
10
1 Star
8
321 of 350(92%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews invati™ thickening conditioner
Review 1 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful smell and great results!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By korsis
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Sarasota, FL
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"I got a couple samples from AVEDA to try this new product out. The first thing you will notice is this really awesome smell. I smelled it already unopened! Very nice, very natural smell. I really like it. The conditioner has a nice smooth consistency. In the shower the conditioner felt very nice. After rinsing it really good out, I noticed right aways that my hair is in a good shape and has more volume!
I have to say: my hair smelled awesome delicious the whole day and I did not need any anti-frizz or leave in conditioner as usual. I had only enough to wash my hair 2 days and already noticed a difference. I will definitely buy this product! I bet with continous use you get really healthy, thicker, fuller hair. Great product! Thx AVEDA!"
My salon isSalon Nuovo Sarasota
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't like it. At all.

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By LeaM
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Moscow, ID
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I tried the invati shampoo and conditioner regimen as I'd been noticing a weird build-up on my scalp (not dandruff, but when I scratched my head a residue of some sort would be under my nail). I have oily hair that is pretty fine (though I have a good deal of it, so it's not thin), past my shoulders and slightly wavy. After shampooing with invati and then following with the conditoner my hair is actually pretty dry-looking, which is weird. I guess the shampoo did it's job in clearing everything off my scalp, but it also seems to have been too much for me. Obviously hair has to grow and starts off short, but you don't usually notice those short strands as they grow out, right? Well, now they're standing straight up. This is especially noticeable along my part. I also noticed that the conditioner didn't detangle enough (either because the shampoo is heavy duty or because the conditioner is light) so my hair was pretty tangled when I got out of the shower. So, while this set is supposed to prevent breakage I'd say it probably caused more breakage in my hair as a result of having to get the tangles out. I wanted to like it, but unfortunately didn't. I'd recommend getting a sample or a travel size first and seeing if it's right for you. It's honestly the first shampoo/conditioner regiment I've tried from AVEDA that I don't like, and I've been using AVEDA for over a decade."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!!!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
By Kyona
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
"I am an African American woman w/very long hair who in the past has always had problems finding a good conditioner - especially one in which 90% of the ingredients aren't 13-letter words - that also provides the hair w/moisture, body, shine AND detangles the hair w/out weighing it down. I've tried just about every line of hair products for African American hair. While buying another Aveda product at the store, a sales rep gave me a sample of Invati conditioner. After using the sample once, I fell in love instantly. Invati conditioner is the ONLY conditioner that I will use now, because it not only provides moisture, softens my hair, and smells awesome, but it also detangles my African-American-naturally-wavy hair like no other conditioner has ever done before. There was a time when I would comb through my hair w/a wide toothed comb and still experience lots of shedding w/hair in the comb. Now, whether I have 2 inches of new growth or a fresh relaxer, this conditioner allows me to comb through my hair easily w/out shedding or breakage, even while using a fine-toothed comb!! . That has NEVER happened!! If I could make a commercial for this product, I would be the producer, the star, and the narrator. I finally have found the conditioner for me!!! Thank you Aveda!!"
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Smell, feels soothing on scalp, and good results

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By RKReview
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Fairfax, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I am an Indian, and i had beautiful silky black long hair. I never used any chemicals or styling products on my hair.
Almost a year and a half back, for some reason, I started losing my hair. Got all the medical checks clear, nothing seem to be wrong inside the body. But the hair fall won't stop. Sadly, Over this period, I lost 70% of my hair. Whatever was left, looked so lifeless and dull. Throughout, I tried all kinds of herbal oils, treatments, Ayurveda methods, over the counter Biotin / hair growth supplements to stop the hair fall and for regrowth. I have to say nothing worked and i gave up. I surely did miss my beautiful long hair, and was very disappointed.
One day my husband saw an advertisement about Invati and asked me to try it. I was very skeptical, or more hopeless as nothing had seemed to cure the problem thus far. But since he insisted, I went ahead and bought the trio pack. Over a period of past 4-6 months I have been using Invati, even though my hair fall is still going on, it is somewhat less, and I do see hair regrowth. My scalp looks much fuller and hair have started to look full of life/shine again. Shampoo seems to sooth the scalp, and conditioner surely makes your hair look/feel silky soft and volumizes the hair (so hair thinning kind of hides).
I already have bought the liters in January, so I will be using it going forwards. I hope over time it will cure all my hair issues, and bless me again with beautiful long hair. Thank you Aveda and Invati.
"
This product is best for:volumizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly....Amazing!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By DiJohn
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Pacific Northwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I made this purchase with a hefty dose of skepticism. Due to a health condition, medications and plain old genetics, my hair is thinning. I stare longingly at co-workers beautiful, thick, shiny hair and wonder what it's like. I've used grocery store expensive conditioners and unheard of brand name expensive conditioners in the hopes of getting some body, shine, and health into my strands. What usually happens is that my hair is conditioned but heavy, lackluster, and hard to hold a style. Going on...it doesn't feel any different, even some concern that it wasn't emollient enough, but it does the trick. It has the classic "Aveda" smell. I was truly surprised at the way my hair felt after drying and styling. It was thick, shiny, full and still had body. It held the style - no problem. I kept "petting" my own head to feel my hair because it felt like someone else's head of hair! I even told my husband to feel it! LOL... Thin, lackluster locks? Give it a try, you won't be disappointed."
This product is best for:dry thinning lackluster strands
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DISAPPOINTED

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
By Pinaygoodies
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:San Jose, CA, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
""I used a different product before for 6 months and have seen a slow progress. Then I saw the promotion on this product Invati on TV and got excited. Though it is very expensive, I bought my first package in November last year. After 2 weeks of usage, I noticed that more hair is falling. Yikes! Though alarmed, I continued using them to finish the bottle as it was sooo expensive. My hair didn't improve at all. I lost more hair. This is not a product for me. I tried returning the bottles when I was half way through it but the salon won't take it back or at least give me some sort of reimbursement. I was so disappointed that I can't endorse this to any of my friends.""
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could Be A Good Product For Someone Else

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
By yorkgirl
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I've been using the shampoo and conditioner for a couple weeks. I love the smell and the way my scalp feels afterwards. The big problem I'm having with the product is the tangles. I brush my hair before washing, apply the conditioner and work it thru and let it sit. I get out of the shower and my fine hair is one big mess. It takes me 15 minutes to carefully comb thru my hair which leaves me pulling out a large pile of my hair out of the comb. Defeats the purpose of the product I'm using is to prevent more hair loss and instead is actually causing my hair to break."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it claims but doesn't detangle well

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
By funkyj
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I have fine, breakable, straight hair that needs volume, strength, and body. I have been trying to grow my hair longer for years but always run into the issue of it breaking at the ends, causing it it look thinner and tangle more easily. I get my hair cut every 6 weeks to try to maintain its health and also to encourage growth. Having struggled with getting it to the length and health that it was when I was a teenager, I decided to (skeptically) take a leap of faith on this product (along with the shampoo). It has been three months that I have been using these products (not everyday, as I switch out with other Aveda shampoo and conditioners) and I have to say, my hair seriously is longer, healthier, and has much more bounce and volume.
My biggest qualm with this (as I find with most Aveda conditioners) is that it does not totally detangle well. To be fair, my hair tangles very easily, however, the conditioner is very thin and watery and seems to need more substance to it. I always have to use a detangling leave-in conditioner before combing through my hair after using this product.
With that all said, I definitely recommend the Invati products if you want to grow, strengthen, and add volume to your hair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Waste of Money

PostedApril 5, 2013
Customer avatar
By travelinggal
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I'm perplexed as to how many stars this product received. This is one of those products that was clearly not tested before going to market. I normally love Aveda but after this experience I don't think I can trust the brand anymore. This supposed thickening conditioner not only didn't thicken my hair but made my hair fall out and what was left, looked extremely fine and thin and flimsy. My hair has no problems with TREsemme and looks very thick with their conditioner but not with Aveda. I kid you not when I say my hair has never looked worse after using this product. It's actually embarrassing. I would love to return the product and never use it again. I'll stick with TREsemme or any other product that actually works and doesn't make my hair look like a few threads of yarn. And like I said, I had tons of hair come out after using this conditioner which is not the norm for me. Aveda should be ashamed of themselves for releasing this product."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Left hair a tangled mess

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
By daystolze
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Glendale, ca
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My hair did not seem to get CONDITIONED using this product and I noticed a lot of hair coming out in the shower and on my comb after the shower. I'm sure the product may be able to help thicken the hair on my head, but it doesn't help the hair stay ON my head. I know this because I stopped using the product after two weeks of trying and noticed that when I started using other conditioner, I had fewer problems with tangles and less hair was being found in my hair trap in my tub and on my comb after my shower."
My salon isGlendale Salon Spa
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer avatar
By suanleex3
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"My hair was thinner and wasn't growing very fast once I went through menopause. I started using Invati, and my hair has been growing longer and thicker. I am allergicto many fragrances, but this one does't bother me at all!"
My salon isVan Micheals
This product is best for:growth
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get thicker, more luxurious hair that shines!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
By Zebramel
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have color-treated hair that requires a conditioner in order to make it workable after shampooing. While my hair is pretty strong for blonde hair, I like it thicker and with more volume. After consulting with an Aveda specialist at the store, I bought and tried Invati thickening conditioner. It works better than the Brilliant conditioner I used to use and much better than other thickening products I have tried in the past. It does take a bit of getting used to the smell of the product coming out of the tube, but after hair is dried, what happens is your hair is not only thicker and has more volume, but it also smells wonderful! Want fresh, clean hair that shines, is more voluminous and thicker? You simply have to try Invati!"
This product is best for:thickening, volumizing, leaves hair shiny and fresh clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By SISTERCHICK
From:Jonesborough, TN, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I AM THRILLED WITH THIS PRODUCT!! MY HAIR HAS BEEN THINNING FOR YEARS AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN FINE TEXTURED TO THE POINT THAT I HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO USE ANY CONDITIONER WITHOUT IT COMPLETELY WEIGHING DOWN MY HAIR.
THIS PRODUCT IS FABULOUS! IT CONDITIONS MY HAIR AND DOES NOT LEAVE IT AT ALL LIMP OR LIFELESS. I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON PRODUCTS OVER THE PAST SEVERAL YEARS THAT SIMPLY HAVE NOT DELIVERED AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE WITH FINE, THIN HAIR."
My salon isI PURCHASED ONLINE
This product is best for:volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
By Autumn29
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I couldn't wait for this line to come out because my hair has been falling out badly. I just bought the conditioner and treatment spray last week at an Aveda Salon and I can already tell a difference with my scalp. This is one of the best conditioners I've ever used. The smell is light and pleasant and my hair is super soft. I like it better for conditioning than the dry remedy line which I don't care for too much. Even if my hair wasn't thinning I would still buy this conditioner because it's wonderful."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+32points
47of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
By Moonpie
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Invati conditioner is amazing. This product does all that it promises and more. I have had issues with my hair falling out since the birth of my daughter. I take vitamins, eat healthy, and have tried many hair products to stop hair loss; nothing worked like the invati line has. I have been using the entire line for 3 weeks and there is noticeable improvement in the look and texture of my hair. I started using only the shampoo and conditioner and had good results. I decided to add the leave in treatment as well and have noticed that little or no hair is falling out. Remarkable!! I must add that I have had issues in the past with Aveda shampoo - volumizing and color; neither product seemed to work with my hair type. The invati line is different and I am so happy that I decided to try it. If you have issues with fine hair or hair loss try this product, I doubt you will be disappointed."
My salon isCentennial Hills
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
23of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Same deal as shampoo

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
By Anne02
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Maryland
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"Disappointing product. Expensive conditioner which doesn't help thinning hair as claimed. Won't buy again."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My least favorite Invati product

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
By TCMfordogs
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Hudson, WI, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"For some reason, my hair does not style well after using this conditioner. It makes my hair feel like it would get dry if this was the only conditioner I used. I get good results just using the other Invati products & only use this one occasionally."
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Juries still out...

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
By Swimswim
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:Richmond, VA, USA
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Don't know about the thickening yet but love the smell. Seems as though it should be a bit more conditioning but it's not to bad."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
By ioni6693
I received a free trial of this product No
"I was skeptical first but this product really works. Hair loss was reduced dramatically, which I can not say for any other product I tried."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for invati™ thickening conditioner
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best I've ever used

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
By mommy3
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:South Carolina, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have always had thin hair, and it has thinned more as I've aged. Because my hair texture is also fine, volumizing shampoos and conditioners leave my hair tangled and frizzy, but moisturizing shampoos and conditioners leave it too weighed down and sometimes oily-looking. Invati is the perfect balance for me. My hair has never looked better than it has since I've started using it daily, and I have even received some compliments on my hair--something I've never experienced before. Invati leaves my hair shiny, but not weighed down at all, and it feels great. I also love the way it smells."
My salon isIvy Salon, Greer, SC
This product is best for:thinning hair fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>