Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Clove Shampoo

Clove Shampoo

enriches brown hair
Overall rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(224 reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 224 Reviews
5 Stars
186
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
214 of 223(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Clove Shampoo
Review 1 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something wonderful about that smell....

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By SuzMar
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York State
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"This remains my favorite product even after fourteen years as an Aveda devotee! The consistency, color, lather and oh that smell....just love it & there is nothing else that compares."
My salon isJLP/Aria
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Korey
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Arkansas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my brown haired children to use and I have been very pleased with it! They are 5 and 6 and their hair looks great and smells amazing!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Cydaida
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:CA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
"I am 70 years old and get compliments on my beautiful shiny brunette hair continually. No one knows my secret! An occasional over the counter root touch up, but Aveda Clove Shampoo every time I wash my hair along with Aveda Clove Conditioner. I still wear my hair long down past my shoulders and I look great! Thanks Aveda!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By AmyfromOhio1234
"I love this shampoo. The smell, to me, is pure heaven. And I feel like it stays with me for the days. Love it!
I have thick, somewhat dry, color-treated hair. So it's not the most moisturizing. But I use it when I want a nice thorough clean, and follow with a rich conditioner -- usually dry remedy.
The shampoos (according to my Aveda stylist and based on experience) will not really ADD color to your hair. The corresponding conditioners, which I never really took to, DO. So if you're using this to enhance color, you need to really stick with the colors suitable to your hair. My hair is bronde, so this is a good match anyway, but thought that was worth a mention.
If you have red tones, the madder root smells phenomenal as well."
My salon isAffinity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive shampoo gift

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By mep1
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Sahuarita, AZ
Hair type medium
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My big sister visited me last year. She gave me a 1 litre bottle of Aveda Clove Shampoo...she said it's all she uses. I thanked her, and began using this shampoo immediately.
NOTE:
I usually purchase my shampoo at the grocery store...
always buying the "on sale" brands.
The very first thing I noticed was the increased shine in my hair. I am in my mid 50's and beginning to get gray hair. This product diminishes the gray, and gives me extraordinary shine. My hair looks very healthy.
I also noticed that a few small bumps on my scalp (probably due to inferior shampoo products being used on my hair) disappeared almost immediately. This shampoo not only made my hair "glow", but it also made my scalp healthier!
My gift bottle of shampoo lasted almost 6 months (I wash my hair daily) so when it finally ran out, I decided to purchase another bottle, even though the price is a lot more than I generally would spend.
I feel this shampoo is worth the extra expense, and I was able to get a free shipping code for my online purchase, and a free pump dispenser, too!
I'm delighted with this product, and would highly recommend this to my family and friends.
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo is the best for brunettes

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By BeatletteFrankie
Pure Privilege memberYes
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I have used the Clove shampoo and conditioner for years. It smells fabulous, but most importantly, it is ideal for brown tones. It always leaves my hair feeling full and luxurious and people often ask if my rich brunette hair is colored. I always tell them that it's the shampoo."
My salon isFandango
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By tanqclaude
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
"This shampoo is great. It cleans my hair well without stripping it of its natural oils. I am not sure if I notice any added color benefits, but I use it in conjunction with the conditioner and it definitely seems to help color last longer. I also think my scalp is in better condition, which is great because I have sensitive skin which is easily irritated."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
By ASand
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use this shampoo most days, smells great and my hair looks and feels great, really shiny!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
By LBHS
"this shampoo adds warm highlights to brown hair, colored or natural brown hair. It work great with the clove conditioner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grey hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By OceanFoam
"Helps you look younger without looking like you color your hair. Great fragrance. Use daily, with combination of clove conditioner, if you want to have darker hair. Use less often if you wish to have just slight darker tint."
This product is best for:preparing hair for color conditioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It pays to pay!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By Ibatar
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:San Diego, CA, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is a very good shampoo. It's amazing when you use high quality product how much better your hair looks and behaves. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it doesn't latter up as most shampoos do. This might be so as it is a more natural shampoo with less chemicals???? It does clean your hair, but I kinda like all that foam. Maybe it's therapeutic for me. It does foam up better when use a pump, though. Either way, it is a great shampoo and I really like it!"
This product is best for:great hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite shampoo

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By TSK1
"This is a great shampoo for color treated hair, very gentle on the color. I love the clove fragrance. Just wish it came in a smaller size for travel."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almond smell; no longer Clove

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By Meee
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
Pure Privilege memberYes
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I've used this shampoo for decades. Unfortunately, the scent is now "almond." Please bring back the "clove" scent!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shampoo

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By SandySheehan
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Groveland, MA, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This is the best shampoo. I love the smell and how it makes my hair feel. I have been using this for years and wouldn't change!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My Hair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
By musician
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Washington, DC suburbs
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used Aveda Clove Shampoo for a long time, and the result is always silkier, more manageable hair (fine and very straight). Also, although I generally wash my hair every day, it remains looking good even if I don't. Lately, in the interest of not creating a shampoo "build-up," I've begun alternating Aveda Clove with another shampoo, which I like, but which doesn't leave my hair feeling nearly so wonderful or behaving nearly so well. I'm always glad when it's time again for Aveda Clove."
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair, Normal hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Leaves my hair shiny!!!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer avatar
By ebcastorri
"Love the smell and results from the shampoo!!! It leaves my hair soft and shiny!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like this

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
By 1923
"I feel as if I get a nice, clean head of hair after I use this."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A wonderful shampoo

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By Ramona
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Chicago il
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Clove shampoo is a great shampoo for the whole family. It nourishes your hair and keeps it looking healthy. The smell is wonderful."
My salon isEverything's relative
This product is best for:healthy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE Clove Shampoo!

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
By JanetB
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Arlington, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I absolutely love this shampoo - it smells AMAZING! I've been using it for a few years and it makes my hair look so beautiful. I do not color my hair at all. I have naturally mousy light/medium brown hair with developing grey stripes (which I also love!) I use this shampoo about 3 or 4 times a week (I use Shampure on the other days) and use Shampure conditioner 100% of the time. This shampoo really enriches my brown hair, without covering my awesome grey stripes. It has an abundant lather that envelopes me in its spicy scent and makes washing my hair feel very luxurious! I agree with some other reviewers that my hair can feel a little dry after rinsing the shampoo, but a little conditioner and a final rinse and my hair is left soft and silky. One note of caution - I have noticed if I use it every day, it starts to turn my grey a little yellow, which is why I switch out with the Shampure to clarify."
This product is best for:color enhancement
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My all-time favorite shampoo!

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
By CentralTxMom111
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Leander (Austin), Tx
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
"I started using this shampoo back when my now 22yo son was just a baby. It's the only shampoo I've continually returned to after trying others. (I only stopped using it when my hairdresser moved to a non-Aveda salon, so I was thrilled to find that I could buy it directly from Aveda.) I've always had thick, fairly coarse, dark brown hair with natural wave, though it's gone through some changes in my 40's. This Clove shampoo is the one shampoo that has done as well on my 20-something hair as it has my 40-something hair. It's the one hair product that remains a constant for me. I use it at home and I fill travel bottles to take with me on the road. I don't ever want to be without it."
My salon isBaby Face Spa
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>