Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo

Blue Malva Shampoo

enhances blonde or grey hair
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(492 reviews) 478
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 492 Reviews
5 Stars
429
4 Stars
40
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
468 of 483(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo
Review 1 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
By Konni
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Hilton Head Island
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"I have used this product and conditioner on my hair for over 10 years.
I have gone from fully bleached to the now highly highlighted hair -- and still is great.
My hairdresser says only use a blue shampoo on my highly bleached hair to keep from getting that cheap, brassy look -- and it works!
"
My salon isSalon Artistry
This product is best for:holds the color
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By Mibs
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:NJ
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Ever since I stopped coloring my hair to let the gray/white grow out I've been using Blue Malva. I LOVE it! It brightens it up without adding a blue tinge that other products I tested ended up leaving behind. I use the ShamPure Conditioner to follow it up. Fresh, clean and bright. The compliments I get are due to this shampoo I believe."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for me :(

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By DestinyJean
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Billings, MT, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"First off I love many products Aveda sells, however this was not right for me. I am a natural level 6, and I tend to add a very heavy highlighted weave. Many blue or purple shampoos by other brands help keep me from looking brassy and dare I say cheap. Blue Malve on the other hand makes my hair much, much more brassy. I almost look like I have no highlights or that my hair is just colored golden six, and with my skin tone, I look like death. I wonder if the stylists suggestion was wrong, possibly I needed the chamomile shampoo?! Unfortunately, the Salon did not take a return so far so I was out $80. :( I will retreat back to my favorite products that Aveda sells, but I still have to purchase a purple shampoo from a competitor.. darn it!"
My salon isSanctuary Salon Billings MT
This product is best for:gray or white hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bold & "Blue-tiful"

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By SheeerHeaven
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Mentor, MN 56736, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"The scent has a way of carrying away any negative energy and instead, replaces it with a feeling of well-being. As I live on a farm with well water (enriched with colorful nutrients of its own,) masking or covering the rich 'color orange' deposit is necessary. Thank you AVEDA for brilliant hair products with the right 'color' proportions!"
My salon ismy favorite 'bathroom' in the old farmhouse.
This product is best for:~enhancing~
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for both grey AND blond hair

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By KansasKate
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Kansas
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"My husband has "salt & pepper" hair and, frankly, he probably doesn't care about the tone of his grey but he does like this shampoo.
With age, my hair darkened and I went from "towhead" to "dishwater" blonde, so I get highlights. I use Blue Malva to keep my highlights from turning brassy. Plus, it smells wonderful.
And it's nice that one shampoo works for the both of us. We also like that it comes in a liter bottle w/ pump."
My salon isCourtland Aveda Salon & Spa -and- Xiphium Salon
This product is best for:highlights, blonde, grey
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Believe it or not, well worth the price

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
By JZerby
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have naturally dark hair, but I color and highlight my hair blonde. I have become brassy over the past few months. Since I am picky about keeping the blonde fresh looking, this leads me to get my hair done more often. After using this product for a few months, I am able to space my appointments further apart. Instead of touching up every 4-5 weeks, I can easily wait 6 weeks. That is a big difference!! This product really does liven up the blonde that may become brassy. I really do recommend this product and assure you that this is a solid price and the shipping is quick. *Disclaimer: this product does not have the awesome Aveda salon fresh smell I had hoped for, the smell is very subtle. But since it works so well, what can I complain about? Buy it, you won't be sorry."
My salon isVan Davis Aveda Salon of Winston Salem, NC
This product is best for:blonde color protection
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Malva Magic

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
By MariaD
From:Maryland, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern more shine
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love this shampoo...it makes my hair look like spun silver!"
This product is best for:pronounce silver hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality is excellent, quantity is excessive

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
By MichiganMom
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
"This shampoo is one of my favorites. When I'm using it I often get compliments on the silver "highlights" in my hair. But I'm out of it right now and not sure I'll purchase again in this huge size. It seems strange that a shampoo recommended to be used only a few times a week should not be available in a smaller size. It took me a few years (!) to use up my previous bottle, and I did feel that the quality had altered by that time. If I could buy it in a more reasonable quantity, I would give it 5 stars."
This product is best for:highlighting gray & partially gray hair, gentle cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Morita
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:San Juan, Puerto Rico
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have been using this product for the past 2 years and I am very satisfied with the product. My hair is white and the product gives a shine result and every body ask me what do I use."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it for silver hair!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By swordqueen
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Michigan
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I was a long-time Aveda user but after I decided to stop coloring my hair at age 53 I went to another brand. Over time my hair became frizzy and dull. I thought that was just the way it was with gray hair but my stylist suggested product to enhance the silver.
So, back to Aveda - I purchased both the Blue Malva shampoo and conditioner and in just two weeks of use the difference is really amazing. My hair is full, smooth and shiny with silver highlights. I'm so glad I switched back!
"
This product is best for:gray hair dull/frizzy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hooked!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By newavedagirl
"see my review under the blue malva conditioner!! i am hooked on both the shampoo and conditioner! will never use the other cheaper "like aveda" products again! this line is worth every penny. my subtle ombre highlights have maintained their color and have even gotten better. my hair is more manageable and easy to style. a little goes a long way too--and leaves my hair feeling very clean--not heavy at all! love it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Minimizes brassy undertones

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
By BriannaL
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I went brunette in the Fall and now that I am lightening my hair for a spring change, the violet/red undertones look orange as the toner fades over the weeks from my appointment. This product definitely helps prevent the copper/brass from showing up and allows me to extend the life of my most recent coloring. I have also used this product as a blonde to prevent highlights from doing the same thing."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for blonde hair!

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
By Lladro
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Italy
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used blue malva shampoo off and on for many years. It is a great product for blonde hair. I have fine hair and product plus quality of water determines my results."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everyday shampoo

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
By ABessieG
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:North Carolina, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"My whole family has been using blue malva for years. It keeps my blonde highlights from turning brassy."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

makes going gray fun

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By rosebudscott
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Wisconsin, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I noticed that my gray hair looked like I was trying out to be the straw man -- it just kind of 'boingged' off of my head and was a dirty, straw-like mess. I began using Blue Malva shampoo and conditioner and I now have lovely soft, fluffy hair that shines like a freshly polished silver platter. I get lots of compliments and love turning gray."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blonde me.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By woodengal
From:Johns Creek, GA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This shampoo is no joke. I can stretch out my highlighting just by using this! After using it I often get asked if I just had my hair done and to me that's some good stuff. I have very long hair with platinum as well as reds and browns through out and it always brightens and keeps my blonde true. Cannot live without it! Not that he'll admit it but my husband has also started stealing it in the shower since becoming grey and it really brings out his silver fox side :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo I have used.

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By Bobbi35
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:New Bern, NC 28562, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Started using Blue Mauve shampoo 20+ years ago at the suggestion of my colorist in Los Angeles, Ca. I was a bottle blonde at the time. When a moved to a very rural area back east, he gave me a large bottle as a going away gift. I bought another bottle from him on a visit out west several years ago although it was for the gray I was beginning to show."
My salon isunfortunately there is not an aveda salon within 50 miles of me. David Dru was my California salon.
This product is best for:maintains cool color
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By BeausTiki
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have tried many "blue" shampoo lines but by far the Blue Malva line is the best. I use this once a week to keep my very highlighted hair looking great. It really makes it shiny and there are no brassy tones. My hair is not dry and it smells amazing. I highly recommend this product along with the conditioner."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only Shampoo

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
By pcgolf
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I've been using Blue Malva shampoo for over ten years. I continue to receive complements on my gray hair. I attribute those compliments to this shampoo. There is never any blue or purple residue left on my hair. As my gray hair has turned more white, the shampoo has made the color more beautiful. I would not use any other shampoo."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New product for me

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By Marsy
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern thinning hair
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This product is for my post chemotherapy gray hair that is no longer wavy. The shampoo has made my hair managagble and very shiny. It has not helped with the texture but I have only used it for a short time. I discovered also not to use but a tiny bit of your conditioner to keep my hair easy to manage. Any more and it is stiff. All in all, I like this shampoo so far."
My salon isConnie's Coiffures in Marion, Ohio
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>