Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution

Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution

Leave-in daily treatment
Overall rating:
4.297 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(236 reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 236 Reviews
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
14
1 Star
7
212 of 236(90%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
Review 1 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something that works when nothing else does

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" I've been plagued by a sensitive, itchy, flaking scalp all my life.This product helped to completely eliminate dry scalp and flaking, especially during the winter months. I only have to use the Scalp Remedy product about once a week to maintain consistent results. I've found that it's easier and just as effective to dispense the product into my hands and then work it onto my scalp rather than applying it directly using the included droper as the instructions suggest. "
This product is best for:control dandruff
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

finally, a solution for winter scalp itch!

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
User submitted photo
" from November through March, I used to suffer to not itch my scalp. I had to invent a code word with my husband to keep from doing it. this embarrassing habit has been pleasantly cured with Scalp Remedy.
I've bought it for my family members with sensitive midwestern scalps to survive cold winter air and dry heated areas.
Immediate relief is possible with this awesome product.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Change

PostedSeptember 25, 2009
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Houston, TX
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have had severe scalp problems for more than 20 years. I was introduced to the ORIGINAL Scalp Remedy product (made with Zinc) in 2005. Within 5 wks of using my scalp was totally clear -- no flakes, no itching. For three years my scalp was clear! And as an African-American woman, it worked as a leave-in -- put on scalp prior to applying styling lotion and going under the dryer -- no residue or gunk. Then in 2008, Aveda changed the formulary to use Salicylic Acid. I tried it but within 3 months my scalp returned to its old ways with severe flakes and itching. I used to call customer support weekly to complain. PLEASE OFFER THE OLD FORMULA!! I'm not saying get rid of this new formula (as it may work for some) but please bring back the old one. I have not found any other product that works as well as your original product. "
This product is best for:not my hair - bring back the old
No, I do not recommend this product.
+40points
41of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solved chemo scalp problem

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" After finishing chemo for breast cancer I developed what I called "mutant dandruff" (as the flakes were the size of a dime) as my hair grew back. It was so embarrassing. I tried every dandruff treatment on the market from Head and Shoulders to the T-Gel stuff that stinks so bad. Nothing even remotely helped until Scalp Remedy. It cleared it all up within a month. I have continued to use it since 2008 because my scalp has remained sensitive and I occasionally get hive-like blisters on my scalp. Scalp remedy clears up those sore spots within a day or two. I used to only use as needed but this past year I use almost every morning after washing my hair. I couldn't live with out this. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please Bring Back the old Remedy!!!

PostedApril 9, 2009
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Austin, TX
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Please Bring Back the old Remedy for those of us that really have scalp issues, I have never found anything that relieved the itch and the sores in my head, so please consider bringing back the old remedy if only for a period of time to allow us to stock up on it. I WOULD BUY THE OLD REMENDY BY THE CASE!!!!! It worked that well!!!!! "
This product is best for:Coarse hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but old formulation was much better

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
" This product is easy to use with the spray applicator and does work in relieving dry itchy scalp. However the old discontinued formulation was much better in my opinion. Not only did it work better in relieving itchy flaky scalp it added volume to your hair. I have tried all the local salons and bought all the old product I could find until there was no more left anywhere. I now use this new product as it does work but is a big step down from it's predecessor. I wish Aveda would offer both products, it would be a marketing coup and benefit all. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

soothe itchy/dry scalp due to frequent washes

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:CA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" my hair gets oily in summer, but the scalp isn't loving the extra washes and starts itching and flaking. the scalp remedy immediately helps soothe the itch for a day after the wash so that i can shampoo at least every other day. work well after shampooing when hair is damp or when the occasional itches bug. "
This product is best for:soothe itchy scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Please bring back the old formula for Scalp Remedy!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
By 
" I agree with other comments I've read about old formula scalp remedy vs. new formula. The old one was far more effective, while the current one seems like a watered down version. Please at least offer the old formula as an option. Those of us with problem scalps will thank you big time! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Effectice

PostedJune 19, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" This product is truly effective against my husband's dandruff, and like all Aveda product smells very nice. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

a good addition to the scalp benefits routine

PostedApril 10, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Eugene, OR, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have had finicky psoriasis on my scalp that flares up with stress and the use of particular products. I constantly try new products, from medicated to natural, spending too much money without any results. I finally decided to go back and try aveda ( I used it awhile ago but stopped thinking it was too expensive) and it TOTALLY WORKS. No more gross flakes, no more selfconciousness.
also has a great smell. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank God

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Brooklyn, NY
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" I'm healed! Thank the lord! This stuff feels and smells so good. I recently got psorisis. I have been super depressed about it. My hair is kind of my thing. I've always had thick, really pretty hair. Now my scalp is always itching and it's become a psychotic obsessive habit looking at the gross spots on my scalp and trying to get rid of them. My hair started falling out from messing with it too much. I've spent 100s of dollars on cures and hours researching natural solutions. This works better than what my dermatologist gave me, which burns. This feels so good. I practically used the entire bottle the day I got it (today). It cools my hair and feels so so amazing. I've only used it for a day, but it immediately broke down all of the disgusting flakey spots while it soothed my scalp. Oh my God, it feels so good. I can't wait to finally snuggle my boyfriend again without being self conscious. I am instantly physically and emotionally relieved. Thank you Aveda. I am so happy. "
This product is best for:psoriasis
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Relief

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Brooktondale, NY 14817, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have only been using this for a little while and it's made a great difference already. My scalp doesn't itch like it use to. I have a combination of dandruff and mild psoriasis. The amount of flakes and red spots has reduced some. I like the extended part of the sprayer, because it allows you to get the product right on the scalp and slide it around the scalp while you spray with ease. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

instant relief

PostedJune 3, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
" As soon as I sprayed this on myself, I felt instant relief. Wish it lasted all day, but I can use it up to 4 times a day. My hair gets a little gunky after two applications. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to help with neck/hairline irritation

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Pure Privilege member Yes
" Been using this on and off a few times a week for about three weeks and the irritation and itching that I was getting along the hairline by my neck seems to have diminished. This is from a dermatitus that flares up with heat/sweat. It is soothing so I will keep on using it. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

scalp remedy dandruff solution

PostedMay 21, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
" So far so good! I've been using this product for only a short time but I am happy with the results. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This is a perfect example of why I love Aveda. About 8 years ago I suddenly got a very dry, itchy scalp that persisted for a few months. I finally decided to try aveda's scalp remedy. At the time, it came in a brown glass bottle with a dropper and it was the consistency of a lotion. I only used it at night because it made my hair look kind of dirty, but within a few weeks my scalp was completely healed and the dryness didn't return... until now. I've been having the same problem, so I went back to Aveda. I was disappointed to see that they had discontinued the old product, but the lady told me that this product was the same, but with a more liquid consistency so you can use it in the morning and it won't make your hair look funny. I brought it home and tried it and I am so happy. She was right, I can use this in the morning and nobody would know. I've been putting it in twice a day - morning and night for about 5 days and my scalp is almost healed already! I am confident that within 10 days it will be completely healed. This is why I love Aveda - they make a product that works and then they tweak it to make it even more convenient. "
This product is best for:dry scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disappointed

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Redlands, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I am really disappointed in the new scalp remedy and have found 3 others that shop at my local Aveda salon who feel the same way. This one has to be used daily and still leaves my head flakey. The former version was much more effective and after a few days of using it actually kept my head clear of flakes for months! I originally thought the new easy dispensing bottle was great but the I wish that Aveda still carried the thicker less convenient product that worked so much better. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

helps with build up

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
" helps with seborrheic dermatitis scaly build up. Helps with itching "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

relief!

PostedApril 2, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Missouri
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
" On a medication that dries me out... this product has relieved the itchy scalp, without a medicinal smell to it. It's got a nice, fresh herbal scent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Scalp Remedy™ Dandruff Solution
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helps with itching

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
" I have seborrhea which is not typical dandruff. It causes red scaly patches due to skins reaction to sebum. Normally a few washes with coal tar shampoo knocks it out. This time I wanted something that wouldn't strip the red dye out of my hair and smelled better. This seems to be working pretty well. It definitely helps with the itching. It is taking a little longer to help with the flakes which I expected it would. Spray at the roots and then comb through to spread it on the scalp. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>