Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Damage Control™

Brilliant™ Damage Control™

resists heat damage
Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(605 reviews) 574
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 605 Reviews
5 Stars
483
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
9
1 Star
8
581 of 602(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Damage Control™
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REALLY BRILLANT!!!! LOL

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Customer avatar
By WildIrishRose
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This stuff is amazing as is a lot of Aveda's products!!! Aveda's a little pricey but as another company's logo says, "I'm worth it!!!" Plus, the products are natural and have a really clean smell...love, love, love!!!
I tried to respond to another person's review but couldn't see a way to do it. To the reviewer named "Fitness," I was just wondering if you used too much product, seriously. In your review, you stated you regretfully got too much hair cut off. So, maybe, subconsciously you are using almost as much product as you would for the length you used to have?
I get my hair cut at an Aveda salon and a substitute hair stylist used too much of the Aveda "Be Curly Curl Enhancer" gel. My hair was stiff and felt like straw. If I hadn't used it before she put too much on my hair, I never would have used it again as it was horrible.
This product, just like a lot of the other Aveda products, a little goes a long way. Next time, if you didn't throw the bottle out, just use a tiny bit and see if that helps. You already bought it so why not try to see if you can use it? Good luck!
"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I could never live without this!

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
By happy2b
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I have very thick, curly, but course medium long hair. It has always been an issue when it comes to tangles and breakage. I tried everything under the sun to prevent tangling, breakage, split ends, frizz, you name it and I have tried it. Nothing ever really did what it claimed to do. I have an arsenal of products that I used. Yea, a product bomb basically, but no matter what I used in what combination and no matter how religious it was always the same end result.
About a month ago I changed salons and the first time my stylist used this, I was in love. It took 2 seconds to get a COMB...... NOT BRUSH..... through my hair without ripping strands, etc etc. It didn't leave it greasy and weighed down, smelled nice, not chemically and thick.
I am completely in love with this and I have vowed to use only Aveda from this point on.
THANK YOU AVEDA"
My salon isEuphoria Salon and Spa
This product is best for:breakage, tangles, revive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedJune 22, 2010
Customer avatar
By qqie
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Boulder, CO
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I only blow dry my hair, no flat iron or curling iron, but it's very fine and gets damaged easily. I've used other heat damage prevention products and leave-in conditioners, but they usually weigh my hair down or attract dirt. This stuff not only protects against damage by makes my hair shiny and healthy looking. It's pretty great. I have hair that isn't quite straight, isn't quite kinky and isn't quite curly. It's in between in diff parts, so blow drying is a must for me if I don't want a frizzy mess. As a bonus, my hair seems to hold the shape that i give it with a round brush when I blow dry. So it leaves it a bit straighter and smoother. It does have that signature aveda smell, so if you don't like it, it won't work for you. But I like that smell and really love this stuff."
This product is best for:Wavy hair, Long hair, Straight hair, Using on wet/damp hair, Dry hair, Fine hair, kinky
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not sure

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Customer avatar
By Taaaylor
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Vancouver, Wa
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I bought this thinking it would be used solely for prepping my hair for the flat iron--I havent noticed any dramatic result as far as protection goes-- But then again I have not used this too many times and have not tried spraying it into my damp hair..
Other than that this product seems to be a keeper. The smell is awesome and sticks to my hair all day. The directions say use the product to re-vamp a hair style-- I tried but then ended up throwing my hair in a ponytail anyways--
I like the idea that the product is protecting my hair from the sun during these hot summer days and the product never makes my hair feel tight, greasy, or anything like that--
i have yet to find an Aveda product that i can diss.... but i'll keep looking ;)"
This product is best for:Long hair, Straight hair, Short hair, Normal hair, Using on wet/damp hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Could not live without it!

PostedMarch 26, 2009
Customer avatar
By Thisbe
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
"My stylist recommended this product after seeing how thick my hair is. After I shower, I spray it liberally all over my hair. Even if I don't blow-dry it directly afterwards, it helps so much with breakage from combing and detangling. If you have hair past your shoulders, this is a MUST have. Of course, it's perfect for any hair style, but I haven't found anything else as effective. Other products that I've use came out feeling as if they'd build-up in my hair. This doesn't. It's so lightweight that you can't even tell it is there, yet it does its job. It has such a fresh, clean smell, too. Can use on dry hair to add some extra shine. Also, great before going out in the sun in the summer. :)"
This product is best for:Using on wet/damp hair, All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great to refreshen the hair and use as a setting spray

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
By Jbar4me
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"I have thick chin length African American hair. I use this product in between washings. It works great to freshen up my hair. I try not to use a lot of heat on my hair when I can. My hair is so thick I can spray the Damage Control on and then roll it in velcro rollers. I don't even need to blow dry. I just wear the velcro rollers for about 30 min while I get ready. It leaves my hair soft, bouncy, and shiny. I don't really use it when I blowdry my hair I prefer the Universal styling cream for that. If I wear to flat Iron my hair. I would lightly spray it with the damage control before hand. But so far the best use for me is to freshen up my hair and use as a setting spray for velcro rollers."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for Dry, Color-treated Hair

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By KateEV
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Frisco, TX, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I know my hair is damaged and that I need to protect it, but I worry about spray-in conditioners weighing my already thin hair down. Brilliant is the perfect solution. I have been using every day before I blow-dry my hair for over a year and I actually notice the difference. My hair is smoother and less frizzy; but the best part is that I cannot even feel the spray on my hair! I have shoulder-length hair and usually use five spritzes of Brilliant every morning. This seems to be the perfect amount to coat my hair with protection (both from the frizzies and from dulling my color) without being too heavy. I love this product and would recommend it to anyone with thin, color-treated hair!"
My salon isGreen Peridot, Frisco, TX
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Probably a good product, not for my hair

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
By kahaveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender Female
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I noticed my hair as I grew it out was getting a bit dry and damaged toward the ends. I began to use the Damage Remedy Intensive Treatment, which works really well! But I wanted a daily leave-in treatment also. I asked a sales person, and she recommended this. I tried it out, and didn't love the way my hair felt. It did detangle my hair nicely, but when I dried and straightened my hair, it felt a bit rough. I have now started using the Damage Remedy Daily Hair Repair leave-in, and that has been great! My hair is very smooth and moisturized. That one is a keeper. I'll give this to my niece who has curly hair and hates to deal with the tangles. I think it'll work well for her."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Detangles and More...

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By JesX
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Illinois, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
"First off, I love the scent of this product. Secondly, I like the results and the detangling benefits. I have medium-long, naturally curly hair that I wash at night and let air dry over night. I typically straighten my hair in the mornings because I've always disliked how my hair looks curly. Not anymore. I spray this on my wet hair at night and my curls look so much nicer in the morning. This product also makes it easier to comb/brush/pick my hair.
I do not get a build-up from this product -- at all. That's a rarity. Other products I've used at night make my hair gunky by morning. This is light and makes my hair look and feel great.
I also feel like this is a good value."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedJune 3, 2009
Customer avatar
By JennyLeigh
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Iowa
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I recently bought this product because I needed a detangler, I kept using too much conditioner trying to detangle my hair. This was a plus because its also a heat protector and I blow dry my hair often. When I started using the pure abundance shampoo I didnt really need the detangler as much as I thought but I still love this product for protecting my hair against the blow dryer and curling iron. It also smells really good and doesnt leave any build up in my hair. I have never been much of a fan of using hair product other than shampoo, conditioner and hairspray but all of the aveda products I have used have been amazing and have gone above and beyond what I expected."
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So many uses

PostedSeptember 18, 2008
Customer avatar
By Kimberlita
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:San Antonio, TX
Hair type fine
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Brilliant Damage Control has so many uses! I have thinning hair and my scalp is very sun-sensitive, so I've recently added this to my daily routine for UV protection. Because my hair is so fine, I can't use products that weigh it down. This is SO lightweight and also helps detangle my hair during the first comb-out after the shower! Sometimes I heat-style and straighten my hair, so Brilliant Damage Control helps prevent the frying that would come from that kind of styling. Sometimes I let my hair air dry, and I can enjoy the fragrance while that happens. The only reason I didn't rate this 4 stars is because my husband doesn't like the fragrance of this product."
This product is best for:Fine hair, Using on wet/damp hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
By moxieimage
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Phoenix, AZ
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I've been growing my hair long after being about ear-length for many years. As my hair gets longer, I heat style it more and get it cut less, and this has led to more breakage and damage than I'm used to. I use lots of other Aveda products and love them so I thought I would try this to see if it could at least minimize damage to my hair. After just a week of using it there is so much less hair left in my brush! I've also noticed more elasticity in my hair and that it doesn't get pulled out when I take out a ponytail holder. I'm so impressed by this product! For the price it is a miracle worker. I also really, really love the scent. Another win for Aveda!"
This product is best for:Straight hair, Hair that lacks moisture, Using on wet/damp hair, Dry hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for shine/softness

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Customer avatar
By slpmom
From:North Carolina
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have to say that I was pleased with this product, but was hoping for a bit more conditioning/softness on the ends of my hair. It really did a great job with softness and overall shine - both were noticeably improved vs. when I didn't use the product. But when it comes down to focusing on just my ends, I still felt they were BIT dry/rough. My hair is mid-back length, medium-fine, not color-treated or overly-damaged, but I do use heat on it every other day (blow dry and curling or straightening iron). I'd still recommend this product! Especially if you hair's ends aren't in need of extra help (you can always use another Aveda product for that)."
This product is best for:Normal hair, Using on wet/damp hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't imagine life without it

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Customer avatar
By neurolatina
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Boston, MA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"...Seriously. When I first started flat-ironing my hair years ago I thought that I was just going to have to give in to wavy, unruly hair because the damage it was suffering from the iron was unsustainable. Then I found damage control and everything changed. I spray a small amount of this into my air-dried hair before I flat-iron it. The difference it has made is unbelievable. My hair used to look like a flat-ironed beaver tail, but now it looks like Pocahontas'! I've since added more aveda products to my routine, such as smooth infusion, and they add to the improvement that I've seen."
This product is best for:Hair that lacks moisture, All hair types, Coarse hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stuff

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
By AmyfromOhio1234
"I have used this product for many years. It has a nice scent, as expected with Aveda, but it also works.
I spritz this on dry hair and brush through before using heat products (i.e., flat iron, curling iron) and it leaves my slightly frizzy, textured hair smooth and soft. I often skip hairspray as this tends to keep my style set for 2 -3 days. And it's light enough to brush through again and restyle if desired.
I've never had a problem with over-applying (like so many products that leave you wishing you could take some back :)) but a little does go along way. Not a lot is needed."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes hair shine

PostedJuly 25, 2009
Customer avatar
By gotoyourdestiny
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Durango, CO
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"My wonderful hairdresser at our local Aveda salon always made my hair so shiny and beautiful. I finally asked her what product she used just after towel drying my hair. It was Brilliant Damage Control. So, I bought some and quickly realized how wonderful this product is! I spray a small amount after I wash and towel dry my hair. Run a wide tooth comb through my hair and this product makes it so soft and keeps tangles away. I then use Phomolliant SP? and Smooth Infuser. My hair looks shiny, healthy and lays beautifully after blow drying and styling. HIGHLY recommend this product!"
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Damage Here

PostedAugust 30, 2008
Customer avatar
By Rilke
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:New Haven, CT
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I use this product along with Aveda's Smooth Infusion Shampoo & Conditioner and Style Prep Smoother. I have curly/wavy hair that I straighten with a flat iron.
Damage Control is the first thing I apply to my towel dried hair. It helps detangle it, smells great, and most importantly it provides the first layer of protection as I prep my hair for the flat iron.
Damage Control works well to prevent heat damage from hair dryers, flat irons, curling irons, etc. If you are using any sort of heat device on your hair--first use damage control to safe guard it."
This product is best for:All hair types
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great detangler and Static Fighter

PostedOctober 21, 2008
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Seattle, WA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I started using this product about 2 winters ago as a detangler because my long fine hair is almost impossible to comb out without some sort of help, but what I found was the first product that actually kept my hair from becoming a giant ball of static. Previous to that I carried around dryer sheets to combat the static in my hair along with spraying static guard on my brush before brushing my dry hair. Since using this product daily, I have not noticed any problems. It detangles and keeps my hair from looking like a science experiment. I'm hooked."
This product is best for:Fine hair, Hair that lacks moisture, Straight hair, Normal hair, Long hair, Using on wet/damp hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great de-tangler

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
By MountainJoyLife
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Marshall, VA
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I bought this product after looking all over the internet for a natural product to protect my hair from heat styling. I returned to the AVEDA website and am excited to return to products that not only smell wonderful, are natural, and environmentally conscious, but products that truly work. This product delivers... I have very fine hair that breaks easily. I have found that this product has a wonderful very light smell and adds no extra weight to my hair while it delivers what is says it will-- shine, detangling, and protection from heat styling."
This product is best for:All hair types, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Damage Control™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

#1 Detangler

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Customer avatar
By jenfree
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:San Diego, CA
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
"I was introduced to this product a couple of weeks ago when I was looking for strictly a detangling spray. Although this product is mainly for heat resistance, it works amazingly well as a detangler. So much so, that I myself do not need to use it as an everyday product for detangling purposes.
I noticed a difference in manageability after the first couple of uses and decided to try and comb through my wet hair without it and actually could! 5 star product in my book.
I also get many compliments on the scent!
Buy it, you won't be disappointed!
"
This product is best for:Wavy hair, Curly hair, Using on wet/damp hair, Thick hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>