Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Clove Shampoo

Clove Shampoo

enriches brown hair
Overall rating:
4.775 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 Reviews
5 Stars
211
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
242 of 251(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Clove Shampoo
Review 1 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo AND awesome value!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By NarcissisticNefertiti
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Guyton, ga
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I'm currently growing out my natural dark brown hair and this shampoo is perfect! I have some honey-blonde highlights, both naturally and from getting my hair highlighted a while back, and this shampoo helps to enhance both. The huge bottle lasts me about 3-4 months (although I DO switch between some other Aveda shampoos...Brilliant, Damage Remedy, and Color Conserve). The Clove shampoo smells like almonds with a hint of Aveda's signature woodsy yet feminine "pure-fume" scent. I'd recommend this to both women AND men (my husband has dark brown hair and he uses this too!) This really is an awesome value too! "
My salon isserenity day spa
This product is best for:shine, color enhancement, aroma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something wonderful about that smell....

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By SuzMar
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York State
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" This remains my favorite product even after fourteen years as an Aveda devotee! The consistency, color, lather and oh that smell....just love it & there is nothing else that compares. "
My salon isJLP/Aria
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Korey
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Arkansas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I bought this for my brown haired children to use and I have been very pleased with it! They are 5 and 6 and their hair looks great and smells amazing! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Cydaida
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:CA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" I am 70 years old and get compliments on my beautiful shiny brunette hair continually. No one knows my secret! An occasional over the counter root touch up, but Aveda Clove Shampoo every time I wash my hair along with Aveda Clove Conditioner. I still wear my hair long down past my shoulders and I look great! Thanks Aveda! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive shampoo gift

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By mep1
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Sahuarita, AZ
Hair type medium
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" My big sister visited me last year. She gave me a 1 litre bottle of Aveda Clove Shampoo...she said it's all she uses. I thanked her, and began using this shampoo immediately.
NOTE:
I usually purchase my shampoo at the grocery store...
always buying the "on sale" brands.
The very first thing I noticed was the increased shine in my hair. I am in my mid 50's and beginning to get gray hair. This product diminishes the gray, and gives me extraordinary shine. My hair looks very healthy.
I also noticed that a few small bumps on my scalp (probably due to inferior shampoo products being used on my hair) disappeared almost immediately. This shampoo not only made my hair "glow", but it also made my scalp healthier!
My gift bottle of shampoo lasted almost 6 months (I wash my hair daily) so when it finally ran out, I decided to purchase another bottle, even though the price is a lot more than I generally would spend.
I feel this shampoo is worth the extra expense, and I was able to get a free shipping code for my online purchase, and a free pump dispenser, too!
I'm delighted with this product, and would highly recommend this to my family and friends.
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Still a Great Shampoo

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Customer avatar
By dontmesswithtexas1
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I used this years ago in my 20's and loved it. Have gone back to it now many years later and I still love the smell...ingredients not perfumey...I love the way it cleans my scalp and hair..just takes a pump or maybe 2 on my long , thick hair. Only thing I am holding out on is how it is doing with some grey . I color my hair brown but it does,'t take long for some grey to pop up..I am hoping this will help me go a bit longer without doing my roots. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedApril 1, 2015
Customer avatar
By rebeccabrabb
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:West Monroe, LA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" i have used this product in the past. i loved it...there are just so many shampoos i love from aveda that i switch from one to the other because i love them all. I really should have a shampoo bar built into my next shower! ha! "
My salon isArlette
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo for brown hair

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer avatar
By Aschne1111
I received a free trial of this product Yes
" I love this! I received this as a sample in store and fell in love. It adds richness to my dark brown hair and extends the color. I love it so much "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives great smelling soft brunette hair

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By MeRee
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" I had never tried this shampoo before, so I am really glad I trusted all the great reviews it got. It smells very nice and it leaves my hair clean and soft. I typically only shampoo every other day. However, due to workouts I needed to shampoo 3 days in a row, and this shampoo was gentle enough so my hair didn't dry out. I haven't noticed a vast difference in the color of my hair, but I feel like the brown tones in my hair look richer and it warms the cooler hue of my hair. Plus, my hair looks healthy and shiny which always makes the color of your hair look more vibrant. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By greatlakesmama
From:Wisconsin, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Avedas Clove Shampoo is exactly what I've been looking for in a shampoo. It smells great without being overpowering. The formula itself is lightweight and rinses totally clean- no gross leftover residue or buildup! It has also seemed to rebalance the oiliness of my roots. Before starting this shampoo, my roots were getting oily enough to justify washing every day. About a week after using this shampoo, oil is back under control and I'm now washing my hair every other day. That's great because it means styling holds better. It also means Im doing less damage to my hair, because I'm no longer blow drying every day! My natural brunette hair is also looking glossier. I definitely recommend Avedas Clove Shampoo! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells great, no residue

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By Uberbabe
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Austin, TX, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. I had been using Brilliant, but it was leaving my hair with some residue, which weighed it down a bit. If you have really oily hair, you'll love Clove. Plus. THE SMELL IS AMAZING. "
My salon isAvant Salon and Spa
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By AmyfromOhio1234
" I love this shampoo. The smell, to me, is pure heaven. And I feel like it stays with me for the days. Love it!
I have thick, somewhat dry, color-treated hair. So it's not the most moisturizing. But I use it when I want a nice thorough clean, and follow with a rich conditioner -- usually dry remedy.
The shampoos (according to my Aveda stylist and based on experience) will not really ADD color to your hair. The corresponding conditioners, which I never really took to, DO. So if you're using this to enhance color, you need to really stick with the colors suitable to your hair. My hair is bronde, so this is a good match anyway, but thought that was worth a mention.
If you have red tones, the madder root smells phenomenal as well. "
My salon isAffinity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grey hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By OceanFoam
" Helps you look younger without looking like you color your hair. Great fragrance. Use daily, with combination of clove conditioner, if you want to have darker hair. Use less often if you wish to have just slight darker tint. "
This product is best for:preparing hair for color conditioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shampoo!

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
By fitnessmaven
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Buffalo, NY, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love this shampoo! It adds volume and refreshes your color. Love the smell too! Don't need a conditioner when I use it because it leaves my hair soft and manageable. I use the thickening tonic before styling and the brilliant hairspray to hold my look. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My Hair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
By musician
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Washington, DC suburbs
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have used Aveda Clove Shampoo for a long time, and the result is always silkier, more manageable hair (fine and very straight). Also, although I generally wash my hair every day, it remains looking good even if I don't. Lately, in the interest of not creating a shampoo "build-up," I've begun alternating Aveda Clove with another shampoo, which I like, but which doesn't leave my hair feeling nearly so wonderful or behaving nearly so well. I'm always glad when it's time again for Aveda Clove. "
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair, Normal hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Customer avatar
By Mulbary
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Michigan, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have used this product for several years. As my hair has started to turn grey, it has helped to highlight the brown that I have left. "
My salon isShapers
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Everyday Shampoo

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By LFL39
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:San Anselmo, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This is the best Aveda shampoo and I've tried them all. I don't know if it does what it claims to do, but the matching conditioner does help with color. As for this shampoo, it smells great and has a nice texture for everyday use and leaves no residue or weight. This is also the best value - I have very long hair and have been using this daily for nearly four months with just over half used. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super Shine!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Customer avatar
By Andrea11
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Joplin, MO, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Love this shampoo! I use it between salon outings. I love how my hair looks after shampooing with it. Moreover, my hair is left super shiny! I used Shampure Conditioner with it last time. I absolutely love the inspiring scents of all Aveda products! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the smell!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By StephMT
I received a free trial of this product No
" This shampoo gets so sudsy and I love the smell. My hair feels so full and soft when done. I will definitely buy this one again! "
My salon isBlue Chamomile
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light and natural

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By JulieM
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Vermont, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Clove shampoo is just the right weight for my fine, curly hair and I never get tired of the scent. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>