Aveda Ratings and Reviews
Most Popular Products

Customer reviews Clove Shampoo

Clove Shampoo

enriches brown hair
Overall rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(274 reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 274 Reviews
5 Stars
229
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
263 of 272(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Clove Shampoo
Review 1 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

clove shampoo brought out the warm honey tones in my hair

PostedMay 1, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" The clove shampoo smells wonderful and feels rich as it goes to work on your hair. I let it sit a bit and not rinse right away to let the shampoo saturate all my hair strands. My hair is shoulder length and thick. It comes in a large size 33.8 fl. oz. and includes a pump to make it easy to dispense. I used the shampure conditioner with it. I loved the result of the two. My hair felt nice and clean, soft and smelled great! "
This product is best for:enhancing highlights and warm tones
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo AND awesome value!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Guyton, ga
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I'm currently growing out my natural dark brown hair and this shampoo is perfect! I have some honey-blonde highlights, both naturally and from getting my hair highlighted a while back, and this shampoo helps to enhance both. The huge bottle lasts me about 3-4 months (although I DO switch between some other Aveda shampoos...Brilliant, Damage Remedy, and Color Conserve). The Clove shampoo smells like almonds with a hint of Aveda's signature woodsy yet feminine "pure-fume" scent. I'd recommend this to both women AND men (my husband has dark brown hair and he uses this too!) This really is an awesome value too! "
My salon isserenity day spa
This product is best for:shine, color enhancement, aroma
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clove Shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:CA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" I am 70 years old and get compliments on my beautiful shiny brunette hair continually. No one knows my secret! An occasional over the counter root touch up, but Aveda Clove Shampoo every time I wash my hair along with Aveda Clove Conditioner. I still wear my hair long down past my shoulders and I look great! Thanks Aveda! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Something wonderful about that smell....

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New York State
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" This remains my favorite product even after fourteen years as an Aveda devotee! The consistency, color, lather and oh that smell....just love it & there is nothing else that compares. "
My salon isJLP/Aria
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Arkansas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" I bought this for my brown haired children to use and I have been very pleased with it! They are 5 and 6 and their hair looks great and smells amazing! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

expensive shampoo gift

PostedJune 21, 2009
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Sahuarita, AZ
Hair type medium
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" My big sister visited me last year. She gave me a 1 litre bottle of Aveda Clove Shampoo...she said it's all she uses. I thanked her, and began using this shampoo immediately.
NOTE:
I usually purchase my shampoo at the grocery store...
always buying the "on sale" brands.
The very first thing I noticed was the increased shine in my hair. I am in my mid 50's and beginning to get gray hair. This product diminishes the gray, and gives me extraordinary shine. My hair looks very healthy.
I also noticed that a few small bumps on my scalp (probably due to inferior shampoo products being used on my hair) disappeared almost immediately. This shampoo not only made my hair "glow", but it also made my scalp healthier!
My gift bottle of shampoo lasted almost 6 months (I wash my hair daily) so when it finally ran out, I decided to purchase another bottle, even though the price is a lot more than I generally would spend.
I feel this shampoo is worth the extra expense, and I was able to get a free shipping code for my online purchase, and a free pump dispenser, too!
I'm delighted with this product, and would highly recommend this to my family and friends.
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite by far for many years!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Alaska, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Perfect for my medium brown hair and highlights. Also,keeps the Grays at bay and smells delicious. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised!

PostedApril 5, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
From:Boston, MA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
" I was very surprised at how much I liked this shampoo (and conditioner). I recently went back to my "roots" and stopped highlighting my brown hair. Recently, I have noticed that a few weeks after coloring my hair that the rich brown I left the salon with turns somewhat bland and boring. Enter Aveda Clove shampoo and it's like I am leaving the salon every morning! I was afraid that the shampoo would make my brown hair turn red, but Clove doesn't do that, it gives my hair a nice little boost in color, I can't describe it, but I am left with a rich warm brown with no trace of redness. Perfection in my book! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for colored hair

PostedApril 16, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Hair concern protect color
I am an Aveda customer
" Love this shampoo. It has helped hold my color and keep my dark brown hair looking great. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo!

PostedApril 12, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Tulsa, Ok
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Paired with the conditioner this is perfect for brunettes trying to extend their time between color and highlights. I have fine, straight hair and this is perfect for me. "
My salon isMarilyn Ihlof's
This product is best for:colored hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for grey hair

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
" Helps you look younger without looking like you color your hair. Great fragrance. Use daily, with combination of clove conditioner, if you want to have darker hair. Use less often if you wish to have just slight darker tint. "
This product is best for:preparing hair for color conditioning
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this shampoo

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
" I love this shampoo. The smell, to me, is pure heaven. And I feel like it stays with me for the days. Love it!
I have thick, somewhat dry, color-treated hair. So it's not the most moisturizing. But I use it when I want a nice thorough clean, and follow with a rich conditioner -- usually dry remedy.
The shampoos (according to my Aveda stylist and based on experience) will not really ADD color to your hair. The corresponding conditioners, which I never really took to, DO. So if you're using this to enhance color, you need to really stick with the colors suitable to your hair. My hair is bronde, so this is a good match anyway, but thought that was worth a mention.
If you have red tones, the madder root smells phenomenal as well. "
My salon isAffinity
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shampoo

PostedMarch 29, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Albuquerque
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Leaves my hair feeling clean and smelling great...I will definitely be purchasing again! "
This product is best for:great everyday shampoo
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Clove shampoo

PostedFebruary 23, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" Good product, the smell is a bit strong but nice. My brown hair has been enhanced by the shampoo "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome scent

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Ventura
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Aveda has the best smelling shampoos,
They keep my hair clean and manageable.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells great, no residue

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Austin, TX, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. I had been using Brilliant, but it was leaving my hair with some residue, which weighed it down a bit. If you have really oily hair, you'll love Clove. Plus. THE SMELL IS AMAZING. "
My salon isAvant Salon and Spa
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:East Coast
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" Excellent shampoo for brunettes. It lathers very well (even with my hard water), smells amazing (spicy, yet clean and light), keeps my color bright, and adds shine and body to my thin, straight hair. I love it and am so glad I gave it try. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love My Hair!

PostedJanuary 18, 2011
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Washington, DC suburbs
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have used Aveda Clove Shampoo for a long time, and the result is always silkier, more manageable hair (fine and very straight). Also, although I generally wash my hair every day, it remains looking good even if I don't. Lately, in the interest of not creating a shampoo "build-up," I've begun alternating Aveda Clove with another shampoo, which I like, but which doesn't leave my hair feeling nearly so wonderful or behaving nearly so well. I'm always glad when it's time again for Aveda Clove. "
This product is best for:Dry hair, Straight hair, Normal hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luuuuuuv it

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I'm in love with the Clove shampoo and conditioner. I had blond hair and got it colored golden brown. The color has already faded but using Clove shampoo and conditioner brings it right back. It adds a richness to my color that I can definitely notice vs when I just use the color protect shampoo and conditioner. I'll use Clove as long as I have dark hair. Huge fan. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clove Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Avedas Clove Shampoo is exactly what I've been looking for in a shampoo. It smells great without being overpowering. The formula itself is lightweight and rinses totally clean- no gross leftover residue or buildup! It has also seemed to rebalance the oiliness of my roots. Before starting this shampoo, my roots were getting oily enough to justify washing every day. About a week after using this shampoo, oil is back under control and I'm now washing my hair every other day. That's great because it means styling holds better. It also means Im doing less damage to my hair, because I'm no longer blow drying every day! My natural brunette hair is also looking glossier. I definitely recommend Avedas Clove Shampoo! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>