Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo

Blue Malva Shampoo

enhances blonde or grey hair
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(526 reviews) 512
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 526 Reviews
5 Stars
460
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
9
1 Star
9
499 of 515(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo
Review 1 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps Platinum Blonde Hair Looking Platinum!

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
(click to see the video)
" How do I keep my platinum blonde hair looking platinum? Aveda Blue Malva shampoo! This is a once a week ritual I LOVE! This shampoo keeps my hair shiny, healthy, and a vibrant color. Plus, it smells fantastic! And in the liter size, it's smart for the environment. 5 out of 5! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Hilton Head Island
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I have used this product and conditioner on my hair for over 10 years.
I have gone from fully bleached to the now highly highlighted hair -- and still is great.
My hairdresser says only use a blue shampoo on my highly bleached hair to keep from getting that cheap, brassy look -- and it works!
"
My salon isSalon Artistry
This product is best for:holds the color
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:NJ
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" Ever since I stopped coloring my hair to let the gray/white grow out I've been using Blue Malva. I LOVE it! It brightens it up without adding a blue tinge that other products I tested ended up leaving behind. I use the ShamPure Conditioner to follow it up. Fresh, clean and bright. The compliments I get are due to this shampoo I believe. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yes!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:portland OR
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" This shampoo/conditioner is just what I've been looking for, for my grey blonde hair. I used to add purple dye to my conditioner (I went through a pastel stage) but after eliminating the color, my personal purple shampoo was too strong. Blue malva is great! I wish I'd gotten it sooner, my hair had gotten a little brassy since my last appointment. I've been letting the shampoo (and conditioner) sit on my hair for a few extra minutes while showering and it's really helped correct some of that brassiness. I'd imagine that if you use this right after you've gotten your hair done, you'd be golden. And by golden of course I mean cool and silvery blonde. My friend with platinum hair recommended it to me, and I'm so glad she did. Now I know the secret to her constantly well toned hair. It smells great too and the pump makes things easier. I'm attaching a photo of my hair after using a few times (with conditioner). My hair is a little dry but I suppose that comes with the territory when you aren't born blonde. :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for both grey AND blond hair

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Kansas
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" My husband has "salt & pepper" hair and, frankly, he probably doesn't care about the tone of his grey but he does like this shampoo.
With age, my hair darkened and I went from "towhead" to "dishwater" blonde, so I get highlights. I use Blue Malva to keep my highlights from turning brassy. Plus, it smells wonderful.
And it's nice that one shampoo works for the both of us. We also like that it comes in a liter bottle w/ pump. "
My salon isCourtland Aveda Salon & Spa -and- Xiphium Salon
This product is best for:highlights, blonde, grey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bold & "Blue-tiful"

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Mentor, MN 56736, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" The scent has a way of carrying away any negative energy and instead, replaces it with a feeling of well-being. As I live on a farm with well water (enriched with colorful nutrients of its own,) masking or covering the rich 'color orange' deposit is necessary. Thank you AVEDA for brilliant hair products with the right 'color' proportions! "
My salon ismy favorite 'bathroom' in the old farmhouse.
This product is best for:~enhancing~
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for me :(

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Billings, MT, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" First off I love many products Aveda sells, however this was not right for me. I am a natural level 6, and I tend to add a very heavy highlighted weave. Many blue or purple shampoos by other brands help keep me from looking brassy and dare I say cheap. Blue Malve on the other hand makes my hair much, much more brassy. I almost look like I have no highlights or that my hair is just colored golden six, and with my skin tone, I look like death. I wonder if the stylists suggestion was wrong, possibly I needed the chamomile shampoo?! Unfortunately, the Salon did not take a return so far so I was out $80. :( I will retreat back to my favorite products that Aveda sells, but I still have to purchase a purple shampoo from a competitor.. darn it! "
My salon isSanctuary Salon Billings MT
This product is best for:gray or white hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Malva Shampoo

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Olympia, WA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have used this shampoo for years. I alternate with my regular shampoo. Blue Malvo tends to calm down the starkness of very light gray hair and tones the yellow. It gives definition to hair so it doesn't have that smooth hair sprayed look. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brightening Shampoo

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Greensboro, NC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" For those of you who now have white, gray or even salt and pepper
colored hair, it would be a good thing to look into purchasing Blue Malva Shampoo. This shampoo is especially important as it takes those ugly yellow streaks from the hair and leaves it shinning and bright. An added benefit is that the shampoo always gives the hair a smooth texture and gets it ready for your styling convenience. You will wonder how you did without this product once you try it.
"
This product is best for:brightening
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Believe it or not, well worth the price

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have naturally dark hair, but I color and highlight my hair blonde. I have become brassy over the past few months. Since I am picky about keeping the blonde fresh looking, this leads me to get my hair done more often. After using this product for a few months, I am able to space my appointments further apart. Instead of touching up every 4-5 weeks, I can easily wait 6 weeks. That is a big difference!! This product really does liven up the blonde that may become brassy. I really do recommend this product and assure you that this is a solid price and the shipping is quick. *Disclaimer: this product does not have the awesome Aveda salon fresh smell I had hoped for, the smell is very subtle. But since it works so well, what can I complain about? Buy it, you won't be sorry. "
My salon isVan Davis Aveda Salon of Winston Salem, NC
This product is best for:blonde color protection
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality is excellent, quantity is excessive

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
" This shampoo is one of my favorites. When I'm using it I often get compliments on the silver "highlights" in my hair. But I'm out of it right now and not sure I'll purchase again in this huge size. It seems strange that a shampoo recommended to be used only a few times a week should not be available in a smaller size. It took me a few years (!) to use up my previous bottle, and I did feel that the quality had altered by that time. If I could buy it in a more reasonable quantity, I would give it 5 stars. "
This product is best for:highlighting gray & partially gray hair, gentle cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:San Juan, Puerto Rico
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have been using this product for the past 2 years and I am very satisfied with the product. My hair is white and the product gives a shine result and every body ask me what do I use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hooked!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
" see my review under the blue malva conditioner!! i am hooked on both the shampoo and conditioner! will never use the other cheaper "like aveda" products again! this line is worth every penny. my subtle ombre highlights have maintained their color and have even gotten better. my hair is more manageable and easy to style. a little goes a long way too--and leaves my hair feeling very clean--not heavy at all! love it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dried out my hair

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
" I was looking forward to trying this product, but it was a big disappointment. After a couple months, I noticed my hair became drier and more brittle. I used this with the conditioner so was surprised by this result. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it for silver hair!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Michigan
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I was a long-time Aveda user but after I decided to stop coloring my hair at age 53 I went to another brand. Over time my hair became frizzy and dull. I thought that was just the way it was with gray hair but my stylist suggested product to enhance the silver.
So, back to Aveda - I purchased both the Blue Malva shampoo and conditioner and in just two weeks of use the difference is really amazing. My hair is full, smooth and shiny with silver highlights. I'm so glad I switched back!
"
This product is best for:gray hair dull/frizzy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ruined my highlight and dried up my hair

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" It ruined my highlight Abd made my hair even drier. I have freezy hair. My highlight looked even more brassier darker gold antique tone. Next time, I will let professional fix it. No point of doing a short cut and easy quick fix. It cost me $15 for shipping to return back. The bottle is huge, I don't see why it needed so huge. It will take me 10 years to finish it . "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Malva Magic

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
From:Maryland, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern more shine
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love this shampoo...it makes my hair look like spun silver! "
This product is best for:pronounce silver hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Product

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
From:Tampa, FL, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have tried many "blue" shampoo lines but by far the Blue Malva line is the best. I use this once a week to keep my very highlighted hair looking great. It really makes it shiny and there are no brassy tones. My hair is not dry and it smells amazing. I highly recommend this product along with the conditioner. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Drying to hair does reduces brassiness

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
" Love Aveda but this shampoo was ver drying on my hair. My husband had the same experience. I bought the moisture replacement rinse hoping to recover luster "
My salon isDillards
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love the products

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:West Mifflin, PA, USA
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" the shampoo is great but to runny. the purple color is fine and washes good. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>