Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color

Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color

soft-to-the-touch shadow
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 158 Reviews
5 Stars
128
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
148 of 156(95%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
Review 1 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better for you eye shadow

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"Aveda's cosmetics are light, blend-able and build-able. They also don't contain parabens, petrochemicals, and talc which is difficult to find. They offer seasonal colors which is nice for variety. This product fits perfectly in my Environmental compact and is applied very nice with the Flax Sticks eye collection of brushes. This eye shadow comes in a small recyclable clamshell package with a cardboard sleeve. So, be either ready to use it out of this packaging or purchase one of the aluminum compacts that Aveda makes."
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:eco friendly good for you cosmetics
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too little pigment

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By hpar
Pure Privilege memberYes
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I am a huge fan of the Aveda skin and hair products, but am terribly disappointed with the make up. Based on the positive reviews of the eye color, I purchased the Moon and Aurora shades. I did not realize they didn't come in a compact, but rather in little plastic trays. I must have missed the note where it states you need to buy a separate compact. It is very difficult to use a little sponge or brush and apply the eye shadow. The eye shadow itself has very little pigment, creases, and doesn't last very long. Based on my experience with the eye and lip color products, I won't be buying any more Aveda make up."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Illumination is the color

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
By BritWilliams
"If you need a great eye shadow for everyday wear, go with Illumination. It's perfect and brightens the eyes really well."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth, all-day coverage

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Sweetgardenia
From:Virginia, USA
Gender Female
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I love this eye shadow. I generally combine two or three colors. The Illumination color is a great highlighting color for the corner of the eye, brow, and upper lip. Very pretty. The only complaint I have is the price!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sensitive eyes

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By PJSR
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"My eyes tend to be sensitive and some eye shadows will make my eye lids red and puffy. I started using Aveda eye shadow in 2003 and found that any color that I have tried has worked fine for me. I have occasionally strayed to another brand and always kick myself when I have to throw out brand new eyeshadow. I will only buy Aveda eyeshadow going forward! The color stays nicely throughout the day."
My salon isValenti Anderson Ohio
This product is best for:great for sensitive eyes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the softness of the shade.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
By gamma
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"love the color, it last a long time too. also works well with a lot of other shades."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color, smooth application, lasts all day

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
By Sabaurke
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I enjoy this eye shadow, good coverage, lasts a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous colors for spring!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
By pjbikerider
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Washington, DC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Opal is a gorgeous, brightening color for eyes up to the brow, good base color, sort of shell pink or peach but more neutral than pink. Just what I was looking for. I have a pink skin tone. Goes well with Seafoam green for blondes with blue/green eyes. No creasing, even without base (and I have oily skin and beginning signs of aging around eyes). Bought with Pink Lotus Nourish-Mint. The colors are a fresh look for spring."
My salon isLogan 14
This product is best for:no creasing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful colors and good application

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
By lovebird11
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Portland, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I love how you can keep layering on the shadow to make it as intense as you like. If you want a natural look you can simply do one or two layers of color. For more dramatic eyes, you can keep building layers to the intensity you like. One of the Aveda make up artists showed me that you can even wet your Aveda eye makeup brushes & the eye makeup to get an effect like eye liner or deep intense color anywhere on your eyes. My favorite colors are Aura and Illumination, which I hope they never discontinue."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By kahaveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
"I don't wear markup often, but I had an event to attend and needed to replace some old makeup. I was going to the Aveda store already so I decided to give their makeup a try. The sales assistant did my whole face. She used the Spark color, and it's great! It's shimmery with a little peach/pink color to it. I've only used it once so far for just a few hours, so I can't say how well it will hold up during a long day, but I'm sure it'll be great as other reviews have said. And I love that it's natural! So glad I tried the makeup after using their hair, face and other skin care products for years."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aura and Opal

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer avatar
By MAVEDA
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Salt Lake City, UT
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Aura and Opal are great base colors; perfect to wear alone or with other colors.
Aura is more of a matte shade and Opal is a vanilla shimmer shade. These eyeshadows stay on all day. There are no problems with creasing and I tend to have oily eyelids. These two shades are mistake proof, you can't go wrong!
"
This product is best for:great base shades, dense pigmentation, non crumbly, lasts all day, mistake proof
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

subtle & complimentary

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Customer avatar
By meganm
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
"I have tried several shades of the single eye color and have been pleased with them all. I was initially hesitant to purchase because of the price, but after buying one I ordered a few more shades. The eye color is very subtle, which I like, and all the shades I've tried have been flattering."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
By Grandmommy
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Castro Valley
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I love this eye shadow as a base for other deeper colors. It goes so well with my skin tone. I have super sensitive skin, especially my eyelids and I have had no trouble at all with this product. :-)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
By Anna611
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
"I've been using this product for over 15 years and I love it!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

easy to apply, doesn't last that long, good for sensitive eyes

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
By bb11bb
"This is good, but not great, eyeshadow. The few I have are all easy to apply. Coverage is buildable, which I love -- can be light or dramatic. It doesn't last all day, unless you use a primer or staying powder or something to help it out. My eyes are sometimes irritated by eye makeup, but this eyeshadow doesn't bother me at all."
This product is best for:buildable coverage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Colors

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
By ChillyWilly
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Fairbanks, AK, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Tried Aurora several years ago and really liked how it looked, just never got around to replacing it. Probably because $14 seems like a lot for one color of eye shadow. Now that I am older I tried again. The color still matches my skin tone perfectly and makes my eyes look better but not made up. With the product lines wide range of skin tone shades it should be possible for most people to find one that matches their skin. Would like a little more variety on the compacts offered."
My salon isTija's
This product is best for:looking more natural
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always use a cream eyeshadow base

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By Niki654
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
"I love all of Aveda eye shadows and own quite a few. Some however were limited editions and no longer available. To make eye shadow last all day recommend wearing a cream eye shadow base (not sold at Aveda.) This allows the color to last all day (even into evening) and very buildable to an intense color if that's your preference. I don't have oily skin though, might make a difference."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

product

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Liz1954
"The eye shadow is cheaply packaged in what I would consider a container for a sample. The amount of shadow is small for the price"
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
By wifi
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
"I purchased this eyeshadow and love it. It stays on all day. I bought it in moon and use it as a base."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer avatar
By Millmobmom
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Mandeville, Louisiana
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I am 56 years old and have tried many brands of eye shadow, only to have them cake up and flake off. Petal Esssence eye shadow goes on like silk and stays on, even through a long day at work."
My salon isParis Parker Mandeville
This product is best for:eye enhancer
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>