Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo

Blue Malva Shampoo

enhances blonde or grey hair
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(509 reviews) 495
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 509 Reviews
5 Stars
445
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
483 of 498(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Blue Malva Shampoo
Review 1 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps Platinum Blonde Hair Looking Platinum!

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Customer avatar
By Lorean
I received a free trial of this product No
(click to see the video)
" How do I keep my platinum blonde hair looking platinum? Aveda Blue Malva shampoo! This is a once a week ritual I LOVE! This shampoo keeps my hair shiny, healthy, and a vibrant color. Plus, it smells fantastic! And in the liter size, it's smart for the environment. 5 out of 5! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedMay 5, 2013
Customer avatar
By Konni
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Hilton Head Island
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" I have used this product and conditioner on my hair for over 10 years.
I have gone from fully bleached to the now highly highlighted hair -- and still is great.
My hairdresser says only use a blue shampoo on my highly bleached hair to keep from getting that cheap, brassy look -- and it works!
"
My salon isSalon Artistry
This product is best for:holds the color
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for both grey AND blond hair

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By KansasKate
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Kansas
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" My husband has "salt & pepper" hair and, frankly, he probably doesn't care about the tone of his grey but he does like this shampoo.
With age, my hair darkened and I went from "towhead" to "dishwater" blonde, so I get highlights. I use Blue Malva to keep my highlights from turning brassy. Plus, it smells wonderful.
And it's nice that one shampoo works for the both of us. We also like that it comes in a liter bottle w/ pump. "
My salon isCourtland Aveda Salon & Spa -and- Xiphium Salon
This product is best for:highlights, blonde, grey
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

yes!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Customer avatar
By mynameisfrench
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:portland OR
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
" This shampoo/conditioner is just what I've been looking for, for my grey blonde hair. I used to add purple dye to my conditioner (I went through a pastel stage) but after eliminating the color, my personal purple shampoo was too strong. Blue malva is great! I wish I'd gotten it sooner, my hair had gotten a little brassy since my last appointment. I've been letting the shampoo (and conditioner) sit on my hair for a few extra minutes while showering and it's really helped correct some of that brassiness. I'd imagine that if you use this right after you've gotten your hair done, you'd be golden. And by golden of course I mean cool and silvery blonde. My friend with platinum hair recommended it to me, and I'm so glad she did. Now I know the secret to her constantly well toned hair. It smells great too and the pump makes things easier. I'm attaching a photo of my hair after using a few times (with conditioner). My hair is a little dry but I suppose that comes with the territory when you aren't born blonde. :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Notch

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By Mibs
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:NJ
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" Ever since I stopped coloring my hair to let the gray/white grow out I've been using Blue Malva. I LOVE it! It brightens it up without adding a blue tinge that other products I tested ended up leaving behind. I use the ShamPure Conditioner to follow it up. Fresh, clean and bright. The compliments I get are due to this shampoo I believe. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not for me :(

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By DestinyJean
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Billings, MT, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" First off I love many products Aveda sells, however this was not right for me. I am a natural level 6, and I tend to add a very heavy highlighted weave. Many blue or purple shampoos by other brands help keep me from looking brassy and dare I say cheap. Blue Malve on the other hand makes my hair much, much more brassy. I almost look like I have no highlights or that my hair is just colored golden six, and with my skin tone, I look like death. I wonder if the stylists suggestion was wrong, possibly I needed the chamomile shampoo?! Unfortunately, the Salon did not take a return so far so I was out $80. :( I will retreat back to my favorite products that Aveda sells, but I still have to purchase a purple shampoo from a competitor.. darn it! "
My salon isSanctuary Salon Billings MT
This product is best for:gray or white hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bold & "Blue-tiful"

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By SheeerHeaven
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Mentor, MN 56736, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
" The scent has a way of carrying away any negative energy and instead, replaces it with a feeling of well-being. As I live on a farm with well water (enriched with colorful nutrients of its own,) masking or covering the rich 'color orange' deposit is necessary. Thank you AVEDA for brilliant hair products with the right 'color' proportions! "
My salon ismy favorite 'bathroom' in the old farmhouse.
This product is best for:~enhancing~
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Believe it or not, well worth the price

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
By JZerby
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have naturally dark hair, but I color and highlight my hair blonde. I have become brassy over the past few months. Since I am picky about keeping the blonde fresh looking, this leads me to get my hair done more often. After using this product for a few months, I am able to space my appointments further apart. Instead of touching up every 4-5 weeks, I can easily wait 6 weeks. That is a big difference!! This product really does liven up the blonde that may become brassy. I really do recommend this product and assure you that this is a solid price and the shipping is quick. *Disclaimer: this product does not have the awesome Aveda salon fresh smell I had hoped for, the smell is very subtle. But since it works so well, what can I complain about? Buy it, you won't be sorry. "
My salon isVan Davis Aveda Salon of Winston Salem, NC
This product is best for:blonde color protection
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality is excellent, quantity is excessive

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
By MichiganMom
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Hair type fine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
" This shampoo is one of my favorites. When I'm using it I often get compliments on the silver "highlights" in my hair. But I'm out of it right now and not sure I'll purchase again in this huge size. It seems strange that a shampoo recommended to be used only a few times a week should not be available in a smaller size. It took me a few years (!) to use up my previous bottle, and I did feel that the quality had altered by that time. If I could buy it in a more reasonable quantity, I would give it 5 stars. "
This product is best for:highlighting gray & partially gray hair, gentle cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a surprise

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
By gcdiva
I received a free trial of this product No
" Great to find the cheapest shampoo in the Aveda line actually works wonders! I have naturally white blond hair that is aging (60 plus aging) This shampoo and conditioner leave my hair soft and super shiny. Looks like it has been highlighted. If you want easy, this combo is for you. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still the One

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Customer avatar
By 317537
Choosing Aveda Since 1979
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1979
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have used blue malva off and on since the 1980s. My natural color is a medium blonde, which I started having highlighted in my late 20s. The blue malva kept my color correct while providing enough moisture to keep my processed hair from breaking. It also leaves my hair really really shiny.
I recently started using blue malva again after about a 10 year hiatus. As I aged, my hair went darker - to light brown, not gray at all. But because I have lupus, I also have period in which disease activity causes dramatic hair fall, which then grows back. The cosmetic result is a head of hair in which not one is the same length as any other, and I was having a lot of frizz and fuzz effect. (My hair is only slightly wavy and is currently down to my waist.)
I have tried so many shampoos but never thought about using my old favorite because I associated it with blonde and highlights, but a couple of weeks ago I had a flash of inspiration and, guess what? My hair looks shiny and healthy again. The blue malva also revealed some highlights that I didn't know I had. Still waiting for silver, but the interim looks better now. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE it for silver hair!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By swordqueen
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Michigan
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I was a long-time Aveda user but after I decided to stop coloring my hair at age 53 I went to another brand. Over time my hair became frizzy and dull. I thought that was just the way it was with gray hair but my stylist suggested product to enhance the silver.
So, back to Aveda - I purchased both the Blue Malva shampoo and conditioner and in just two weeks of use the difference is really amazing. My hair is full, smooth and shiny with silver highlights. I'm so glad I switched back!
"
This product is best for:gray hair dull/frizzy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Morita
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:San Juan, Puerto Rico
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have been using this product for the past 2 years and I am very satisfied with the product. My hair is white and the product gives a shine result and every body ask me what do I use. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

hooked!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By newavedagirl
" see my review under the blue malva conditioner!! i am hooked on both the shampoo and conditioner! will never use the other cheaper "like aveda" products again! this line is worth every penny. my subtle ombre highlights have maintained their color and have even gotten better. my hair is more manageable and easy to style. a little goes a long way too--and leaves my hair feeling very clean--not heavy at all! love it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Customer avatar
By Aschne1111
I received a free trial of this product Yes
" Great shampoo cleanses hair and adds volume leaves hair feeling soft "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blue Malva Magic

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
By MariaD
From:Maryland, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern more shine
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love this shampoo...it makes my hair look like spun silver! "
This product is best for:pronounce silver hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product for grey or blond hair

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
By ElizRVA
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Virginia
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I started going grey in my 20s and after I turned 40 I quit fighting the issue and stopped coloring my hair. This shampoo is an important part of my hair care routine, effectively keeping my silver locks silver and with no sign of yellowing. I get tons of compliments on how bright and silvery the grey is and how healthy my hair looks and feels (not coloring helps!). It smells great, cleans effectively and a little goes a long way, so it is a great value. Like others have mentioned, I too would appreciate a smaller size bottle - I really don't need such a giant container, though I will eventually use it up. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bye-bye Brassy!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By TKK33
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Between box color and very hard, rusty water, my color was looking way redder than I wanted. While some of the brassiness is due to box color (hey, don't judge I'm on a serious single-parent budget!), I could see the rust deposits taking their toll. It's not a good look at all. But, Blue Malva to the rescue. While it's not a fix to some of the box color issues, it has taken out the red-rust tones to leave the ash blonde color shining through. Smells great too. I also use the conditioner. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you have never used this before...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
By WandererPNW
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Portland, OR, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" You're missing out! I love this to tone my blonde highlights! It keeps them looking brighter, fresher, and reduces brassiness--keeping my highlights looking good against my cool natural base.
Sometimes I I only use this every other shampoo or so when I'm experimenting with other shampoos or want something that imparts more moisture, but this is amazing stuff and this size lasts forever when alternating.
I think I'll probably use this when I start going naturally grey too. Love it so much! It's the best purple shampoo I've ever tried and doesn't make your hair look drab nor does it darken it like some.
Please never discontinue this! "
This product is best for:toning brightening
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Malva Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blonde me.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By woodengal
From:Johns Creek, GA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This shampoo is no joke. I can stretch out my highlighting just by using this! After using it I often get asked if I just had my hair done and to me that's some good stuff. I have very long hair with platinum as well as reds and browns through out and it always brightens and keeps my blonde true. Cannot live without it! Not that he'll admit it but my husband has also started stealing it in the shower since becoming grey and it really brings out his silver fox side :) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>