Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo

Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo

soothes and balances the scalp
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(699 reviews) 676
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 699 Reviews
5 Stars
521
4 Stars
135
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
11
1 Star
10
671 of 696(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
Review 61 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shampoo Ever for Itchy Scalp & Dandruff

PostedSeptember 8, 2008
Customer avatar
By JRVNJ
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Jackson, NJ
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I’ve suffered from stress-related itchy scalp & dandruff for years. I’ve consulted dermatologists and tried every hair product that claimed to relieve us of this uncomfortable (and annoying) condition. The results were only minimal and temporary.
I discovered the Aveda line last year and swear by Scalp Benefits Balancing Shampoo. After a few washings, the constant itching & dandruff were gone. I wash my hair daily and find the shampoo does not dry out my hair like store-brand “blue” shampoos and my hair smells fresh, not medicinal. This product is a life-saver and I highly recommend this to anyone who has a problematic scalp.
Life is stressful enough, and I am glad to have found a product that helps take care of the way my body (unfortunately) reacts to stress. Thank you Aveda!
"
This product is best for:itchy scalp, dandruff
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heaven For The Scalp

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Customer avatar
By AiLei
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Los Angeles, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"If you're suffering from an itchy scalp or dandruff, this shampoo is like heaven in a bottle. Using it just soothes away all of the problems your scalp may be feeling. Like bliss. And the conditioner goes great with this - that conditioner is a miracle; I've gotten more compliments on my hair since I started using both as well! The best of both worlds."
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I gave it to my brother and it worked

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer avatar
By shaisie
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:DC
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"My brother has really dry scalp, though this shampoo isn't moisturizing, it totally balanced out his scalp so he stopped having dandruff!!!"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tingly Fresh Feeling :)

PostedSeptember 10, 2008
Customer avatar
By Bmontgom
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Jupiter, FL
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
"Scalp feels super clean & fresh, because all you're left with is a tingle and cool feeling from your scalp. Has also helped minimize embarassing dandruff flakes in hair or on clothes. I definately LOVE this product, plus it's fairly inexpensive!"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Scalp benefits works

PostedSeptember 11, 2008
Customer avatar
By klshank
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Merritt Island, FL
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use the Rosemary mint shampoo most of the time, but when the seasons change (especially for winter) my scalp really freaks out. After a week or so of using this, my dry itchy scalp is back to normal. Only downfall is that this stuff does not smell very good."
This product is best for:dry scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best overall shampoo

PostedSeptember 11, 2008
Customer avatar
By LuvsAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Colorado
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This shampoo really does what it says. My hair is complicated- oily,dry and sensitive. I've tried a lot of shampoos and this one works the best for me. My hair is just more balanced...beautiful!"
This product is best for:Fine hair, Oily hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the only product that helps me !

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
By thnxaveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Arizona
Hair type coarse
Skin type oily
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have tried every product for dandruff.. cheap and not cheap and besides 1 prescription this is THE ONLY product that I guess keeps my scalp so in check I don't have any problems. No itching or red inflamed areas ....no flaking...I think at one time I was told my scalp condition was seborec (spelling?) dermatitis ..at any rate whatever the condition and it was serious with the flaking and painful ... when I use this product it is virtually non-existent! I never thought I would find something to "cure" this ..so glad I did AND it SMELLS great !"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

soothes the scalp

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
From:Indianapolis, Indiana
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"scalp itch is definently reduced after using this product a few times. would recommend to anyone with a dry itchy scalp."
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo for itchy scalp!

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Customer avatar
By jenc
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:IL
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I alternate this shampoo with another and it works great for my itchy head! Smells great too!"
This product is best for:Thick hair, Dry hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lasting scent

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Customer avatar
By JenL
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Hartford, CT
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I had my hair cut recently and the salon used this product on my hair. It was so soothing as my hair was washed and my scalp felt stimulated. The best part? Even after and hour of hard workout the next morning, I could still smell the product!"
This product is best for:Oily hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Customer avatar
By ssker
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:New Haven
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I really like this shampoo. It smells good and my scalp is in great shape - I usually hate using dry scalp shampoos but this one's great. It's definitely made a difference."
This product is best for:Wavy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Stuff

PostedSeptember 16, 2008
Customer avatar
By mojo11
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Atlanta, GA
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I really like the scalp benefits shampoo."
This product is best for:Normal hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shampoo for Scalp

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
By lou55
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Texas
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is one of the best shampoos I have used for the purpose of relieving dry, itchy scalp. Helps reduce flacking also, especially when used with Aveda's Scalp Remedy Dandruff Solution, which is a leave-in daily treatment. They both work well together. In fact, I would not buy one without the other."
This product is best for:dry itchy scalp, dandruff
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of the best

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
By Bul2
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Schaumburg, IL
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"The shampoo is by far the best that I have ever used. I dont like experimenting with brands/products too often. I was using my old shampoo for a good 15 years but when i switched to Aveda, there was no going back. Its a great product,very gentle with a lingering light smell. I cud recommend this to everybody."
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
By lil11ro
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:TX
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am a massage therapist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"this is also good for people who have an oily scalp but not neccissarily oily hair. It keeps the roots of my hair from getting to oily but doesnt dry them either. I really like to put this in to my regular routine about once a week. I dont have dry scalp but it still works great"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shampoo

PostedSeptember 17, 2008
Customer avatar
By 1HotMama
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
From:Atlanta, GA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am devoted to Aveda
"This shanpoo has a great smell and does a fantastic job of relieving my itchy scalp. It also eliminates flakes and makes hair shiny."
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does not dry hair out.....

PostedSeptember 18, 2008
Customer avatar
By FallsMom
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Georgia
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I've used dandruff shampoos in the past. They usually dry my hair out and didn't do much to clear up damage. I have healthy hair and scalp but I sometimes get dandruff when the weather changes or if I have a reaction to a hair product.
I've been using Aveda products (and also go to the salon) exclusively for 2 years now. My hair has never been longer, stronger or healthier in my life. I am African American with thick, chemically straightened hair. My hair requires good products that moisturize and baby every strand.
I always use Damage Remedy line or Moisture Remedy but I have all of the products and love them all. I started using the scalp benefits recently when started to get a flaky scalp due to weather changes. Wow...what a difference. It really did the job. I sit and part my dry hair in sections and I put the shampoo directly onto the parted area (scalp)...tedious but it works best for me this way. I then let the shampoo sit for a few minutes and then I get into the shower to wash and really massage it into my scalp with my fingerpads. Then I rinse it and repeat if I feel it necessary. My hair comes out smelling wonderful and it's SOFT and my scalp feels so clean. When I'm all done styling----NO DANDRUFF and beautiful hair!"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soothing Scalp

PostedSeptember 20, 2008
Customer avatar
By HappyNJ
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Northwestern NJ
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have just started using this shampoo. It really makes my scalp feel very soothed. Wish I had used it earlier..."
This product is best for:relieving itchy scalp
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

another favorite

PostedSeptember 23, 2008
Customer avatar
By beachbabe
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Florida
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
"This shampoo is fabulous- it keeps my hair from soft, oil free and smelling great! I only wish I would have tried it sooner."
This product is best for:Fine hair, Oily hair, Straight hair, Normal hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Scalp Benefits™ Balancing Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soothing

PostedSeptember 25, 2008
Customer avatar
By val86l
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Westland, MI
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love Aveda's Scalp Benefits Balancing Shampoo! It smells amazing and recharges me every morning before a long day. The shampoo is soothing for my dry scalp. It is actually helping my scalp heal from a dandruff problem I *had* before."
This product is best for:Thick hair, Dry hair, Oily hair, Straight hair, dull hair (adds shine)
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 next>>