Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Shammy Cloth

Shammy Cloth

gentle-to-skin shammy cloth
Overall rating:
4.639 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 Reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
58 of 61(95%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Shammy Cloth
Review 1 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Aveda Shammy Cloth

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Customer avatar
By CreativityCity
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
From:Seattle, WA
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1978
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I've been using the Aveda Shammy Cloth for almost ten years. I cannot say enough good things about it. Due to my sensitive skin, I have to be very careful about the products I use, including washcloths, make-up applicators, etc. Cleansing my face with the shammy cloth each night is a calming ritual that I look forward to before climbing into bed. I start that ritual by soaking the cloth in very warm water and place it over my weary face for a couple of minutes before starting to cleanse. It's soft texture feels amazing. Next step is adding cleanser directly to my face and then I use the shammy to wipe it off with frequent rinses under the faucet. Sometimes, I add a little cleanser to the cloth itself to wash out make-up residue (mascara) before hanging it to dry on a towel rack. Yes, it hardens as it dries to keep bacteria from growing. It softens again with water. Sometimes, I will add the shammy to the laundry (with an unscented, organic detergent), but I place it in a delicate garment bag to keep it from getting stretched/torn. Caution: Do not add fabric softener because it will absorb it. Do not put it in the drier. After a year or two, the shammy may begin to tear along the edges. I have used them like that for quite a while before replacing. Once the splits lengthen, I may intentionally tear in half and use it for travel. I never travel without a shammy. The washcloths in hotels are saturated with bleach! LOVE THE SHAMMY!"
This product is best for:All skin types, gentle yet thorough cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmy SHAMMY!

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Customer avatar
By AvedaKelly
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
From:Orange County Ca
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1994
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"When you use AVEDA you should be using the Shammy Cloth. It's like a hand in a glove. A "Must Have" for anyone serious about their skin care.
Suggestions/tips for the Shammy cloth:
1) Perfect for sensitive skin. Its soft and doesn't make you break out.
2) Don't worry after you use it, it dries quickly so bacteria doesn't rapidly grow.
3) You can wash it but DO NOT use fabric softner.
4) if you wash it, DO NOT put it in the drier
5) Use an organic and unscented detergent
6) Have more than one on hand just in case.
7) Perfect for traveling as Hotel wash cloths have a lot of bleach and softners that aren't good for your skin.
You will find that this shammy is ideal for your skin. It's soft, very fine texture and you'll be amazed how good it feels on your skin."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 5, 2008
Customer avatar
By Aldona
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:New York
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I am a very critical person when it comes to face products. That being said - I would like to assure you - if you're reading this now - that this face washing cloth is the best ever made. I use masks on my face. My skin is acne prone. This cloth takes masks, make-up, bronzer, foundation INSTANTLY! It is so worth buying."
This product is best for:All skin types, acne skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not aveda's best

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Customer avatar
By avedababe
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Philadelphia, PA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
"I was excited to use this cloth but realized that it didn't do anything that a normal wash cloth didn't. I'd spend my money on Aveda products rather than this cloth."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have Product

PostedOctober 6, 2008
Customer avatar
By Tigress
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Elko, NV
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I have very dry/combination skin and use of this with my everyday exfoliant toner is the ONLY thing that keeps my face both free of scaly skin, breakouts in my T-zone and has diminished my pore size. My Aveda skin care regiment is far less effective without this shammy."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
By jojo1
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:North Carolina, USA
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
"I love this product. It is the best face cloth I have ever used. It rinses completely and dries quickly so there is no residue or “damp smell”. If you think of all the face cloths you now have and /or use it replaces them all and lasts for a long time. I would never go back to using any other face cloth."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AHHH LOVE THE SHAMMY!!

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
By anha
From:Washington, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"was hesitant with replacing the washcloth with a shammy but I have NOT used a washcloth since i received my shammy in the mail. i love it. it dries hard as a rock but softens right up under water. my only question is how do i wash it? I've used it for two weeks in a row without washing it and there are no smells and no stains to get out so I'm not too worried about it. I'm not surprised that i love this because i have loved every aveda product i have tried. i will definitely purchase a few more so i can rotate. YOU SHOULD BUY AN AVEDA SHAMMY!"
This product is best for:you
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my Favorite Aveda Products

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
By teachermom
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
From:Syracuse, NY, USA
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1992
I am an Aveda customer
"Love love love these shammys! Bought several for Christmas gifts"
My salon isKarma Salon
This product is best for:Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Wash Cloth!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer avatar
By Maie
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I like the shammy cloth because it is non abrasive and gently removes make up. I gave a 4 star rating because it can be hard to remove mascara - not even the waterproof kind. Overall, I love it because it feels good on my face and dries quickly."
This product is best for:Dry skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most amazing face cloth ever!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
By etwitchie
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"When it's wet, it's so, so, so soft. It feels great, like a mini facial, every time you wash your face. It squeezes out water really well so you don't drip it all over your sink. It dries stiff so if you're traveling, fold it up to be compact. Awesome product!"
This product is best for:Normal skin, Combination skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmy with your Shammy

PostedApril 6, 2009
Customer avatar
By ashetler
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Goshen, IN
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I needed to get a new loafa and remembered that I had an Aveda Shammy that I used to use. When I pitched the loafa and washed my shammy, I couldn't remember excatly why I had stopped using it. I get such great sudz with my shammy that I didn't get with my loafa. I love it. I usually end up buying one for birthdays for friends and family. Soon I'll have to find another great Aveda item to start buying! I love using this, plus it's great because you can throw it in the washer and wash it!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleanse face without wetting it!

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Customer avatar
By supportAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:San Jose, CA
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"It's a great company if you want to wash your face without wetting it, especially in this cold winter.... I'd first massage Cetaphil cleanser onto face and then use shammy to wipe it off (the shammy must be wet). It's also great to wipe off my Enbrightenment intensive masque, leaving my face supple and soft. Much better than tissue or cotton balls!
Thanks Aveda for such innovative product!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than a wash cloth

PostedApril 5, 2010
Customer avatar
By gilesmic
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Illinois
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"My face use to always be red after I washed it and I started to wonder if it was from irritation from my wash cloth. So, I thought I'd try this and it definitely helps. It's so much softer and less irritating than a wash cloth. It also dries fast so you don't get mold or bacteria growing on it like a wash cloth. It does get super hard once it dries, but is completely soft again after it gets wet."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful invention

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Customer avatar
By prifiore
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Dallas, TX
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I bought this for my husband since he was going through wash cloths to wash his face every night & this has been a fantastic replacement (I was able to get rid of all the wash cloths)! It drys without any smell since it's a shammy cloth & it's not abrasive on the face like regular wash cloths can be. Very innovative to have brought this for face care use."
This product is best for:Normal skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Customer avatar
By RAGAZZA
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Chicago, IL
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I bought one as a gift for a friend and decided to try it myself and I haven't washed my face without it since! Its very gentle on the skin and leaves just the right amount of dampness behind allowing your moisturizer to be absorbed more easily into the skin. It stiffs up when it dries like a shammy cloth but softens right up when you wet it."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent makeup remover/pore reducer

PostedJune 1, 2011
Customer avatar
By joysongdrama
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Wyndhurst in Lynchburg, VA
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I love this wash cloth and wish I had found it years ago. It is terrific for remving makeup, and it helps to scrub gentley my large pores. I love how gentle yet deep cleaning it is.
This wash cloth is revolutionary!
"
My salon isAbout Face
This product is best for:All skin types, sensitive skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waaay Smoother Than Anything Else

PostedApril 6, 2010
Customer avatar
By AvedaGeek
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Belgium
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
"The Shammy Cloth has a very fine and soft texture, to take cleansers, masques off in a very gentle way without producing any redness at all (my skin turns completely red after using a normal washcloth).
Great for sensitive or acne skin since you don't want to stimulate these skintypes any more by using a more textured cloth."
This product is best for:All skin types, especially sensitive and acne skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

should have bought one sooner

PostedApril 20, 2010
Customer avatar
By iHeartAllThingsAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Cincinnati, oh
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I was a skeptic but honestly i read enough ratings saying how nice this product was I though I would try it. & yes it does dry like the texture of an egg carton but when moistened with water again it will be the same awesome smooth soft texture as when you take it from the package!"
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shammy Cloth

PostedMarch 14, 2009
Customer avatar
By Beck9354
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Salem, VA
Hair type medium
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"My dtr has suffered w/acne for 4 yrs. We have tried everything even Retin-A Micro from her doctor. Once we purchased the shammy cloth this has worked miracles for her face combined with the Retin-A. The shammy cloth has helped her acne 100%."
This product is best for:Oily skin, acne
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shammy Cloth
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This

PostedJune 12, 2010
Customer avatar
By SISULady
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:Orlando, FL
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"The shammy feels so wonderful when I am washing my face....no pulling. And then just rinse it off and dry my face with it...no overdrying."
This product is best for:All skin types
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>