Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

softens while adding shine
Overall rating:
4.701 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(422 reviews) 399
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 422 Reviews
5 Stars
335
4 Stars
65
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
404 of 419(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By FaithfulAvedaShopper
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By reiglet
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me. "
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By kalika
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Noticeable Improvement to Hair

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
By Wabs
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Milwaukee, WI, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" I don't use a lot of product in my hair, so I wash it every other day...I've gone as long as 5 days in between washing. Now I use this every morning just because it smells so good. My hair has a bit of texture, but it's still thin, and it gets wavy. This has smoothed everything out without weighing anything down. It makes my hair squeaky-clean. I love this and just ordered the large versions of this and the conditioner. The smell is amazing. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Really Is Brilliant!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By Calin
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Susquehanna County, PA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have baby fine hair that gets very tangled, particularly after washing. It is also thinning and is color-treated. I have spent years trying to find products that successfully detangle--until now. The Brilliant shampoo/conditioner combination is the best I've found for detangling baby fine hair--and I have also used several other Aveda products. As a bonus, the combination creates shine for color-treated hair, provides bounce and volume and has a very nice aroma. "
My salon isAcacia
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By stonefox
" I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By Mcmdcuellar
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it ! "
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super clean and soft!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By Settes94
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Metairie, LA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Male
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" This shampoo really cleans and gets rid of the product build up in your hair. I recommend purchasing the conditioner to go with this because the two together really work well. "
My salon isKeith Noonan Salon
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
By MamaSalsa
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
From:New Orleans, LA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2007
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I notice a difference in shine after using the Brilliant Shampoo once. My friends even asked me how I got my hair to look so shiny. I like to change up my shampoo and conditioner from time to time, but this will definitely be in the mix. "
My salon isKeith Noonan
This product is best for:shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Shampoo

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
By Cdib
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Tennessee
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" This product Never disappoints. I have been using Brilliant shampoo for years because it simply makes my hair feel so clean, soft and shinny not to mention the smell is so "Aveda" . I must say I Love Aveda! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

soft and shiny with weight

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
By banns
From:ma
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have thin straight color treated hair. This shampoo and conditioner line did make my hair soft and shiny, but after a couple of uses I noticed my hair felt weighed down. I will be trying a different line from Aveda next time. "
My salon iscapelli avanti
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By Savannahanna
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
From:Savannah, GA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Nothing makes my hair smell so good or shine so much ..without changing the color or drying it out! "
This product is best for:shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this Shampoo!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Customer avatar
By tssm1
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:NH
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This shampoo is great as an alternative to the Color Conservative shampoo. Smells great and my hair feels so clean after I use it! "
My salon isEco Salon - Londonderry NH
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shampoo

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
By Suzyqueue
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:Milwaukee, WI, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" The first thing you'll experience as you lather this shampoo is the invigorating, but not overpowering scent. After you dry your hair, you still smell this shampoo's fragrance which leaves your hair silky and shiny. It makes washing your hair an experience rather than just another item on your to-do list. "
My salon isLovely Salon in Milwaukee, WI
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant Shampoo

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Customer avatar
By Strut
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:indiana
I received a free trial of this product Yes
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type dry
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" It has done wonders for my hair.... my hair is color treated, and it has softened it and also keep my color fresh and fade proof..
love the scent and texture "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for super shiny hair

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
By lovebird11
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
From:Portland, OR, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Skin type oily
Choosing Aveda Since 1990
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
" If your goal is super shiny hair then this is the shampoo for you. I was amazed at how shiny, soft & manageable my hair was after I used it. The smell is amazing as well. "
My salon isGiGi Salon & Spa West Linn
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
By Jess1983
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:MInnesota
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Love the scent of the Brilliant line. It works well and smells wonderful! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice quality shampoo

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
By brendaW
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Enfield, CT, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" As with most of the Aveda products I purchase the first thing I noticed as the scent. Truly amazing. A beautiful soothing scent. this product left my hair silky and smooth with a shiny finish. Love it will highly recommend. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for thick or coarse hair!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Customer avatar
By 1fabulousgal
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:North Carolina, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" This is a great product for cleansing thoroughly but gently. It never strips or dries my thick, wavy, slightly coarse hair. It lathers nicely and has a strong, spicy scent that I especially enjoy during cooler weather. The aroma is the reason I only gave it 4 stars, though, as it is quite strong and some people (my mom) may not care for it. Overall a good product. "
My salon isBody Beautiful
This product is best for:gentle yet thorough cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>