Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

softens while adding shine
Overall rating:
4.705 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(427 reviews) 404
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 427 Reviews
5 Stars
340
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
409 of 424(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By FaithfulAvedaShopper
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By reiglet
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me. "
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Really Is Brilliant!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By Calin
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Susquehanna County, PA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have baby fine hair that gets very tangled, particularly after washing. It is also thinning and is color-treated. I have spent years trying to find products that successfully detangle--until now. The Brilliant shampoo/conditioner combination is the best I've found for detangling baby fine hair--and I have also used several other Aveda products. As a bonus, the combination creates shine for color-treated hair, provides bounce and volume and has a very nice aroma. "
My salon isAcacia
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By kalika
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By stonefox
" I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By Mcmdcuellar
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it ! "
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for thick or coarse hair!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By 1fabulousgal
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:North Carolina, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This is a great product for cleansing thoroughly but gently. It never strips or dries my thick, wavy, slightly coarse hair. It lathers nicely and has a strong, spicy scent that I especially enjoy during cooler weather. The aroma is the reason I only gave it 4 stars, though, as it is quite strong and some people (my mom) may not care for it. Overall a good product. "
My salon isBody Beautiful
This product is best for:gentle yet thorough cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As always.............

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Customer avatar
By NanaH
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Albuquerque, NM, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I've used this shampoo, "Brilliant" for a long time and it's my favorite and love the litre size. What is wonderful is the shine in my hair it creates. I must tell you that the sample of "Damage Remedy" is wonderful and I will be using it from now on. Thank you Aveda! "
My salon isMark Pardo
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Noticeable Improvement to Hair

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
By Wabs
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Milwaukee, WI, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" I don't use a lot of product in my hair, so I wash it every other day...I've gone as long as 5 days in between washing. Now I use this every morning just because it smells so good. My hair has a bit of texture, but it's still thin, and it gets wavy. This has smoothed everything out without weighing anything down. It makes my hair squeaky-clean. I love this and just ordered the large versions of this and the conditioner. The smell is amazing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love Aveda and Brilliant

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
By McNulty
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Millsboro, DE, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am devoted to Aveda
" My husband and I have been using Brilliant for 10 years or more. He uses Brilliant Retexturing Gel and I use the Brilliant Hair Spray, as well as Brilliant Conditioner. I have been asked many times what I use on my hair and I have introduced many friends and strangers to Aveda. We wouldn't be with out your products. "
My salon isI usually cut my own hair; however when I do go, I go to Bad Hair Day
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super clean and soft!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By Settes94
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Metairie, LA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Male
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" This shampoo really cleans and gets rid of the product build up in your hair. I recommend purchasing the conditioner to go with this because the two together really work well. "
My salon isKeith Noonan Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

always wonderful

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Customer avatar
By erint
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Connecticut, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I love Aveda products because they are environmentally friendly and do not test on animals. I use brilliant because the smell is wonderful! "
My salon isBeautiful Peole
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
By ShinyOctopus108
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Washington, DC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" My hair is usually frizzy, unruly and rough feeling. I color m hair and used to highlight it a lot so it has been through a lot. I recently switched to Brilliance at the suggestion of an Aveda store salesperson and oh my goodness it is a miracle in a bottle! I shampoo with brilliance and condition with shampure. Really a winning combination. "
My salon isArt and Chemistry, Kensington, MD
This product is best for:soft
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My hair is super clean

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By DeliaAnne
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Deltona, FL, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am devoted to Aveda
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" This shampoo is the best! I have very oily long hair and this is THE best shampoo. My hair has never felt so clean and is so soft. The fragrance is wonderful! "
This product is best for:clean
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shampoo is a must have for me!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By Nanoo
From:Almond, NC 28713, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have baby fine hair and as I have aged it is also thinning. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair appear fuller without that feeling of stripping it or roughing up the hair shaft. I love the natural scent it has as well.
When I started using Brilliant my daughter noticed the difference and is now buying the same shampoo for herself. "
This product is best for:cleans without being harsh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic shampoo for course hair

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
By gwilliams
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Birmingham, AL, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" If you have coarse or thick hair that runs on the dry side, this product is for you! I love the shine and smell this shampoo gives my hair and it keeps the fly aways tamed. The entire brilliant line is perfect for keeping my hair shiny and smooth. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a "brilliant' shampoo for coarser hair

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
By Staciluck
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
From:Long Island, New York, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1989
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" If you are like me, you have hair that is dull, heavy, thick, and wavy, and so porous it soaks up moisture and product as if it's drinking it through a straw. I love this shampoo because it doesn't overdry my hair; it leaves it shiny and really soft. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By MamaSalsa
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:New Orleans, LA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I notice a difference in shine after using the Brilliant Shampoo once. My friends even asked me how I got my hair to look so shiny. I like to change up my shampoo and conditioner from time to time, but this will definitely be in the mix. "
My salon isKeith Noonan
This product is best for:shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
By limeaide
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Upstate, New York
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This is the best product that I've ever used on my daughter's hair(5 yrs old) and my hair. We are both African American and have textured hair and the product not only smells heavenly but adds moisture and great sheen. My hair never felt smoother and moisturized before. My daughter's hair was so smooth and soft hat she did not cry when I combed her hair. The brilliant conditioner is highly recommended by me. Aveda products are more then worth the price "
This product is best for:Coarse hair, Dry hair, Wavy hair, Curly hair, coarce, super dry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>