Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone

Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone

delivers long-lasting moisture
Overall rating:
4.394 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(368 reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 368 Reviews
5 Stars
254
4 Stars
56
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
15
1 Star
18
315 of 365(86%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
Review 1 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

packaging will give you carpal tunnel syndrome

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By robinmcd1970
" Please don't misunderstand me. I love this shampoo. I would recommend it & I do. I would like the company to understand that the new large size packaging of this product & pure abundance conditioner are very poorly designed and ergonomically incorrect. One is unable to hold onto the bottles w/ wet hands, and the products are extremely difficult to get out when the container is almost empty. I have talked to many others who agree with this assessment, and will avoid buying these products if they are sold in this hard plastic packaging. Please redesign it. Thanks. "
My salon issalon synergy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What happened to Sap Moss?

PostedJune 10, 2009
Customer avatar
By Deidra
" I used Sap Moss for years. It was less expensive, and I preferred the results and the scent. WHY, WHY, WHY was Sap Moss discontinued? PLEASE BRING IT BACK! By reading other reviews, I know there would be many people very happy if you did! "
This product is best for:Dry hair, Normal hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Miss Sap Moss

PostedOctober 20, 2008
Customer avatar
By Lorrie
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
I am an Aveda customer
" I used your Sap Moss line for years exclusively. Dry Remedy was not at all moisturizing and doesn't smell good, nor do I like the consistency of the shampoo. I have not found any other Aveda shampoo/conditioner combo that works like Sap Moss did. I am in search of a new hair care provider. Bring Sap Moss back. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as good as sap moss

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Customer avatar
By lynder
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Boston, MA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" This was recommended to me in the store as the replacement to sap moss. It's nowhere near as good! My hair used to appear shiny and healthy and after using this shampoo it appears dull and heavy. I did follow all the advice of other reviewers to rinse completely, etc. but that didn't help.
PLEASE BRING BACK SAP MOSS! "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't moisturize

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
By Gotfrizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Phoenix area in AZ
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I live in the desert so moisturizing shampoos are a must. Moisturizing shampoos that deliver shine are a real plus. I read the other reviews and many of them said this product was a good replacement for Aveda's old Sap Moss formula but I did not find this to be the case at all. This shampoo has left my hair dry and frizzy. I will give it to my daughter when she comes out to visit and hopefully it will work for her, but I doubt it. Save your money on this one, unless you buy for the smell - then this one may be one you would like. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dry Remedy Moisturizing Shampoo

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Customer avatar
By Anonymous
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:California
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" First off I must say I'm writing this review from an African American point of view. Our hair tends to be a lot drier and much more kinky than others. This product does exactly what it says. I do not have a relaxer or straightener on my hair. My hair is very thick and hangs to my shoulders so in order to straighten my hair, I have to use a pressing comb.
I was first introduced to this shampoo and conditioner in 2002 from my hair dresser. It's the only product he uses in his salon and it works wonders on my hair. Needless to say I love Aveda!!!
"
This product is best for:Coarse hair, Thick hair, Dry hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No more Sap Moss, no more Aveda

PostedFebruary 17, 2009
Customer avatar
By HRCOKat
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Highlands Ranch, CO
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I've tried this out, but the shampoo simply does nothing to moisturize my long fine hair at all, it does not feel soft, and it looks unhealthy after washing it (my stylist says I have incredibly healthy hair... thanks to Sap Moss for so long) I end up having to apply product for smoothing and a softer texture which I NEVER had to do with Sap Moss. I am returning what I have to the Aveda store and am down to only the Damage Remedy line as a weekly supplement to my use of other competing product lines for daily shampoo and conditioning needs. "
This product is best for:Coarse hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waxy. Awful. Fine haired ladies- AVOID THIS!

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Customer avatar
By NorthernLady
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:The chilly Northwest!
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" As a long time Aveda lover, when this season turned my fine hair particularly dry, I went straight for Dry Remedy to rescue my tresses.
What a mess!! It seemed to coat my hair with an awful sticky, waxy substance that was only made worse when I blowdried and styled my hair as usual. My hair looked dull, and frizzy, and I could hardly run a comb through it! As I tried to brush through the tangled mess, I noticed a white film coming off on my hair brush! Ugh!
The only reason I will give the product one star is that the waxy, sticky texture made doing an updo (as leaving my hair down that day was NOT an option!) really easy- it was like I had already put some kind of pomade in my hair!
In reading other reviews, it seems that anyone with fine hair should avoid this. Will go back to coconut oil for hair mask/repair. "
This product is best for:no idea!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, silky soft hair!

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By jpVT
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Vermont, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Though this shampoo doesn't lather up as I am used to, it does the job. It smells wonderful, and paired with the conditioner and dry remedy, my previously over processed dry hair is smoother and silkier without losing the waves. I do think you need to use the trio though for best results. "
My salon isStephens & Burns
This product is best for:moisturizing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
By 1954cath
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
From:Sagle, ID 83860, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1982
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Makes my hair much more manageable, providing the moisture it needs. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did nothing good for my hair

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Customer avatar
By bringbackSapMoss
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Newport Beach, CA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Sap Moss was the best shampoo I have EVER used and one of the best products ever made by Aveda. I couldn't believe they discontinued it. So my stylist recommended this shampoo as a replacement and it doesn't even begin to hold a candle to Sap Moss. This shampoo not only did not add any moisture to my hair, but it left it feeling greasy and not clean. The scent is not that great.
PLEASE BRING BACK SAP MOSS! "
This product is best for:adding grease to your hair
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Restores dry frizz to healthy

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
By mangascolorado2
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Oregon
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" My hair can get very dry and frizzy throughout the year but this helps tremendously to tame it and restore health. I swear by the Dry Remedy line. "
My salon isGraeber & Company
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not entirely satisfied

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Customer avatar
By Mgui
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:Whister, BC, Canada
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This is my first winter in 5 years, and my hair isn't too happy about it. It's super dry and tangles easily. It's my first time having this problem, so I decided to purchase this shampoo, hoping that my hair will be healthy again (I usually have super healthy, long, thick hair). After using this shampoo, my hair was softer but not as soft as I would have liked. That being said, I didn't use a conditioner (couldn't afford it), so maybe that's it. That being said, it is a very expensive shampoo, so it should work without the need of a conditioner. As for my hair being tangled, well it's still tangled, but a little less.
Also, my scalp felt itchy after using the shampoo. I don't know if it's the shampoo or something else though.
The shampoo has a very strange texture and lathers but not as easily as other Aveda shampoo. The lather doesn't feel light, but I personally didn't mind.
The smell is ok. It's not as good as other Aveda shampoos (my favourite being Rosemary Mint). I wish there was a stronger/better smell to it.
Overall, it is a good product, especially if you need a little moisture, but if your hair is as dry as my winter dehydrated ski-helmet hair, then maybe not the best. Next time I'll use Damage RemedyTM Intensive Restructuring Treatment as I know it will work better. "
This product is best for:Thick hair, Dry hair, Wavy hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

First dissappointing Aveda product I've ever come across

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer avatar
By kristyb114
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Chicago
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" Normally I use the Smooth Infusion line. Changed on a whim since I felt my hair needed more moisture as of late. This line is just awful. I'm considering just returning it. I can see how if you had SUPER dry hair this would be an option for you but for the average shopper there is just too much silicone in here. My hair is completely greasy looking and weighed down. I ended up just putting my hair in a ponytail for the day. "
My salon isIndira Salon and Spa
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo for dry hair!

PostedMay 2, 2010
Customer avatar
By LizR
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
Hair type fine
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
" This shampoo is amazing! I have very dry, fine hair, and this is the only shampoo, including "shampoo/conditioner combinations", that I can use without adding conditioner and still like the results! As such, I recommend it for air travel, given the current "3-1-1" restrictions on flying with liquids, and of course it's a great everyday shampoo to use with a conditioner or treatment masque. The only people to whom I wouldn't recommend this are those with oily or lank hair--- for everyone else, it's a great choice if only for travel, and if you have dry or damaged hair, or have to wash your hair more than once a day for any reason, it's a life-saver! (Also, I love the shape of the 16 oz. bottles for this product--- they have a "loop" at the top so that you can hang them for storage--- and if your hair is like mine, you'll use more than enough of this to justify buying it in bulk!) My only complaint is that Aveda doesn't sell this in a travel or sample size--- as I stated above, it is perfect as an all-in-one product for air travel unless your hair is oily or extremely damaged. "
This product is best for:Dry hair, Coarse hair, Fine hair, any type other than oily, all-in-one travel hair cair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Great Purchase

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
By MommySuga
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Willingboro, NJ
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have extremely dry hair from relaxing, coloring, you name it. I used this for the first time and saw and felt a difference. I will definitely continue to use this product. I haven't used the conditioner yet but hopefully it will have the same results. "
My salon isStyles, NYC
This product is best for:Dry hair, Coarse hair, relaxed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shampoo -- Too Expensive

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Customer avatar
By kbrunning
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
" My hair is fine-medium, straight and wavy, it's inbetween everything and difficult to deal with. On top of it, I swim, run, and shower frequently which has been so hard on my hair. This shampoo keeps my hair from drying out. My hair feels so happy when I use this shampoo and my husband says the same. The price however, is OUTRAGEOUS!!! "
This product is best for:Wavy hair, Curly hair, Dry hair, Fine hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets me through the winter months

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
By syoungld
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Altadena, CA, USA
Gender Male
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This miracle shampoo takes my dried up frizzy winter hair and restores it back to a luscious summer sheen with a soft and supple bounce. Each November, I order a few bottles, and pull my humidifier from the cabinet just to survive the harsh climate. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best shampoo ever!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
By Marcia1984
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Clarksville, TN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I tried this shampoo while in a remote area with very harsh water. With all other shampoos, my hair felt like hard, tough dry, straw after I showered. Once I started using dry remedy my hair instantly soften and it was moisturized!!! I will NEVER use any other shampoo again, ever! I have very fine hair and found that I had no issues with the thickness of this shampoo. I've tried the Rosemary Mint, Shampure, Smooth Infusion and Damage remedy and this is by far my favorite. "
My salon isEden Day Spa
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dry Remedy™ Moisturizing Shampoo – almost gone
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really helps moisturize dry hair

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
By newyorknad
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Massachusetts
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I live in New England which is very cold in the winter - between the cold weather and my hair coloring, my hair takes a beating. This shampoo has really helped make my hair feel healthy again. I highly recommend it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>