Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color

Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color

soft-to-the-touch shadow
Overall rating:
4.685 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 168 Reviews
5 Stars
136
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
156 of 165(95%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
Review 1 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better for you eye shadow

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" Aveda's cosmetics are light, blend-able and build-able. They also don't contain parabens, petrochemicals, and talc which is difficult to find. They offer seasonal colors which is nice for variety. This product fits perfectly in my Environmental compact and is applied very nice with the Flax Sticks eye collection of brushes. This eye shadow comes in a small recyclable clamshell package with a cardboard sleeve. So, be either ready to use it out of this packaging or purchase one of the aluminum compacts that Aveda makes. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:eco friendly good for you cosmetics
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too little pigment

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By hpar
Pure Privilege memberYes
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I am a huge fan of the Aveda skin and hair products, but am terribly disappointed with the make up. Based on the positive reviews of the eye color, I purchased the Moon and Aurora shades. I did not realize they didn't come in a compact, but rather in little plastic trays. I must have missed the note where it states you need to buy a separate compact. It is very difficult to use a little sponge or brush and apply the eye shadow. The eye shadow itself has very little pigment, creases, and doesn't last very long. Based on my experience with the eye and lip color products, I won't be buying any more Aveda make up. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful product

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By Aschne1111
I received a free trial of this product No
" I love this eye color product. The warm tan color looks great with brown eyes. Lasts long. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bright Natural Color!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By AuburnKatie
From:Pisa PI, Italy
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This eye shadow is just the right amount of color. It is smooth on the skin provides wonderful color! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By gwennellen
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" The eyeshadow has great coverage the the color is subtle but adds a gold sheen - love it! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous colors for spring!

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
By pjbikerider
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Washington, DC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Opal is a gorgeous, brightening color for eyes up to the brow, good base color, sort of shell pink or peach but more neutral than pink. Just what I was looking for. I have a pink skin tone. Goes well with Seafoam green for blondes with blue/green eyes. No creasing, even without base (and I have oily skin and beginning signs of aging around eyes). Bought with Pink Lotus Nourish-Mint. The colors are a fresh look for spring. "
My salon isLogan 14
This product is best for:no creasing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

single eye color

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
By badger2366
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:getzville
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" well it's tough to apply as no applicator is supplied with the eye color, so after paying top dollar for the product you have to go out and get an applicator to boot. the color was not close to that advertised on the on-line color chart and the quality was far below my expectation. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

beautiful colors and good application

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
By lovebird11
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Portland, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" I love how you can keep layering on the shadow to make it as intense as you like. If you want a natural look you can simply do one or two layers of color. For more dramatic eyes, you can keep building layers to the intensity you like. One of the Aveda make up artists showed me that you can even wet your Aveda eye makeup brushes & the eye makeup to get an effect like eye liner or deep intense color anywhere on your eyes. My favorite colors are Aura and Illumination, which I hope they never discontinue. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for sensitive eyes

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
By PJSR
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" My eyes tend to be sensitive and some eye shadows will make my eye lids red and puffy. I started using Aveda eye shadow in 2003 and found that any color that I have tried has worked fine for me. I have occasionally strayed to another brand and always kick myself when I have to throw out brand new eyeshadow. I will only buy Aveda eyeshadow going forward! The color stays nicely throughout the day. "
My salon isValenti Anderson Ohio
This product is best for:great for sensitive eyes
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Illumination is the color

PostedApril 11, 2014
Customer avatar
By BritWilliams
" If you need a great eye shadow for everyday wear, go with Illumination. It's perfect and brightens the eyes really well. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmering and Natural

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
By Dobermom
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Lafayette, IN, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" The petal essence eye colors blend well, allow you to create looks for day or night, depending on the application. I love the seasonal color choices which offer fun new trends each season. "
My salon isEvan Todd West Lafayette
This product is best for:easy to apply
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By kahaveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth drive a hybrid
" I don't wear markup often, but I had an event to attend and needed to replace some old makeup. I was going to the Aveda store already so I decided to give their makeup a try. The sales assistant did my whole face. She used the Spark color, and it's great! It's shimmery with a little peach/pink color to it. I've only used it once so far for just a few hours, so I can't say how well it will hold up during a long day, but I'm sure it'll be great as other reviews have said. And I love that it's natural! So glad I tried the makeup after using their hair, face and other skin care products for years. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
By MNOP
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
From:GA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Pure Privilege member Yes
" Love the color. Still love the magnetic case that allows me to customize my compact to suit me. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth, all-day coverage

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By Sweetgardenia
From:Virginia, USA
Gender Female
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I love this eye shadow. I generally combine two or three colors. The Illumination color is a great highlighting color for the corner of the eye, brow, and upper lip. Very pretty. The only complaint I have is the price! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By chercat72
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
" Great pigment...goes on beautifully. I love this color for the crease and liner area. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color, smooth application, lasts all day

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
By Sabaurke
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I enjoy this eye shadow, good coverage, lasts a long time. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aura and Opal

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Customer avatar
By MAVEDA
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Salt Lake City, UT
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Aura and Opal are great base colors; perfect to wear alone or with other colors.
Aura is more of a matte shade and Opal is a vanilla shimmer shade. These eyeshadows stay on all day. There are no problems with creasing and I tend to have oily eyelids. These two shades are mistake proof, you can't go wrong!
"
This product is best for:great base shades, dense pigmentation, non crumbly, lasts all day, mistake proof
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Colors

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By clhflorida
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Florida, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Love Aveda's shadow. Perfect colors, last long and stays put. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovely "stays on" color

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
By Jean60
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Hot Springs, AR
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I've been using Aveda products for about 20 years. I purchased the compact that lets me add shadow colors, switch them or remove ones that are empty. They stick to a magnetized Compact case, coming in a metal shell themselves. I am happy to find them still being sold, since I recently ran out of the light "green" staple color for me The color goes on smoothly and STAYS for the whole day without smudging. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Petal Essence™ Single Eye Color
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Petal essence single eye color

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
By Jtcb
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
From:Bozeman, MT, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" Have used Aveda products for a lot of years now. Appreciate that what I'm putting next to my eyes isn't going to harm them, the colors stay true, the shadow does not irritate, and a little sparkle is nice! "
My salon isDon't have one here, yet. Moved here recently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>