Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener

Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener

All-day straightness and shine
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(592 reviews) 551
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 592 Reviews
5 Stars
458
4 Stars
90
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
10
1 Star
19
556 of 587(95%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
Review 1 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hair nectar from the Gods!

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
By Meesh506
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
From:New York, NY, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I have thick, dry, frizzy, curly hair which has some damage due to coloring. I have tried so many products on my hair, and I have to say that Aveda's Smooth Infusion Glossing Straightener is the one and only answer to my prayers! It seemed no matter what I did, my hair would look good for half a day and then the dryness and frizz would return. Well, I used this product and saw a HUGE difference immediately!! The first time I tried it the weather was 94 degrees with very high humidity; normally, my hair would have looked terrible, but it actually held the curl and stayed smooth with NO FRIZZ!! I can finally stop looking - I have found the answer to keep my hair soft, smooth, healthy looking, and without the frizz!! Thank you Aveda!!! And thank my salon for recommending this product!!"
My salon isSparx Salon, Pleasantville, NY 10570
This product is best for:keeping frizz away
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for fine hair, too! Doesn't weight hair down. :))

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
By Leenda
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:West Los Angeles
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"Most of the other reviews for this product were for curly, frizzy or full hair. However, I have fine color treated hair. I use the Aveda's Volumizing Tonic along with a dab of the Smooth Infusion Glossing straightener and it builds volume while taming fly-aways on my dry color processed ends. Love the combo!"
This product is best for:taming frizz and fly-aways
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best natural curl enhancer (for me)

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I purchased this to reduce frizz for my blow outs. I loved the way my natural curl responded to it before the blow out but still blew it out. Good result I must say. However, I recently decided to give heat a rest and used this refresh a wash & go, the RESULTS... SOOOO TOTALLY AWESOME!!!!!
bottomline... great for straightening or relaxing my natural curl for a bigger curl... either way I win!!! Great buy!!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best!

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By Missymeela
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Florida, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"This product has worked miracles in my hair. I absolutely love it. People are always asking me about the hair products I use. I have curly hair, so I used to chemically perm (straighten) my hair. However, since I was introduced to smooth infusion, I haven't had to perm my hair at all! It keeps my hair straight, shiny and frizz free! I love it, it's worth every penny!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more frizzy hair

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
By Meg621
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Bend, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I live in Bend, Oregon, where I can drive 2-3 hours in any direction and find dry warm conditions, to rain or snow, to beach, vineyards, deserts, mountains, or the city. I have always fought with thick fine hair that gets instantly frizzy the moment I leave Central Oregon's dry conditions. The first time I walked by mirrored glass windows in Portland, OR where the air tends to be more moist and heavy and I looked at my hair in the reflection, it looked exactly the same as when I had styled it in Bend that morning, with no frizz or flyways. I don't use straighteners or hairsprays or any other styling products anymore, and what I love most is that my hair is not only smooth but it is the softest and lightest it's ever been. My hair doesn't feel like there is any product in it at all. I have told everyone I know about it and won't ever go without again! This is hands down the best product I've ever found for smoothing my hair and preventing frizz!!"
My salon isBend, Oregon
This product is best for:frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best new friend

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
By Julieta
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Easton, PA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I have natural curly hair, it gets frizz very easily. I almost never straight my hair because it normally takes me 30 minutes.
Using the smooth infusion Glossing straightener, the Frizz is part of the past, and have straight hair is POSIBLE in 15 minutes!!!
Love it!
"
My salon isT and company
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for taming curly hair!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By soontobeamomma
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Elizabethtown, PA 17022, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I have naturally curly hair, that I sometimes like to straighten. And this stuff works wonders. A little dab will go a long way. In fact I have been on the same set for almost a year now. Keeping in mind I only straighten my hair once a week. (Those curly headed girls will understand why!)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth control

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Customer avatar
By akiss50
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
From:Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Love the way that this makes my hair manageable and silky smooth. I have very curly kinky hair that I don't like to wear natural. So, it takes blow drying then flat ironing. With this product my hair doesn't look abused. My hair looks healthy thanks to this product."
My salon isMonte Lucia
This product is best for:healthy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does exactly what it claims!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By Catspeaks
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:New Jersey
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Lately I've had problems with my hair, normally straight, wanting to frizz/curl up at the ends. After using this product one time, I found such a difference! I didn't need to pull and tug with the round brush, it dried just about perfectly straight. I am noticing, now that I've purchased the complete line, a huge difference in the texture, much nicer, especially where those stubborn stray grays are, and a smoother look. Love the product, highly recommend!"
My salon isBangz
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
By Ella23
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Rehoboth Beach,Delaware
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"For a few years now,I've been having problems with my hair.IT became very frizzy,it started losing its body the next day after I would wash it. My hair stylist recommended the "Smooth Infusion" line. I love my hair now! It's weightless,smooth,shiny,and,the most important,it is and it looks very healthy! I am a happy woman!! <3"
My salon isBad Ha?r Day
This product is best for:smoothing, reduces frizz, straightening
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Curly/frizzy hair no more!

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By apipski20
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Sunderland, MA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
User submitted photo
"You this product whenever I flat iron, works great to relieve the frizz and holds the hair straight. Love the smell. On hot/humid days I will put it in and wear my hair curly and it really eliminates frizzy hairs."
My salon isThe Village on Main
This product is best for:frizz be gone!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

needs flat iron, don't need much per use, less frizz, works quick

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By pbjam
"I have tried so many oils, masks, leave-ins, you name it on my hair. My hair is a couple inches past my shoulders, thick and still has some old highlights in it. The top half gets oily fast, is straight and has little to no volume most of the time while the bottom half is dry and frizzy and has random waves. Always been like that.
So, I keep looking for miracle products to help add smoothness, straightness, un-frizziness, softness, moisture magic to the bottom half of my hair. Most things I've tried (short of chemically straightening it) have only kind of sort of done one or two of those things. I usually have to sleep with the product in before seeing any effect, and it's gone by the end of the day.
This? Notice an effect almost immediately. It doesn't really add softness or shine, but the extra volume cause by dryness/frizz/damage is dramatically reduced with just a pea-sized drop! Added bonus, I spent a whole day with it in after flat ironing my hair, slept on top of it in my sweaty-hot apartment, woke up and it was still working! Hair was still straight and flat! Keeper! Will not be added to my pile of half-empty bottles of ho-hum hair products.
Sorry for the long review!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally! A product for Diverse Textures!

PostedOctober 12, 2010
Customer avatar
By Nseyah
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Manhattan, NY
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Caution: this product is only for the severely unmanageable, damaged, extremely dry, crunchy, frizzy, untamed, and straw-like hair. If you're only looking to straighten, you may not like it because it can be a bit heavy if not used properly or in moderation.
If you're hair still has the last laugh no matter what you try. This product will put your hair in check; it's the stuff hair dreams are made of. It does exactly what it says and leaves the other products by the wayside.
I'm Black. I have very short unrelaxed, color-treated hair that I press out straight once a week. My ends are dry and straw-like and get frizzy with humidity or sweat. This product worked on the very first use. It bonded to my hair and smoothed my ends. My hair is smooth, straight, thick, shiny, and full of body. Well done Aveda. Kudos for realizing that there's a world of diversity in hair and for not taking a "one-size fits all" approach! I was skeptical at first about whether your products would work on my hair, but now loyal customer! Thanks!"
This product is best for:Hair that lacks moisture, Dry hair, Coarse hair, Thick hair, frizzy, crunchy, straw-like, dry, african-american, mixxed-race, unmanageable, damaged
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for humidity

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
By fireball500
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Gilbert, AZ, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have naturally curly hair and all my life I've been trying to find products that bring out the best in my natural curl, but don't allow it to get frizzy. This is the product!
I put this product in my hair when it's wet and then let my hair naturally dry to reap all the benefits of my natural wave. I then use a curling iron to mold my curl to my liking. I sometimes go for the super straight look and use a flat iron, but this is bad for my hair. I find a small dose of this product will hold for at least 2 days. The combination of this product, my natural wave, and curling iron helps the condition of my hair avoiding the harshness of a blow dryer. Since I color my hair too (semi-permanent with high lights) anything I can do to save the condition of my hair, I try to do. Flat ironing, blow drying, and Brazilian blowouts are just too harsh, exhausting, and expensive. This product helps me celebrate the natural beauty of my hair without too much fuss."
My salon isMadison Avenue, Chandler, Arizona
This product is best for:controling frizz in humid climates, helps control curly hair, looks more conditioned
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gift from heaven!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
By SJSmom
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Texas
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I tried Aveda once many years ago and gave up as I have on many products that just don't 'do the trick.' My sister had me try the Glossing Straightener and I did so thinking it would be like so many other products...it doesn't quite do what I want, or it's sticky, or greasy, or dries my hair out or any number of other issues.
I was WRONG. I have found the product of all products. When I finished, I had salon hair. I was doubly amazed because I have been wearing my hair natural (free of chemicals, particularly chemical straightener) and humidity usually has it's way with my hair when I straighten it. By 5pm, my hair looks just as it did when I left the house that morning. I am truly amazed!
"
This product is best for:straightening
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for frizzy hair in humid weather

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
By AllieO
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Guam
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I was looking for a product to keep my frizzy hair under control, especially because I was moving to Guam for a year. 100% humidity and my hair don't mix. This product works great! It gives my a hair a healthy sheen and keeps my hair from becoming one giant puff ball. Most days I just smooth it on and let my hair air dry, but its also nice to use before blow drying and straightening!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring Back Hang Straight!

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Customer avatar
By FinickyHair
"I've used Aveda products for years and have been open to using new products (went from Brilliant to the antihumectant to control stick to Hang Straight). I loved how Hang Straight worked and when I heard that Smooth Infusion was supposed to be Hang Straight plus more, I was open to trying it out. Smooth Infusion does NOT work like Hang Straight. It's sticky, unlike the lotion consistency of Hang Straight. I was able to use Hang Straight with my leave in conditioner, while I styled with heat products, and as a final setting product. Smooth Infusion only seems to work with heat styling, and otherwise is too sticky and too heavy so it makes my hair seem clumpy. However, even with heat styling I'm not convinced it protects my hair like I've been told it should. This is one new product I don't like and would love to be able to go back to Hang Straight!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slow Learner

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
By JIllianFischer
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Denver, CO, USA
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Maybe it takes me awhile to catch on, but I have been flat ironing my long hair for a year now, working hard on getting the technique down right, wondering why my stylist does it so perfectly while I just can't seem to get it to look the way he does. So last time I paid very close attention & noticed he was using 2 different products...oh, was I supposed to be using PRODUCTS? (kidding--sort of.) So I bought Aveda Smooth Infusion Naturally Straight & Glossing Straightener. I use them both according to the directions on the tubes & now my hair looks just like it does when I leave the salon! I seriously had no idea of the importance of these particular products. They really, really work--and they smell great, too!"
My salon isEl Salon, Denver
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 9l4dy5
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"There’s only one word for it. Amazing!
My smooth and glossy hair has been complimented on over and over again by friends, family & even strangers. From a coarse, messy, unhealthy look, I am able to straighten it easily with hardly any damage. I love this product!
"
My salon isXEX Chicago
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smooth Infusion™ Glossing Straightener
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I miss Hang Straight. :(

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Customer avatar
By Maddie78
"When they stopped making Hang Straight, I was told this was it's replacement. It's definitely not a replacement for Hang Straight. This product is like putting lemon-scented olive oil directly on your hair. In case you can't tell from my star rating, that's not a good thing. I use only a tiny bit as instructed by the bottle and the girl at the counter who sold it to me. It doesn't straighten at all. It does make my hair shiny for about an hour and then it's just greasy looking for the rest of the day. For information purposes, if it helps you decide whether or not to use this product. I have average length, fine hair. Hang Straight worked so well on it because it smoothed any flyaways and straightened it no matter how much or how little I used and it never weighed my hair down or made it look greasy. Only the opposite is true for this glossing straightener. It weighs my hair down, doesn't straighten it or smooth flyaways, and I feel like I put grease directly on my hair. Please Aveda, bring back Hang Straight."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>