Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Volumizing Tonic™

Volumizing Tonic™

adds volume at the roots
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(982 reviews) 910
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 982 Reviews
5 Stars
786
4 Stars
139
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
11
1 Star
12
936 of 969(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Volumizing Tonic™
Review 1 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Number-One-Go-To-Can't-Do-Without Product!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Tamitoonz
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Spokane, WA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"People ask me all the time about my hair. I tell them that I go to an Aveda Salon, and that I use all Aveda Hair Products. This is the product I recommend above all for fullness that is soft, natural and lasts all day. I truly can't get ready without it. Easy to use and apply. It works especially well on my wild cowlicks, keeping them in line for the day! Love, love, love it."
My salon isMosaic South Hill, Spokane, WA
This product is best for:lasting fullness
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Volume where you need it

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By Karenlee
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Minneapolis, MN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Aveda Volumizing Tonic is fantastic for fine hair, it gives you weightless volume and you can easily spray the tonic right where you need it!"
My salon isAveda Institute
This product is best for:weightless volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gentle and Strong!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By RevDiana
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Dallas, Texas
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
User submitted photo
"Volumizing Tonic works well without making me feel like I've added two pounds of product to my hair and scalp -- which is especially important because I break out so easily."
This product is best for:volumizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its a good product

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By nicolealana222
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Palm Springs, CA, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Ive used this product 3x and to be honest my hair isnt that much more volumizing--yes there seems to be a slight difference but for the price of all 3 products--Im a little disappointed thank you for your time---oh and may I add I used all products per directions thank you nicole"
My salon isordered online from aveda
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
By Machelle
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Toledo, OH, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used this product for many years and have never found anything else that comes close! If you have fine hair this tonic gives you bouce and body all day long. I would be lost without it !"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crisp scent, great volume.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
By mag505D
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Northern, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I flip my head over and spritz this product onto my scalp while my hair is damp... use my fingers to really move the product around my roots... and I have noticeably thicker hair that's packed with volume. Even when I don't blow-dry... I pin back my bangs and pull my hair back into a french braid... my hair has noticeable stand-up power. It just looks healthy and young and vibrant. And the crisp scent is great. I love it.
For the price, this is a winner."
My salon isTulip Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lift, shine and love the smell.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By Lolaa
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Love the Volumizing Tonic. At first I was hesitant to try at first because most products weigh my fine hair down, so I only purchased the travel size. I loved it! I began using the product everyday, and purchased the full size. The tonic adds lift and volume to my roots, without weighing my hair down. It also has the benefit of the AVEDA scent and adds shine! Became part of my regular beauty routine and is a must for voluminous hair!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love The Volume

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
By nbongo
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
From:Mill Valley
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"This product is excellent for fine hair. It provides volume without being sticky, and of course the smell is fantastic!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does as promised

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Customer avatar
By ErinCC
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Dallas, GA, USA
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This tonic is great! I have thick, heavy, naturally curly hair down to my mid-back and I usually straighten it because my natural curls make is so heavy that it lacks volume at the roots. I think the weight makes my hair look lifeless and dirty. Since I've used this volumizing spray I have worn my hair natural way more often! It's unbelievable the amount of plumping this stuff did at my roots! I am truelly amazed and therefore addicted to this product."
My salon isTrue Salon, West Cobb, Ga
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best volumizer I've tried

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
By Suzanne79
From:Boston, MA, USA
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
"It would be impossible for me to count the number and types of volumizers I've tried over the years. I have very fine, very straight hair, and the Volumizing Tonic adds great body without weighing my hair down. I've also tried the Phomolient by Aveda, but found that it left a sticky residue that made my hair look oily. I highly recommend the Tonic to people who want to add weightless, clean-feeling volume."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

least offensive hair product EVER!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
By mlyee
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
Pure Privilege member Yes
"Great product! Aveda has always been a favorite brand. This tonic is amazing! it does NOT hurt my sensitive scalp, nor does it weigh anything down. It does exactly what it was formulated to do.. only with nicer ingredients than others you find in salons (non-aveda). Highly recommend. =)"
My salon isGinger Bay Salon & Spa
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Va va va volume

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
By Mercedesgirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Brentwood, TN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I keep a spare of this on hand at all times. Best product yet!!! Easy to use, not sticky or filmy and does what it says. Not that I would expect any less from an Aveda product:)"
My salon isOrigina Salon in Cool Springs, TN
This product is best for:volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great volume

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
By LynneNY
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Saratoga, NY, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This tonic is great for adding volume to my fine hair without weighing it down."
My salon isClassical Concepts, Saratoga Springs, NY
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The volume and shine I need!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
By NDD5531
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
From:Edina, MN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I always use Aveda volumizing tonic for styling my hair. I have fine thinning hair, and this product gives it a nice texture with extra lift, body and shine. I totally recommend this if you want extra volume!"
My salon isJuut Southdale
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Add volume, freshness and a great fragrance in one easy spray

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By AvedaLoyalist
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Foxfield, CO 80016, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I love this product, I use it often when I need a pick me up or just a little pop up volume. My hair style is low maintenance in that I just want to wash and add a little product for some lift so this works great. It also is nice when I don't have time to wash my hair and need a little freshness and volume. Really a time saver and worth every penny!"
My salon isCenter Salon
This product is best for:volumizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best there is!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By MelCam
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:St. Louis, MO, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I am a devoted Aveda customer, and I have been using this product for over 10 years! The Volumizing Tonic is a great spray to help boost volume on my fine hair without making my head look greasy or like I dumped too much product onto it. I take it with me each time I travel, but most often top up my 40ml travel size bottle to keep the TSA guys happy. :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best out of ALL

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
By ilola8
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Kissimmee, FL, USA
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I was trying on so many shampoo's and so many conditioner's, oils, creams, you name it. I wanted to volumize my hair and It just wouldn't work with other products. But I used it and it actually works, my hair has more volume than before and it took away the dryness in my hair. I am planning on buying a year supply soon. I'm EXTREMELY SATISFY with this product. "5 stars""
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By Nevergoingback
From:Philadelphia, PA
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Another amazing Aveda find! Volumizing tonic smells divine and really gets the job done! My hair is on the thin side so flatness is a daily battle but this product really nips it in the bud! Love at first spritz!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
By Minn48
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Minnesota
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"For thinning and fine hair, Volumizing Tonic definitely added more volume and manageability to my hair. When applying Volumizing Tonic followed by a blow dry, my hair had increased volume and the style lasted longer. It did not weigh my hair down. A small amount is all that is needed for great results. It has a very pleasant aroma. I would definitely recommend this product. A little pricely, but the results are worth the cost."
My salon isJuut Saloon
This product is best for:volume, manageability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Volumizing Tonic™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Root Booster!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By Kristin1210
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Milwaukee, WI
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have such flat, baby fine hair. This product gives me just the right amout of lift that I want and need at my roots! Just a few spray on my damp hair and I blowdry, and POOF I have volumized roots! Love this product and the smell is amazing!"
This product is best for:volume
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 next>>