Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade

Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade

repels humidity, adds shine
Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(223 reviews) 219
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 223 Reviews
5 Stars
177
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
211 of 222(95%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am no longer afraid of humidity. And the rainy day hair blahs.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By JennaLee
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Philadelphia
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I discovered this product by my former roommate. Between the South and the Northeast summertime humidity, my hair looked great before leaving the house, then would curl, frizz, and it was like my strands would start fist fights with one another by the time I walked to my car. Fear not. She handed me Brilliant and my hair is happy. Dabbing a little on before leaving the house, I know can gallivant through town (night and day) whether is sunny and humid or 65 degrees, rainy and muggy. I haven't found a travel size yet -- but, I can't be without it. So, I know scoop a tiny bit in a contact lens case and take it on the plane. I was never a hair gal, but Aveda products encouraged me to expose the beauty that my hair is. As a side note, I am a brunette and go blonde. The product keeps my blonde color from also looking drab and dry. It really does hug my hair strands with joy now... instead of wanting to start that fight."
My salon isJean Madeline Aveda Institute, Philadelphia PA
This product is best for:humidity, frizz, heat
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Triple Threat

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By soontobeamomma
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Elizabethtown, PA 17022, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"I use this, in addition to the anti-humectant pomade and the hairspray, to help in the summer tame flyways. Wonderful products, with that awesome Aveda earthy herb scent!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helps prevent frizz

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"This little bottle provides wonders for thick, coarse hair as well as providing shine. It is designed to keep moisture from penetrating the hair ultimately prevent frizz. This will provide shine and assist in keeping my hair straight after blowdrying. This small bottle lasts well over a year. Use only a small tip of the pinky amount unless you don't mind greasy hair."
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:great for decreasing frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice!

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Customer avatar
By lilcaramel
From:Philadelphia, PA
Hair type coarse
Skin type oily
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"I read about this product on curlynikki.com, and last night I used this product on my hair to two-strand twist it before bed, and I absolutely love the defined, anti-frizz look of my hair this morning. I went out today (even though the is not very high today, it normally doesn't matter) and despite having the windows open and wind blowing in my hair the curl pattern stayed. I think this may be a keeper. It's a bit pricey for a daily product, but it may be just what I need. We shall see!"
My salon isSalon Tenshi
This product is best for:Hair that lacks moisture, Coarse hair, Thick hair, kinky hair (4c)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Miracle hair product!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
By FLcurlygirl
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Florida, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have a LOT of very curly hair that gets frizzy almost immediately in the Florida humidity. If I use a little of this product on my dry hair after flat-ironing and then using a curling wand, it seals my hair from the humidity, and makes it shiny and smooth. This product has changed my life! You only need to use a little bit, because too much can look greasy, so it lasts a long time. I usually go through products so quickly, but I love that most Aveda products are so concentrated and they work so well that you don't need to use a ton of product."
My salon isAveda Whole
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best product for my hair

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
By jill8
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1999
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I must have a linen closet full of hair products that I have tried for my naturally curly kinky hair. And, I'm always ready to try something else that works to tame and define my hair whether I've hot-ironed straight or leave it curly. Aveda Brilliant anti-humectant is hands-down the product that works for me no matter if I use it on wet hair or dry. This stuff is it. I just turned a co-worker on to this product and she said someone complimented her on her (curly) hair first time she used it. She is now ordering some (you may feel free to give me a commission :)"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
By AimToLaugh
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:Miami
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I went to an Aveda salon to get a haircut and the stylist used this product on my hair. I was very impressed. I have naturally wavy, thick, course hair, that I straighten. Since I live in Miami there's humidity year-round and I constantly have frizzy hair. It's been rainy the past week and my hair is noticeably LESS frizzy - I credit this product!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
By KT123
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Living in an area where the summers are very humid, this product is a lifesaver! It is the only thing that keeps my hair still looking smooth and frizz free after being outside."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love. It.

PostedMay 31, 2009
Customer avatar
By guitargirl
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:Chicago, IL
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"I have had this product for years and recently rediscovered why I loved it. When blowing my hair out straight, I have trouble keeping the ends polished and frizz-free, like the rest of the hair. Nothing seals your ends and keeps them frizz-free like Aveda Anti-Humectant Pomade!
If I put a pea-sized amount of Aveda Anti-Humectant on my hair after I have finished blow-drying (focusing on the ends), it not only solves that problem, but also keeps the frizz at bay in the rest of my 'do. I love how it makes my hair look healthy and shiny! Hooray!
Note: If your roots tend to get a bit oily, I would stay away from that area with this product and focus from the shaft of the hair to the ends, or wherever your hair tends to frizz or needs some extra moisture and shine, which makes sense since this product contains coconut oil and geranium oil, two terrific moisturizers for your hair. Also, depending upon your hair's thickness, texture, and need for moisture, a little bit of this product goes a LONG way. So, start small. You can always add more."
This product is best for:Thick hair, Hair that lacks moisture, Straight hair, Wavy hair, Normal hair, Short hair, Long hair, Dry hair, highlighted and/or colored hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

controls frizzing

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Customer avatar
By LQuiz741
I received a free trial of this product No
"I bought this to help control frizzing in the summer humidity hoping to avoid blow drying my hair. I am still getting used to it and trying to determine how much to use. The first application I used way too much and my hair looked greasy. I have adjusted and will hopefully get it right. It definitely holds your hair in place without it getting stiff. Helps prevent frizzing. Once I determine the best amount for the look I want it should be fine."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Aveda products are very refreshing.

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By Talldrink
Choosing Aveda Since 1979
From:Chicago, IL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1979
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I recommend Aveda for the scent. I love the smell of all of the products. I Am African American and as you know our hair varies in many degrees: type, texture, length and color. I've been using Aveda products for more than 30 years. Because of thinning hair I use your prosducts because they don't weigh my hair down. The Brilliant Anti-Humctant Pomade is light enough but is is able to give my hair shine and control."
My salon isI have a stylist who comes to my home. I purchase Aveda myself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT product

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
By Terrika
From:Lewisville, NC, USA
Hair type medium
I am an Aveda customer
"This pomade is a wonderful anti-humectant that is holding its own against the thunderstorms and summer humidty in NC!!! A must buy to fight frizz!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stumbled Upon By Accident

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
By elliemae
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
"I was getting ready for work one morning and realized I was out of my spray gel. I am in the military so I have to wear my hair in a bun to work. I found this product in a drawer that I completely forgot about. I used it to smooth the ends of my hair around the bun, and it smoothed everything down perfectly, plus made it super shiny. I get tons of compliments how "smooth" and "perfect" my bun looks. I'm glad I found this product again, and have stopped using the crunchy spray gel."
This product is best for:Hair that lacks moisture, Using on wet/damp hair, Coarse hair, Thick hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little heavy - but definitely tackles the frizzies

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
By TBurbey
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Maryland, USA
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I have been wearing Be Curly - Curl Enhancer with Flax Seed Aloe Gel for about 2 years now. The combination does a wonderful job of taming my frizzies - but the Flax Seed Aloe in particular can weigh down my curls enough that I have to wash my hair more often then I prefer. So when I did place an order for more of both products, I requested the Be Curly Style Prep sample (which has replaced the Flax Seed Aloe for me except on particularly humid days) and purchased a jar of Brilliant Anti-Humectant Pomade. Now I took the plunge on the pomade because I vaguely remember using it many years ago when I used to use Aveda products exclusively. I haven't had much opportunity to use it - because the Be Curly products have been keeping the frizzies tame most days. But on a few occasions - like today - I have tried this to smooth out a small section of my hair that has gotten frizzy - either because I haven't put in enough other products or the weather. I have to say - it's amazing! I had a lot of frizz going on this morning. I put a little pomade on my hands (a little really does go a long way) - ran my fingers through my hair and the frizz is gone! But as I mentioned the pomade is pretty powerful - you only need a very little! I remembered that fortunately the minute I opened the jar. But it is easy to go too far. The pomade is silky - and it's tempting to fall into the if some is good, more is better trap - but you don't need it. I have also noticed that if I do put in too much, my hair gets greasy quickly (though I do have a greasy scalp - dry hair)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AVEDA Brilliant Anti-Humectant Pomade

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By HotMama2
From:No Suburbs, IL
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"This stuff is the BOMB! My daughter's hair is natural but she likes to now wear it straighten and this Anti-Humectant Pomade keeps her hair so shiny, soft and smelling great and even more importantly keeps away the frizzies and thus keeping my Pumpkin's hair from reverting back to coils."
My salon isAt Home
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great scent, good hold, conditioning

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
By denisesf
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This product is concentrated and is good for styling, but it is thick and adds oil to hair. A little goes a long way. It isn't sticky like some hair goop, but adds a lot of moisture to hair. If your hair is oily, this might not be the product for you. Great scent! Good for men too! My husband uses this product."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant - helps with frizz

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
By impulse
I received a free trial of this product No
"I use this one in the summer and the other one in the winter. It helps keep the frizziness tamed without coating the hair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Brilliant

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Customer avatar
By Riky
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:West Haven, CT
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used the anti-humectant pomade since my stylist first used in my hair 6 years ago. I have moved on to different stylists, but I am hooked on the pomade. My short hair is naturally curly. I just use the flat-iron and a small dab of pomade, and my hair looks beautiful, my style and gloss last the entire day--from work to gym!"
This product is best for:Wavy hair, Curly hair, Hair that lacks moisture, Coarse hair, Thick hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well on my relaxed hair

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By Minnie2013
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:PA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I get my hair professionally relaxed and when im about 8-12 weeks post this product works wonders on my new growth. it makes it nice and smooth when blow drying it's perfect for hot weather."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Anti-Humectant Pomade
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

There is nothing better for dry, curly, frizzy hair!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
By EvieB
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Maryland
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I am 68 years old and of course as we age, our hair becomes very dry. I have tried everything on the market that claims to prevent and cure frizzy dry hair, even fruits and mayo. I remembered that a few years back I had used brilliant and decided to order some and see if it helped. Wow! It's amazing. The formulation seems to have improved and is even better than it was a few years back. I can wear my thick curly hair natural without any frizz and the dryness is gone. I am very pleased. And I ordered it online and did not have to pay for shipping. The fragrance is awesome but not overpowering. Thanks Aveda!!"
My salon isI do my own hair
This product is best for:tame frizzies, moisturize dry hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>