Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Clove Shampoo

Clove Shampoo

enriches brown hair
Overall rating:
4.775 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(240 reviews) 230
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 240 Reviews
5 Stars
201
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
230 of 239(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Clove Shampoo
Review 1 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo AND awesome value!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By NarcissisticNefertiti
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Guyton, ga
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I'm currently growing out my natural dark brown hair and this shampoo is perfect! I have some honey-blonde highlights, both naturally and from getting my hair highlighted a while back, and this shampoo helps to enhance both. The huge bottle lasts me about 3-4 months (although I DO switch between some other Aveda shampoos...Brilliant, Damage Remedy, and Color Conserve). The Clove shampoo smells like almonds with a hint of Aveda's signature woodsy yet feminine "pure-fume" scent. I'd recommend this to both women AND men (my husband has dark brown hair and he uses this too!) This really is an awesome value too! "
My salon isserenity day spa
This product is best for:shine, color enhancement, aroma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something wonderful about that smell....

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By SuzMar
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York State
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" This remains my favorite product even after fourteen years as an Aveda devotee! The consistency, color, lather and oh that smell....just love it & there is nothing else that compares. "
My salon isJLP/Aria
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Korey
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Arkansas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I bought this for my brown haired children to use and I have been very pleased with it! They are 5 and 6 and their hair looks great and smells amazing! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Cydaida
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:CA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" I am 70 years old and get compliments on my beautiful shiny brunette hair continually. No one knows my secret! An occasional over the counter root touch up, but Aveda Clove Shampoo every time I wash my hair along with Aveda Clove Conditioner. I still wear my hair long down past my shoulders and I look great! Thanks Aveda! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By greatlakesmama
From:Wisconsin, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Avedas Clove Shampoo is exactly what I've been looking for in a shampoo. It smells great without being overpowering. The formula itself is lightweight and rinses totally clean- no gross leftover residue or buildup! It has also seemed to rebalance the oiliness of my roots. Before starting this shampoo, my roots were getting oily enough to justify washing every day. About a week after using this shampoo, oil is back under control and I'm now washing my hair every other day. That's great because it means styling holds better. It also means Im doing less damage to my hair, because I'm no longer blow drying every day! My natural brunette hair is also looking glossier. I definitely recommend Avedas Clove Shampoo! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive shampoo gift

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By mep1
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Sahuarita, AZ
Hair type medium
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" My big sister visited me last year. She gave me a 1 litre bottle of Aveda Clove Shampoo...she said it's all she uses. I thanked her, and began using this shampoo immediately.
NOTE:
I usually purchase my shampoo at the grocery store...
always buying the "on sale" brands.
The very first thing I noticed was the increased shine in my hair. I am in my mid 50's and beginning to get gray hair. This product diminishes the gray, and gives me extraordinary shine. My hair looks very healthy.
I also noticed that a few small bumps on my scalp (probably due to inferior shampoo products being used on my hair) disappeared almost immediately. This shampoo not only made my hair "glow", but it also made my scalp healthier!
My gift bottle of shampoo lasted almost 6 months (I wash my hair daily) so when it finally ran out, I decided to purchase another bottle, even though the price is a lot more than I generally would spend.
I feel this shampoo is worth the extra expense, and I was able to get a free shipping code for my online purchase, and a free pump dispenser, too!
I'm delighted with this product, and would highly recommend this to my family and friends.
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By AmyfromOhio1234
" I love this shampoo. The smell, to me, is pure heaven. And I feel like it stays with me for the days. Love it!
I have thick, somewhat dry, color-treated hair. So it's not the most moisturizing. But I use it when I want a nice thorough clean, and follow with a rich conditioner -- usually dry remedy.
The shampoos (according to my Aveda stylist and based on experience) will not really ADD color to your hair. The corresponding conditioners, which I never really took to, DO. So if you're using this to enhance color, you need to really stick with the colors suitable to your hair. My hair is bronde, so this is a good match anyway, but thought that was worth a mention.
If you have red tones, the madder root smells phenomenal as well. "
My salon isAffinity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grey hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By OceanFoam
" Helps you look younger without looking like you color your hair. Great fragrance. Use daily, with combination of clove conditioner, if you want to have darker hair. Use less often if you wish to have just slight darker tint. "
This product is best for:preparing hair for color conditioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smells Heavenly

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
By JesX
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Illinois, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
" It has been years since I've used the Clove Shampoo, but I recently returned to it -- and the smell is still wonderful. Beyond the scent, though, my hair and scalp are squeaky clean. I like that it cleanses gently; this shampoo also foams up nicely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

leaves a nice, natural tone

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
By lovebird11
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Portland, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type oily
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" I actually have blonde hair but it has brown streaks in it. I thought I would play around with my hair color and I was quite impressed with the rich brown that it brought out in my hair. It left the blonde streaks in my hair a little strange looking so maybe I'd suggest it for only daring experiments if you don't have all brown hair. But it really does bring out a rich deep brown that's really beautiful! "
My salon isGiGi Salon & Spa West Linn
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smells Wonderful

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
By BreezenBy
From:NC
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I love the smell and suds of this shampoo. One pump covers all of my long hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for dark hair

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By EmilyLB
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Bridgeport, CT, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have been a faithful Clove user for years. I took a break for several months and noticed the lack of shine in my hair so I've gone back to this product. I only used it in combination with the Clove conditioner every other day and use either Pure Abundance or the Rosemary Mint on the off days. "
My salon isKate & Company
This product is best for:brown hair, shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SHAMPOO

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By marzena
From:Boca Raton, FL, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Great shampoo, you don't need a lot and you have a full head of luxurious foam!!!! I use it together with clove conditioner. Awesome products! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My Hair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
By musician
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Washington, DC suburbs
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have used Aveda Clove Shampoo for a long time, and the result is always silkier, more manageable hair (fine and very straight). Also, although I generally wash my hair every day, it remains looking good even if I don't. Lately, in the interest of not creating a shampoo "build-up," I've begun alternating Aveda Clove with another shampoo, which I like, but which doesn't leave my hair feeling nearly so wonderful or behaving nearly so well. I'm always glad when it's time again for Aveda Clove. "
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair, Normal hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo is the best for brunettes

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By BeatletteFrankie
Pure Privilege memberYes
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
" I have used the Clove shampoo and conditioner for years. It smells fabulous, but most importantly, it is ideal for brown tones. It always leaves my hair feeling full and luxurious and people often ask if my rich brunette hair is colored. I always tell them that it's the shampoo. "
My salon isFandango
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
By DAKOTA1960
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Simi Valley, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" It does not leave any residue helps maintain my color and smells wonderful !!! "
My salon isBella. Gente
This product is best for:helps color last
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Left hair clean without being drying

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Customer avatar
By DreaCala
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I recently just colored my hair and wanted something to minimize the orange brassy tone that happens after 6 weeks or so. Bought this shampoo...have used it before but it was 10+ years ago. It doesn't have the signature Aveda smell but it left my hair soft and silky. "
This product is best for:color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great stuff

PostedMay 13, 2011
Customer avatar
By jhoppe
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Boise, Id
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love the smell of this product. If you're on a budget I would skip this product and just get the conditioner; that's where the color is. I love all Aveda products so it's a win win either way. "
This product is best for:Normal hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE Clove Shampoo!

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
By JanetB
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Arlington, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I absolutely love this shampoo - it smells AMAZING! I've been using it for a few years and it makes my hair look so beautiful. I do not color my hair at all. I have naturally mousy light/medium brown hair with developing grey stripes (which I also love!) I use this shampoo about 3 or 4 times a week (I use Shampure on the other days) and use Shampure conditioner 100% of the time. This shampoo really enriches my brown hair, without covering my awesome grey stripes. It has an abundant lather that envelopes me in its spicy scent and makes washing my hair feel very luxurious! I agree with some other reviewers that my hair can feel a little dry after rinsing the shampoo, but a little conditioner and a final rinse and my hair is left soft and silky. One note of caution - I have noticed if I use it every day, it starts to turn my grey a little yellow, which is why I switch out with the Shampure to clarify. "
This product is best for:color enhancement
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By Itsjazzbaby85
I received a free trial of this product No
" It made my hair super soft. I love the gorgeous shimmer that it made my hair into. "
My salon isPanache
This product is best for:softening
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>