Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Be Curly™ Style-Prep™

Be Curly™ Style-Prep™

Adds moisture and curl definition
Overall rating:
4.644 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(390 reviews) 370
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 390 Reviews
5 Stars
296
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
373 of 386(97%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
Review 1 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Helps with Frizz!

PostedJune 17, 2011
Customer avatar
By DachsieMom
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Coon Rapids, MN
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"My hair tends to go all frizzy-especially when it's humid. This is the to go product, especially on days when the weather plays a factor, but I use it almost ever day. Love it!"
My salon isTafoya Salon
This product is best for:frizzy curly hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius In A Bottle

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
By AvedaGeek
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Belgium
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member No
"I can't even begin to explain how much I love this product! I absolutely love the whole Be Curly system and this was the missing link. Curls need a 'second-day' product and this just works wonders: on your non-shampoo day, slightly moisten your hair and apply small amount with head upside down, squeezing it in. Follow with half the amount of Curl Enhancer you would normaly use after washing, again, with head upside down.
It will truly ENHANCE curls and REDUCE frizz!
Oh, and ofcourse you use it when you do wash your hair as well, after conditioner and before Curl Enhancer.
Smells grrrreat!
"
This product is best for:curls after washing, curls on non-shampoo day
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is it!

PostedJanuary 19, 2011
Customer avatar
By AvedaOnly
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Chicago, IL
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Thank you thank you Aveda for creating this product! I have been using the Be Curly products for a few years now, but this is by far the best Aveda has come out with. If you already use the curly products and are wondering if you need this, YES you do. I have started using before I put confixor gel in my hair, follwed by diffusing with a hair dryer attachment, a little dab of Be Curly and my curls are perfect. No frizz AT ALL. Will be buying this one again."
This product is best for:definition, frizz control
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great For Wavy Hair

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer avatar
By leebones31
Choosing Aveda Since 1984
From:Boca Raton, FL
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1984
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"Be Curly Style-Prep is a great compliment to Be Curly Shampoo and Conditioner. I use it after the shampoo and conditioner and then let my fine/wavy hair air dry. It ends up looking shiny, extra wavy and bouncy - with no frizz in sight. I love the smell, too. It is a great product, because it works."
This product is best for:wavy/curly hair, taking away frizz, adding moisture, adding shine, adding volue
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Appropriate Accompaniment to Be Curly Enhancer

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
By Martine
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Philadelphia, PA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type coarse
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"Applied to wet hair and mixed with Be Curly Enhancer, the Style-Prep helps to control frizz in hot, humid weather.
May not use in dry, cold weather though, when the Enhancer would suffice.
"
This product is best for:frizz humidity
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Renders thick, coarse hair easier to manage

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
By Martine
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
"Whereas previously I only used Be Curly Curl Enhancer, now I comb Be Curly Style Prep through washed wet hair. Then after letting my locks air-dry, I apply the Curl Enhancer. My hair tangles less and appears smoother and softer with the addition of the Style Prep."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Frizz control

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
By apipski20
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Sunderland, MA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
User submitted photo
"This is what I use when I want to wear my hair curl. After I get out of the shower, I use for a all day hold and frizz control. I like it because it doesn't leave my hair feeling crunchy. Soft curls."
My salon isThe Village on Main, Northampton, MA
This product is best for:less frizz soft curls
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

perfect prepper

PostedJune 21, 2011
Customer avatar
By bethann06
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Ann Arbor
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"detangles, smooths and tames the hair, leaving it in shape for curly styling"
My salon isDouglas J. Salon
This product is best for:taming frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Being Curly

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
By AKGrrl
From:Girdwood, alaska
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
I am devoted to Aveda
"I love the Be Curly Line. I am not great at styling my hair, but this collection makes a different "do" super easy. When I use these products, I always get compliments. People I hardly know tell me my hair looks beautiful, and people I know well all want to know what product I'm using. I have never gotten so many compliments on my hair before! It makes my waves in to real curls."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Curl Enhancer!

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Customer avatar
By GingerG
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
From:California
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 1987
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I got a sample of this new product and bought the full sized bottle right away. It works so well to make my long wavy hair really curly and full. I love that it also conditions the hair and leaves no crunchy residue. It works like a medium hold gel, but curls stay soft with lots of movement. I've found that it is imperative to apply this product when my hair is soaking wet right out of the shower. It dries quickly, so is difficult to work with on dry or almost dry hair. It does work well the second day if you just mist with water and scrunch, or mist your hair till it's very wet and reapply more product."
This product is best for:enhancing curls, adding body, conditioning curls
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says it does!

PostedJune 16, 2011
Customer avatar
By najo
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
From:Boise ID
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"Keeps my hair curly all day. It adds a boast that Be Curley by itself doesn't. Love the two products. Aveda, you have done it again!"
My salon isGaeber & Co
This product is best for:giving volume to soft curls, curls and curls
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for cute wavy hair too

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
By SomeCallMeB
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Bay Area, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
"My hair has natural wave to it, not really curls. However left to its own devices my hair waves are asymmetrical and get flat throughout the day. I use style prep with the full Be Curly system and it gives my hair direction and a cute "wavy beach hair" look that can last morning to evening."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for curly hair

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
By AnnaS
"This product is perfect for my curly hair. I run a drop through my wet hair, scrunch with my fingers, and let air dry-- my curls come out well-defined every time. I've tried many products over the years, and most leave some kind of residue or make my hair feel stiff. This product doesn't-- no scent, no residue, and great ingredients."
This product is best for:Curly hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jury is still out

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
By SpinAZ
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Tucson, AZ, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I was using the Smooth Style-Prep and my hair was soft, and it controlled the fly-a-ways. Then my stylist switched me to this one. I really don't see a different between this and the Smoother Style-Prep. It is a light product and if I use it or not, I don't see that much of a different in my style. I will not go without the Curl Enhancer, and I love how that finishes my look, I'm not sure how much this is really doing for me ...."
My salon isElements in Balance
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as part of the whole Be Curly system

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
By GymCoach
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
From:San Jose, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2010
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have pretty unruly hair, and although I have a lot of natural curl, it doesn't always want to behave. This product is great as part of the whole Be Curly system. After applying this and the Curl Enhancer and with a little guidance by twisting pieces of my hair around my finger, my curls look de-frizzed, bouncy, and defined without crunch. Great smell too."
My salon isAtelier Studio at Santana Row
This product is best for:curl, definition, anti frizz
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST for defining curl

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
By Caoweme
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
From:Mn
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1993
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"LOVE this product for my permed hair. It takes away the frizzy look and defines the wave without being too heavy for my fine hair. SO glad Aveda FINALLY came out with a perfect curl definer.
Have been using this since they launched it.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
By curlygirl83
"Be curly style prep is great. It is a lightweight serum that smooths and helps detangle curls."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
By lvallelian
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Lewisville, TX, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I love how it makes my curls really soft and manageable with no crunchiness. It helps make my hair touchable; my boyfriend can't seem to be able to leave my hair alone! It smells really good, but the scent doesn't linger too much. This is incredibly awesome. I don't know how I would manage my curls without this. Thanks!"
My salon isTangerine Salon, Highland Village TX
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Curly Hair!

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By kayob
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Northern, VA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use this to make my naturally curly hair look wonderful! This is the only product I have used for years. My curls come out defined and soft with absolutely no frizz. This is a must have for curly hair!"
My salon isJouvence Aveda
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Be Curly™ Style-Prep™
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

less frizz

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By iggymama
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Austin, TX, USA
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I use this with Be Curly and the Curl controller. It's light and doesn't weigh hair down. It helps keep the frizz down on my natural curly hair. It is a bit pricey for the size."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>