Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews invati™ exfoliating shampoo

invati™ exfoliating shampoo

Cleanses and renews the scalp
Overall rating:
4.399 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(712 reviews) 712
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 712 Reviews
5 Stars
476
4 Stars
138
3 Stars
37
2 Stars
28
1 Star
33
624 of 689(91%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews invati™ exfoliating shampoo
Review 1 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

PostedNovember 16, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Fredericksburg, TX 78624, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
User submitted photo
" I have had thinning hair for years and have tried everything! BUT, I break out in a fine rash with most hair restoration products. When I started using this product and ALL the Invati products, after only a month, my hair to noticeably thicker & fuller!!!!! I am NOT ever going to be without ANY of these products!!!!!! Thank you, thank you ;0) "
My salon isSan Antonio, Texas at La Cantera.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best for my thin hair

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" invati is the only hair product that helps my hair to look full. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Invati System Works

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
From:Pacifica, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I have been using the Invati System since it was introduced. My hair tends to be dry at the ends and breaks off easily. Since I have been using the system, my hair does not break off at the ends. When I brush over the sink, I no longer see all of those broken ends on the counter and sink. I had used the Ovation System prior to Invati, and it worked as well, but I prefer using natural products, free from chemicals, so I was really happy when Aveda came out with Invati. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Michigan, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" Well I first tried this product as a sample. As soon I used it the first time, I was hooked. Yes its an expensive product but its well worth it. It has a fantastic smell. I had an issue of hair loss but since I been using this product, I no longer see hair everywhere in the sink or shower. You only need to use a small amount at a time. I only actually wash my hair twice a week and I think that is perfect. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. "
This product is best for:thick, smells great, thickening, mositurizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
42of 62voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exfoliating shampoo!

PostedNovember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest Yes
User submitted photo
" The shampoo is very nice and I like the exfoliation. Hair feels so clean and helps with thinning hair; thanks Aveda! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

thick long hair

PostedMay 31, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I've been using Invati since it launched - 2 yrs now? I'm 47 and my hair is thicker and longer than it was when I was in my 20s!! "
My salon isDouglas J
This product is best for:long straight hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Natural Haircare

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Newport News, VA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I love the Aveda Invati Shampoo. When I had hormonal changes and my hair began to thin, my hairdresser recommended this product and it has been wonderful! My hair is fuller and feels healthy. I would definitely recommend this product if you are experiencing hair loss or thinning. A natural hair product that is healthy and not harmful to use. "
My salon isAnimare Salon at City Center, Newport News, VA
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful smell- great product!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Sarasota, FL
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" So, I got the samples to try this product. The first thing you will notice is this really awesome smell. I smelled it already unopened! Very nice, very natural smell. I really like it. Be careful: The Shampoo is very fluid- just like water! My hair got clean quickly, even though it does not make a lot of foam.
I have to say: my hair smelled awesome delicious the whole day and I did not need any anti-frizz or leave in conditioner as usual. Thank you Aveda for this great product. I will buy it definitely! "
My salon isNuovo Salon Sarasota
Yes, I recommend this product.
-40points
20of 80voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Did the job but...

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Minneapolis
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" Whilst I can't hold anything against this shampoo for how it did what it promised it would, my only complaint is that the texture of this shampoo surprised me. It was very runny, I feel like I wasted half the bottle because every time I'd try to pour some into my hand, it would run everywhere and get wasted. Loved how this made my hair and scalp feel though!! "
My salon isJUUT Uptown
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for curly hair

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:WA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I am using this shampoo not so much for thinning hair as for making my wavy/curly hair behave. I cannot say that I have seen any thickening of my hair but it certainly looks and behaves nicely. People compliment the shine on my hair:) I do wonder why the shampoo is so watery but it lathers well and rinses super clean. Thanks for a great product! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-23points
9of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hair, made easy

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Sunderland, MA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" Thank you for this product. My hair has been pulled and tugged and kept up in a bun due to work and this product has saved my locks. "
My salon isThe Village on Main - Northampton, MA
This product is best for:stronger hair easy fix
Yes, I recommend this product.
-15points
5of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it so far!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I've only been using it for 2 weeks, still too soon to see any "thickening" results. What I have experienced in the 2 weeks are: Shine, my hair tends to look dull because I color it every 6 weeks. Softness, the first few days I was skeptical, the shampoo was thin and took some getting used to. The conditioner didn't feel "heavy" enough for my hair. In fact, my hair felt yucky. I was prepared to return the set, but I really wanted to give it a fair chance so I continued it for a few more days. Then after 1 week I began to notice that my hair started feeling softer and my scalp stopped itching. About two years ago, I began having issues with my scalp and doctors and dermatologists couldn't give me definite answers as to what was happening to my scalp. I would have patches almost like hives and would scratch until my scalp was raw and even bleeding. I had 2 biopsies which came back inconclusive. To make things worse, the biopsy sites did not completely heal and I had what felt like 2 scabs that never went away. Also the hair did not grow back in, so I essentially had 2 bald patches. I was super upset and nervous that people could notice. Invati does make my scalp feel much better and my skin actually feels like it can breathe again. The areas where I had my biopsies have little stubbles of hair that are emerging!! I am feeling very hopeful that I have finally found something that works, and I will keep posting updates. The smell is also therapeutic and calming to me. Glad I didn't give up so quickly. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+33points
37of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works! And I was a skeptic!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Seacoast, NH
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
" I have long, fine, naturally curly hair. I always lost some hair in the shower, but over the past year it had literally gotten to the point where I was pulling handfuls (literally 3 or 4 big handfuls!) of hair every time I conditioned. I was using high end product, too. It was horrible. My hair got so thinned out that you could easily tell it was missing! And I'm still young! When I saw the ad for Invati I was like, what the heck - I'll try it. I was skeptical since I always use really expensive product and nothing seemed to be helping.
No kidding - I noticed a difference the FIRST time I used it. ALmost no hair came out in my hands and very little hair ended up in the drain that day. Some days none falls out at all. Two weeks later, I started having really frizzy hair on top - because my hair was growing back! I'm almost at the end of my first bottle of shampoo and conditioner and my hair is starting to fill back in - thank goodness. I absolutely suggest that you try this product. It truly worked for me!
I use the Invati exfoliating shampoo and invati thickening conditioner along with damage remedy daily hair repair leave-in.
Not related to Invati, but another thing you should consider when your hair is falling out. Chlorine is HORRIBLE for your hair. We put in a whole house water filter and when the filter gets old, the chlorine gets through and my hair falls out like crazy. Something to think about if the Invati doesn't help you. They make filters that you can put on your shower head.
I hope this product works as well for everyone else as it did for me. I am so happy I found it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+72points
78of 84voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Greasy feeling

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
" I am not a huge fan of this shampoo and conditioner. After the first use, my hair was extremely greasy after only a few hours. I thought that maybe I didn't rinse it properly, so the next time I spent extra time rinsing it out. I did not use very much, either. Still, my hair was greasy after only a few hours of my hair being dry. Greasy, and somehow staticky at the same time. I may not be the intended consumer of this product. My hair is fine, but not thinning, so that might be why. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, problematic packaging

PostedJanuary 2, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1983
From:Houston, TX, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1983
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" The shampoo, and the Invati system, works as well as any other hair thickening system out there. I could wish that there was a little more lather action as a personal preference, but, overall, I think this is a great product. My one big problem is that the bigger Aveda bottles. The last big bottle I bought, when I got down below the half-full mark, started to split. Given the price of this product, that is problematic. Please make better bottles so I don't waste $50 worth of product! "
My salon isLavish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It really works!!!! Buy it!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have PCOS-poly cystic ovarian syndrome and started loosing my hair on the top scalp like male pattern baldness. It was so embarrasing and I started to use wigs and hair top pieces to cover this. I used Aveda Invati in the past and it seemed to work on my hair but then ran out and let time pass before I decided to order a new bottle. I purchased the shampoo and conditioner again about 2 months ago and I am finally able to proudly put my hair back or down without the embarrasement of so much baldness on my top scalp. I owe it to this shampoo along with taking biotin vitamins. With this combination it is a god sent gift. We take so much for granted like hair growth and dont realize what a gift and special piece of our lives it is! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+45points
59of 73voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Super bummed

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This shampoo was recommended to me by the Aveda associate because I suffer from oily hair due to excess sebum. I was told to give the product a good few weeks to see it's proper performance. Right off the bat I wasn't thrilled that the bottle was only 6.7oz compared to all other Aveda shampoos which are 8.5oz and the price is $24, so much higher than any of the others. I've always thought of Aveda as an environmentally aware company and offering a smaller bottle means faster use and more trash. The scent of the shampoo and conditioner is nice, no complaints there. I found I had to do two applications of the shampoo to remove all the oil from my roots. I knew that it isn't rich in lather but after the first time that I only applied shampoo once it was still oily after drying my hair so every subsequent use I washed twice. The verdict. After using the Invati shampoo and conditioner for three weeks my hair wasn't cleansed any better than any other salon shampoo and my ends turned very frizzy and dry, and my hair is naturally bone straight. I don't know about the thickening potential of this shampoo because I'm not going to cope with the frizziness it brings. I love Aveda, but Invati gets a D- in my book. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
25of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hair looks worse than before...

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Moscow, ID
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I tried the invati shampoo and conditioner regimen as I'd been noticing a weird build-up on my scalp (not dandruff, but when I scratched my head a residue of some sort would be under my nail). I have oily hair that is pretty fine (though I have a good deal of it, so it's not thin), past my shoulders and slightly wavy. After shampooing with invati and then following with the conditoner my hair is actually pretty dry-looking, which is weird. I guess the shampoo did it's job in clearing everything off my scalp, but it also seems to have been too much for me. Obviously hair has to grow and starts off short, but you don't usually notice those short strands as they grow out, right? Well, now they're standing straight up. This is especially noticeable along my part. I also noticed that the conditioner didn't detangle enough (either because the shampoo is heavy duty or because the conditioner is light) so my hair was pretty tangled when I got out of the shower. So, while this set is supposed to prevent breakage I'd say it probably caused more breakage in my hair as a result of having to get the tangles out. I wanted to like it, but unfortunately didn't. I'd recommend getting a sample or a travel size first and seeing if it's right for you. It's honestly the first shampoo/conditioner regiment I've tried from AVEDA that I don't like, and I've been using AVEDA for over a decade. "
This product is best for:i don't know...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-35points
26of 87voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

makes my hair thick _and_ soft

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
Pure Privilege member Yes
" This review applies to Invati shampoo and conditioner as a pair, since I understand that they are meant to work together and one isn’t worth it without the other.
I have no idea if Invati helps slow/stop/regenerate thinning hair. Having read the fine print, I find the way the line is marketed somewhat disingenuous and say tsk tsk to Aveda.
However, as someone with baby-fine hair that alternates between “lank” and “dandelion,” this stuff rocks! It volumizes my hair but (and here the choir of heavenly angels sings) also makes it soft, shiny and easily styled. Fly-aways begone. Plus it stays that way all day, so this is what I use in the morning if I’m planning to go out after work. I can even make it a second day sometimes, with ponytail.
Without any lather/slip to the shampoo, it’s really hard to tell if you’ve got it everywhere, especially to the roots where it’s meant to do its stuff. It’s also so runny that it kind of dumps straight onto your scalp before you can spread it around. Weak mortals like myself then use far too much of an expensive product. "
My salon isPlanet Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
26of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for invati™ exfoliating shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Invati Shampoo

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Golden, CO
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" Do not feel like the shampoo cleans hair. The conditioner does not detangle. The revitalizer leaves scalp oily. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+39points
49of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>