Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

softens while adding shine
Overall rating:
4.701 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(404 reviews) 381
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 404 Reviews
5 Stars
321
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
387 of 402(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
"This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely."
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By FaithfulAvedaShopper
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By reiglet
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me."
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By kalika
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super clean and soft!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By Settes94
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Metairie, LA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Male
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
"This shampoo really cleans and gets rid of the product build up in your hair. I recommend purchasing the conditioner to go with this because the two together really work well."
My salon isKeith Noonan Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By stonefox
"I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By Mcmdcuellar
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
"I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it !"
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Smelling Hair anywhere!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
By GurneeBill
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Gurnee, IL, USA
Gender Male
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"This shampoo smells soooooo good. I get compliments from anyone that gets near my hair (and I am a man). I tried other brands but keep coming back to this shampoo. My hair is softer due to this shampoo, but not too soft and flyaway. I get the perfect results every time. Th Fragrance is unbeatable. I first smelled this fragrance on a neighbors wife's hair. Now my wife and I both use it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for dry, textured hair

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
By aatdoor
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Minnesota, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I use other products from the Brilliant line and this is my latest addition to the range I use. The fragrance is beautiful also aids in stress relief. I've had this used at the salon before and wanted to add it to the conditioner to increase the product benefits for moisture, shine, and control."
My salon isAveda Hair Institute Minneapolis
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for non-treated hair too

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By naturalblonde2
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I love this shampoo! It's perfect for non-treated hair, too! I have naturally blonde hair and my hair was dry and felt coarse before it was suggested I try this product! Now my hair is soft and shiny!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The shampoo is Brilliant on many levels

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
By Elephant86Crusader
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:New Orleans, LA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have used this shampoo for at least 2 years now. I was using Shampure (which I also love) but because I was getting my hair darkened, my beauty operator suggested this type. You do not need a lot to suds up your hair. It is light. It also smells wonderful. I always buy the large bottle and between my daughter and myself, we can make it last 6 months or more--easily. I am so spoiled with this shampoo that I refuse to use any other brand. If you are a constant user of Aveda, other shampoo will begin to smell toxic and make you queasy. I am not trying to be an alarmist but really, when you compare to other shampoo, Aveda brand smells and feels natural."
This product is best for:healthy hair and body
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Overall

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By JacM
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I received a free trial of this product No
Hair type medium
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
"This is a great shampoo for general hair care. It has a wonderful scent. It does not weigh hair down like a lot of shampoos."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Hair's Best Friend

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By Sweetbriar
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have thick, fine hair that likes to be half in ringlets and half straight. Conventional grocery store shampoo makes it dry and tangly, clean shampoos make it oily and really heavy. But the Brilliant shampoo is amazing. It makes my hair soft, shiny, and light with big curls everywhere. I'm in love. Just ordered a litre. Oh, and the fragrance is nice and not too strong, but I can it smell lightly even when my hair is dry. Perfection."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Soft and silky

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By ALorenz524
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern texture
I am an Aveda customer
"I have what I've coined "combination hair", oily and dry at the same time. This shampoo (and conditioner) have really made a difference. My hair is shiny, silky, soft, AND more manageable than ever. The smell is very nice too. I definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a little bit of everything for their hair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the whole Brilliant line!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By DermNurse
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Minnesota, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I have been using this line, shampoo, conditioner and hairspray for years! Love the shine and softness. I have had compliments on how my hair looks."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
By NWGirlsRock54
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
From:Olympic Peninsula, Washington
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"I wanted a product that would make my hair softer and shinier. I love all things Aveda so I decided to switch to the Brilliant product line from the one I have been using for years. It does exactly what I want it to. Brilliant is perfect for my thin, fine chemically processed, old hair and does not weigh it down. The shine is amazing, the texture is smooth and it looks full. Definitely going to keep using it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellence in a bottle

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
By sarahbun
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type oily
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 1988
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"From the smell, to the results this shampoo has it all."
This product is best for:great hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shampoo is a must have for me!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By Nanoo
From:Almond, NC 28713, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
"I have baby fine hair and as I have aged it is also thinning. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair appear fuller without that feeling of stripping it or roughing up the hair shaft. I love the natural scent it has as well.
When I started using Brilliant my daughter noticed the difference and is now buying the same shampoo for herself."
This product is best for:cleans without being harsh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
By JillyJazzDoll
From:New York, NY, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
"As I swimmer, I love that I can rely on Brilliant to cleanse my hair well after a swim. I love its smell (like other Aveda products) and fresh feeling it leaves me with."
My salon isScott J. Aveda Columbus
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Noticeable difference after one wash!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
By SKKQSI
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Virginia Beach
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
"New favorite! I have long. fine, colored and highlighted hair that is very dry and frizzy. Color conserve, smooth infusion, and damage remedy seemed to either do nothing, or make my hair worse. Dry remedy is good, but seems like it is not enough at times. I like the conditioner of this line, so decided tried the shampoo since I am running out of dry remedy. WOW! I love it. It makes my hair feel soft and clean but not stripped. After using this shampoo, I can run my wide tooth comb through my damp hair with very little tugging. This one is a winner!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>