Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Volumizing Tonic™

Volumizing Tonic™

adds volume at the roots
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(1031 reviews) 959
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,031 Reviews
5 Stars
831
4 Stars
142
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
11
1 Star
13
981 of 1,015(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Volumizing Tonic™
Review 1 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Number-One-Go-To-Can't-Do-Without Product!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Tamitoonz
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Spokane, WA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"People ask me all the time about my hair. I tell them that I go to an Aveda Salon, and that I use all Aveda Hair Products. This is the product I recommend above all for fullness that is soft, natural and lasts all day. I truly can't get ready without it. Easy to use and apply. It works especially well on my wild cowlicks, keeping them in line for the day! Love, love, love it."
My salon isMosaic South Hill, Spokane, WA
This product is best for:lasting fullness
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Volume where you need it

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By Karenlee
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Aveda Volumizing Tonic is fantastic for fine hair, it gives you weightless volume and you can easily spray the tonic right where you need it!"
My salon isAveda Institute
This product is best for:weightless volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft hair

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
By apipski20
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Sunderland, MA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
"I def don't need volume with naturally curly hair, but I use this product because it leave my hair feeling healthy and soft. Just spray on, so easy! Also, leave great shine!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle and Strong!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By RevDiana
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Dallas, Texas
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
User submitted photo
"Volumizing Tonic works well without making me feel like I've added two pounds of product to my hair and scalp -- which is especially important because I break out so easily."
This product is best for:volumizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the scent & the volume!!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By 2moms
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
Gender Female
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
User submitted photo
"I use only Aveda products and have for many years. Volumizing Tonic is my 'go to' product when I need a little more hold than Phomollient provides. I mix the two in my hand - Just a tiny amount of each & blow dry! My hair is extremely fine & thin but it looks much thicker when I use this product. I have a short pixie cut but need volume on top. This product is perfect & I love the scent!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its a good product

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By nicolealana222
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Palm Springs, CA, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Ive used this product 3x and to be honest my hair isnt that much more volumizing--yes there seems to be a slight difference but for the price of all 3 products--Im a little disappointed thank you for your time---oh and may I add I used all products per directions thank you nicole"
My salon isordered online from aveda
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crisp scent, great volume.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
By mag505D
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Northern, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I flip my head over and spritz this product onto my scalp while my hair is damp... use my fingers to really move the product around my roots... and I have noticeably thicker hair that's packed with volume. Even when I don't blow-dry... I pin back my bangs and pull my hair back into a french braid... my hair has noticeable stand-up power. It just looks healthy and young and vibrant. And the crisp scent is great. I love it.
For the price, this is a winner."
My salon isTulip Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
By Machelle
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Toledo, OH, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used this product for many years and have never found anything else that comes close! If you have fine hair this tonic gives you bouce and body all day long. I would be lost without it !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love The Volume

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
By nbongo
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
From:Mill Valley
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"This product is excellent for fine hair. It provides volume without being sticky, and of course the smell is fantastic!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lift, shine and love the smell.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By Lolaa
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Love the Volumizing Tonic. At first I was hesitant to try at first because most products weigh my fine hair down, so I only purchased the travel size. I loved it! I began using the product everyday, and purchased the full size. The tonic adds lift and volume to my roots, without weighing my hair down. It also has the benefit of the AVEDA scent and adds shine! Became part of my regular beauty routine and is a must for voluminous hair!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best volumizer I've tried

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
By Suzanne79
From:Boston, MA, USA
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
"It would be impossible for me to count the number and types of volumizers I've tried over the years. I have very fine, very straight hair, and the Volumizing Tonic adds great body without weighing my hair down. I've also tried the Phomolient by Aveda, but found that it left a sticky residue that made my hair look oily. I highly recommend the Tonic to people who want to add weightless, clean-feeling volume."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does as promised

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
By ErinCC
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Dallas, GA, USA
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This tonic is great! I have thick, heavy, naturally curly hair down to my mid-back and I usually straighten it because my natural curls make is so heavy that it lacks volume at the roots. I think the weight makes my hair look lifeless and dirty. Since I've used this volumizing spray I have worn my hair natural way more often! It's unbelievable the amount of plumping this stuff did at my roots! I am truelly amazed and therefore addicted to this product."
My salon isTrue Salon, West Cobb, Ga
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST FOR EVERY WOMAN WITH HAIR!

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer avatar
By kidd
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Centerville, OH
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am a stylist
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"As a hair stylist, this is a product that I refuse to style without. I cannot think of one guest that sits down in my chair that doesnt wish they had a little more lift to the top of their head. I always spray on the volumizing tonic first, before I apply any other product. I take sections about one inch apart from each other all throughout the crown. Blow dry with your head flipped over (upside down) to ensure maximum lift. This product is HEAT ACTIVATED, so blow drying is a must. Volumizing tonic is also a wonderful product to use on dry hair for a different "textured" look. Try spritzing 4 or 5 sprays of tonic at the roots of dry hair, and then blow drying the hair again in all different directions, upside down again. You may have to tame your hair down afterwards, but its awesome!! :]"
My salon isSquare One Salon and Spa
This product is best for:Long hair, Short hair, Normal hair, Using on wet/damp hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this product!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
By JAM123
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Green Valley, AZ, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"The greatest product ever made - I use it everytime. It makes styling my hair so very easy and gives me just the right amount of volume - a must have!"
This product is best for:volumizing style
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
By Eryin
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
"I'm a BIG fan of this product! All it takes is a little spay at my roots and after I blow dry my hair (which is shoulder length) my hair has volume that last all day! :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weightless volume and shine

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
By lovebird11
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Portland, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I have really long, thick, straight hair that has been laying more flat since it's been growing. I have layers to help give body to my hair but it still doesn't seem to be enough. I started using this and I was so impressed with the weightless volume and shine that it added to my hair. It smells amazing too! I would highly recommend this for anyone who needs some extra volume in their hair."
My salon isGiGi Salon & Spa West Linn
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fabulous for fine hair

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By gypsydaydream
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This stuff is great for my fine hair. I don't use any other styling products (other than shampoo and conditioner, also Aveda) because I don't like how they feel on my hair. But this tonic feels natural and gives my very fine, long hair a nice natural lift of volume. While my hair is still damp, I bend over and let my hair fall forward, spray a little at the roots and go from there. It might not work on thicker, heavier hair, but works nicely on mine which is super fine and board straight! It also smells wonderful."
This product is best for:natural volume, very light hold
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great volume without stickiness or weight

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
By AnnaT
From:Denver, CO, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Love this product. Spray on your roots and dry your hair upside down. Adds great volume that lasts long without stickiness or weight. I use rollers after for a great, soft look."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shine and Volume

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By SandyG2005
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Lugoff, SC 29078, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I love love love this product, I am an avid Aveda user, this product give my hair just the right amount of shine and volume, I'm not much of a fusser with my hair but it does need alittle help being that it is very fine and thin, this gives me just what I need and with alittle Brilliant hair spray, bam I'm done all day. Love the smell and shine I get from it. I've strayed a few times and I have always come back to my Aveda products never again will I stray, I promise. And my hair thanks me!!!"
My salon isWesteria Salon in NE Columbia, SC
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the LIft

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
By Special88
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Hampshire, IL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love the weightless lift this gives my hair. I started using it on a vacation and I got hooked, my hair looked soft and neat. I also use it on my daughters hair, her hair is straight and limp, it gave her hair a natural subtle lift with out looking like it was done."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 next>>