Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution

Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution

Leave-in daily treatment
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 224 Reviews
5 Stars
130
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
14
1 Star
7
200 of 224(89%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
Review 1 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something that works when nothing else does

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
By ikastrems
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" I've been plagued by a sensitive, itchy, flaking scalp all my life.This product helped to completely eliminate dry scalp and flaking, especially during the winter months. I only have to use the Scalp Remedy product about once a week to maintain consistent results. I've found that it's easier and just as effective to dispense the product into my hands and then work it onto my scalp rather than applying it directly using the included droper as the instructions suggest. "
This product is best for:control dandruff
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally, a solution for winter scalp itch!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By LakeLaBelle
User submitted photo
" from November through March, I used to suffer to not itch my scalp. I had to invent a code word with my husband to keep from doing it. this embarrassing habit has been pleasantly cured with Scalp Remedy.
I've bought it for my family members with sensitive midwestern scalps to survive cold winter air and dry heated areas.
Immediate relief is possible with this awesome product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Change

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
By TotallyDisgusted
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Houston, TX
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have had severe scalp problems for more than 20 years. I was introduced to the ORIGINAL Scalp Remedy product (made with Zinc) in 2005. Within 5 wks of using my scalp was totally clear -- no flakes, no itching. For three years my scalp was clear! And as an African-American woman, it worked as a leave-in -- put on scalp prior to applying styling lotion and going under the dryer -- no residue or gunk. Then in 2008, Aveda changed the formulary to use Salicylic Acid. I tried it but within 3 months my scalp returned to its old ways with severe flakes and itching. I used to call customer support weekly to complain. PLEASE OFFER THE OLD FORMULA!! I'm not saying get rid of this new formula (as it may work for some) but please bring back the old one. I have not found any other product that works as well as your original product. "
This product is best for:not my hair - bring back the old
No, I do not recommend this product.
+36points
37of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Please bring back the old formula for Scalp Remedy!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
By Lisalo
" I agree with other comments I've read about old formula scalp remedy vs. new formula. The old one was far more effective, while the current one seems like a watered down version. Please at least offer the old formula as an option. Those of us with problem scalps will thank you big time! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but old formulation was much better

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By thininghair
" This product is easy to use with the spray applicator and does work in relieving dry itchy scalp. However the old discontinued formulation was much better in my opinion. Not only did it work better in relieving itchy flaky scalp it added volume to your hair. I have tried all the local salons and bought all the old product I could find until there was no more left anywhere. I now use this new product as it does work but is a big step down from it's predecessor. I wish Aveda would offer both products, it would be a marketing coup and benefit all. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please Bring Back the old Remedy!!!

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By TRenee
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Austin, TX
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Please Bring Back the old Remedy for those of us that really have scalp issues, I have never found anything that relieved the itch and the sores in my head, so please consider bringing back the old remedy if only for a period of time to allow us to stock up on it. I WOULD BUY THE OLD REMENDY BY THE CASE!!!!! It worked that well!!!!! "
This product is best for:Coarse hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank God

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
By myHairHurts
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Brooklyn, NY
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" I'm healed! Thank the lord! This stuff feels and smells so good. I recently got psorisis. I have been super depressed about it. My hair is kind of my thing. I've always had thick, really pretty hair. Now my scalp is always itching and it's become a psychotic obsessive habit looking at the gross spots on my scalp and trying to get rid of them. My hair started falling out from messing with it too much. I've spent 100s of dollars on cures and hours researching natural solutions. This works better than what my dermatologist gave me, which burns. This feels so good. I practically used the entire bottle the day I got it (today). It cools my hair and feels so so amazing. I've only used it for a day, but it immediately broke down all of the disgusting flakey spots while it soothed my scalp. Oh my God, it feels so good. I can't wait to finally snuggle my boyfriend again without being self conscious. I am instantly physically and emotionally relieved. Thank you Aveda. I am so happy. "
This product is best for:psoriasis
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Please bring the old formula back

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
By ElizabethStephens
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:New York, NY, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" The old formula worked beautifully. I can't imagine why it was changed. Please, bring the old formula back to the shelves. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
By mole
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Redlands, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I am really disappointed in the new scalp remedy and have found 3 others that shop at my local Aveda salon who feel the same way. This one has to be used daily and still leaves my head flakey. The former version was much more effective and after a few days of using it actually kept my head clear of flakes for months! I originally thought the new easy dispensing bottle was great but the I wish that Aveda still carried the thicker less convenient product that worked so much better. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
By HappyHair22
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This is a perfect example of why I love Aveda. About 8 years ago I suddenly got a very dry, itchy scalp that persisted for a few months. I finally decided to try aveda's scalp remedy. At the time, it came in a brown glass bottle with a dropper and it was the consistency of a lotion. I only used it at night because it made my hair look kind of dirty, but within a few weeks my scalp was completely healed and the dryness didn't return... until now. I've been having the same problem, so I went back to Aveda. I was disappointed to see that they had discontinued the old product, but the lady told me that this product was the same, but with a more liquid consistency so you can use it in the morning and it won't make your hair look funny. I brought it home and tried it and I am so happy. She was right, I can use this in the morning and nobody would know. I've been putting it in twice a day - morning and night for about 5 days and my scalp is almost healed already! I am confident that within 10 days it will be completely healed. This is why I love Aveda - they make a product that works and then they tweak it to make it even more convenient. "
This product is best for:dry scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helps with itching

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By kittykatsnacks
" I have seborrhea which is not typical dandruff. It causes red scaly patches due to skins reaction to sebum. Normally a few washes with coal tar shampoo knocks it out. This time I wanted something that wouldn't strip the red dye out of my hair and smelled better. This seems to be working pretty well. It definitely helps with the itching. It is taking a little longer to help with the flakes which I expected it would. Spray at the roots and then comb through to spread it on the scalp. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
By review1234
" I have relaxed african american hair, and this product works great for me. Highly recommended! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nothing like the old formula

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Customer avatar
By fire
" please bring the original formula back. This does not work like the old formula at all. I had been using the old one for many years and now my dandruff is back. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Product but older version was better

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Customer avatar
By Cryssie
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I've used the older version with the dropper for over 4 years to control my psoriasis and would always buy 2 and 3 at a time. The serum which was thicker then would relieve my itching and the soars for 3-4 weeks at a time and YES it was a such relief...After buying the newer version it did not seem to work at all. I was told it is the same as the old one and nothing has changed but the bottle....not so at all... I did notice the serum was not as thick as the older version ...needless to say I am not to satisfied with the newer version. It was a total let down...Me, my mom and my daughter, we all relied on this for relief of our scalp issues ...PLEASE BRING BACK THE OLDER SERUM! "
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is overpriced.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
By MsFox
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Springfield, MO, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am a stylist
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" The active ingredient is just salicylic acid. I assumed the botanicals that were included in the ingredient list would help moisturize since the product is so expensive and salicylic acid is very drying, but no, this was not the case. My scalp was so dry and irritated, it was worse than before I started using it. Also, it makes your hair look extremely dirty. Salicylic acid shampoo is wonderful for scalp conditions. It's only downfall is it can be quite drying so you don't want it on your scalp for long periods of time. I recommend using a salicylic acid shampoo and only leave on for a few minutes and rinse, then follow with a scalp moisturizer. I got a horrible case of seborrheic dermatitis from working out at the gym and that is what finally worked for me. I would have spent hundreds of dollars on this if it had actually worked. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps with itch and flakes

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
By Droon
From:Florida, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
" I have sensitive skin, and have fought an itchy scalp in both Wisconsin and Florida climates. I feel like I've tried all of the products you can buy in a department store, as well as homemade remedies. Everything made my long, dry hair greasy or too dry. I now wash every other day with Aveda's Scalp Balancing shampoo, which has been a saving grace. My hair feels healthy and my scalp finally feels awesome. I use this Scalp Remedy if my scalp starts to get itchy. I spray it into my hands, rub them together, and rub it onto my scalp using my fingers. You can even rub it right on the part of your hair and it doesn't look the slightest bit greasy. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helped a lot with itching

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
By Michigan
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This seems to work. It goes on cool and definitely relieved itching. some reviewers have said it leaves their hair dirty looking, but I've been spraying it right on to my scalp, rather than the hair, and massaged it in and it didnt make my hair dirty at all. I rated it 4 vs 5 stars because it has a bit of a medicinal smell which isnt too pleasant. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Miss old formula

PostedMarch 5, 2009
Customer avatar
By Avedaconsumer20years
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Rural Wisconsin
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love(d) the Scalp Benefits & (old original)Scalp Remedy Formula. For many years I have used and stocked up on these products. I'm so glad the original scalp benefit products are still available, but I'm not impressed with the reformulated Scalp Remedy. The old creamy tonic was extremely soothing and had a fantastic fragrance - the new spray water just doesn't do it. Any chance you might bring the old formula back for us loyal old customers? Thanks for the forum. "
This product is best for:dry scalp..any type hair!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Customer avatar
By bobeanie
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Appleton, WI
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I was looking for a product for my itchy scalp. I have used this for only a week and only one application per day (it says up to 4x per day). I couldn't believe how good my scalp feels after application...no itching! "
My salon isYikes
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bring Back The Old Formula!

PostedMarch 4, 2009
Customer avatar
By TinTexas
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Texas
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I used the old formula faithfully for 3 years and never had a problem. I have attempted to use the new formula several times but it just does not seem to control the dandruff like the old one did. Good product but the original formula was MUCH better....Please bring it back so I can begin recommending it to my friends again! "
This product is best for:All hair types
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>