Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Clove Shampoo

Clove Shampoo

enriches brown hair
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(232 reviews) 222
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 232 Reviews
5 Stars
194
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
222 of 231(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Clove Shampoo
Review 1 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo AND awesome value!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By NarcissisticNefertiti
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Guyton, ga
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"I'm currently growing out my natural dark brown hair and this shampoo is perfect! I have some honey-blonde highlights, both naturally and from getting my hair highlighted a while back, and this shampoo helps to enhance both. The huge bottle lasts me about 3-4 months (although I DO switch between some other Aveda shampoos...Brilliant, Damage Remedy, and Color Conserve). The Clove shampoo smells like almonds with a hint of Aveda's signature woodsy yet feminine "pure-fume" scent. I'd recommend this to both women AND men (my husband has dark brown hair and he uses this too!) This really is an awesome value too!"
My salon isserenity day spa
This product is best for:shine, color enhancement, aroma
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something wonderful about that smell....

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By SuzMar
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York State
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"This remains my favorite product even after fourteen years as an Aveda devotee! The consistency, color, lather and oh that smell....just love it & there is nothing else that compares."
My salon isJLP/Aria
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Korey
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Arkansas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I bought this for my brown haired children to use and I have been very pleased with it! They are 5 and 6 and their hair looks great and smells amazing!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Cydaida
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:CA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
"I am 70 years old and get compliments on my beautiful shiny brunette hair continually. No one knows my secret! An occasional over the counter root touch up, but Aveda Clove Shampoo every time I wash my hair along with Aveda Clove Conditioner. I still wear my hair long down past my shoulders and I look great! Thanks Aveda!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By AmyfromOhio1234
"I love this shampoo. The smell, to me, is pure heaven. And I feel like it stays with me for the days. Love it!
I have thick, somewhat dry, color-treated hair. So it's not the most moisturizing. But I use it when I want a nice thorough clean, and follow with a rich conditioner -- usually dry remedy.
The shampoos (according to my Aveda stylist and based on experience) will not really ADD color to your hair. The corresponding conditioners, which I never really took to, DO. So if you're using this to enhance color, you need to really stick with the colors suitable to your hair. My hair is bronde, so this is a good match anyway, but thought that was worth a mention.
If you have red tones, the madder root smells phenomenal as well."
My salon isAffinity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive shampoo gift

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By mep1
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Sahuarita, AZ
Hair type medium
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My big sister visited me last year. She gave me a 1 litre bottle of Aveda Clove Shampoo...she said it's all she uses. I thanked her, and began using this shampoo immediately.
NOTE:
I usually purchase my shampoo at the grocery store...
always buying the "on sale" brands.
The very first thing I noticed was the increased shine in my hair. I am in my mid 50's and beginning to get gray hair. This product diminishes the gray, and gives me extraordinary shine. My hair looks very healthy.
I also noticed that a few small bumps on my scalp (probably due to inferior shampoo products being used on my hair) disappeared almost immediately. This shampoo not only made my hair "glow", but it also made my scalp healthier!
My gift bottle of shampoo lasted almost 6 months (I wash my hair daily) so when it finally ran out, I decided to purchase another bottle, even though the price is a lot more than I generally would spend.
I feel this shampoo is worth the extra expense, and I was able to get a free shipping code for my online purchase, and a free pump dispenser, too!
I'm delighted with this product, and would highly recommend this to my family and friends.
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo is the best for brunettes

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By BeatletteFrankie
Pure Privilege memberYes
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I have used the Clove shampoo and conditioner for years. It smells fabulous, but most importantly, it is ideal for brown tones. It always leaves my hair feeling full and luxurious and people often ask if my rich brunette hair is colored. I always tell them that it's the shampoo."
My salon isFandango
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By Itsjazzbaby85
I received a free trial of this product No
"It made my hair super soft. I love the gorgeous shimmer that it made my hair into."
My salon isPanache
This product is best for:softening
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smells good and leaves hair shiny

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
By ForestSus
I received a free trial of this product No
"I used this shampoo years ago when my hairstylist recommended it. But over the years lost touch with Aveda and then decided to try it once again. It is a wonderful shampoo that doesn't dry out your hair in order to make it shine and feel clean."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove shampoo

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
By Pephay1
I received a free trial of this product No
"Not only does this smell divine, but it makes my colored hair look so nice!!! I get so many compliments on how shiny and healthy my hair looks. I bought it to use on my brown, color treated hair, and have since started to switch to a red shade.....it still works great!!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grey hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By OceanFoam
"Helps you look younger without looking like you color your hair. Great fragrance. Use daily, with combination of clove conditioner, if you want to have darker hair. Use less often if you wish to have just slight darker tint."
This product is best for:preparing hair for color conditioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Customer avatar
By LGthompson
I received a free trial of this product No
"Absolutely love this product! Helps keep my color vibrant."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My Hair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
By musician
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Washington, DC suburbs
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used Aveda Clove Shampoo for a long time, and the result is always silkier, more manageable hair (fine and very straight). Also, although I generally wash my hair every day, it remains looking good even if I don't. Lately, in the interest of not creating a shampoo "build-up," I've begun alternating Aveda Clove with another shampoo, which I like, but which doesn't leave my hair feeling nearly so wonderful or behaving nearly so well. I'm always glad when it's time again for Aveda Clove."
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair, Normal hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavenly

PostedMay 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By Memepoe
"I am a devout Aveda user, new products come along but nothing beats the clove shampoo, it's perfect it smells like Aveda and keeps my curls shiny and healthy!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this shampoo

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
By Kathy928
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
Gender Female
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"this shampoo smell wonderful and it makes my hair look like it has highlights. I love this shampoo"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Moisturizes and cleans my hair.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
By BarbP
"Cleans and moisturizes my hair, making it silky soft and smooth. Also enhances my brown hair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By tanqclaude
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
"This shampoo is great. It cleans my hair well without stripping it of its natural oils. I am not sure if I notice any added color benefits, but I use it in conjunction with the conditioner and it definitely seems to help color last longer. I also think my scalp is in better condition, which is great because I have sensitive skin which is easily irritated."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
By ASand
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use this shampoo most days, smells great and my hair looks and feels great, really shiny!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almond smell; no longer Clove

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By Meee
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
Pure Privilege memberYes
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I've used this shampoo for decades. Unfortunately, the scent is now "almond." Please bring back the "clove" scent!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE Clove Shampoo!

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
By JanetB
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Arlington, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I absolutely love this shampoo - it smells AMAZING! I've been using it for a few years and it makes my hair look so beautiful. I do not color my hair at all. I have naturally mousy light/medium brown hair with developing grey stripes (which I also love!) I use this shampoo about 3 or 4 times a week (I use Shampure on the other days) and use Shampure conditioner 100% of the time. This shampoo really enriches my brown hair, without covering my awesome grey stripes. It has an abundant lather that envelopes me in its spicy scent and makes washing my hair feel very luxurious! I agree with some other reviewers that my hair can feel a little dry after rinsing the shampoo, but a little conditioner and a final rinse and my hair is left soft and silky. One note of caution - I have noticed if I use it every day, it starts to turn my grey a little yellow, which is why I switch out with the Shampure to clarify."
This product is best for:color enhancement
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>