Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

restores softness and shine
Overall rating:
4.693 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(466 reviews) 443
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 466 Reviews
5 Stars
372
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Star
8
443 of 463(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not that great

PostedNovember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Corpus Christi, TX, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type dry
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest Yes
User submitted photo
" Maybe I just got a bad bottle, because I've never had a bad Aveda product. This stuff would not lather and made my hair feel greasy. Did not add any shine, bounce, or anything it claims to add. Only left my hair limp, dry, and feeling unclean. Disappointed. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Aveda Daily Shampoo, and I have Fine Hair!

PostedOctober 28, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
From:Boca Raton, FL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2001
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" I think I've tried every single Aveda shampoo available, and never stuck with one very long. I love the smell of Shampure, but I feel it's a little too clarifying for my color-treated hair. Even though the sales associate told me the Brilliant line is generally for those with more coarse, thick hair, I decided to give it a try. I have been using Brilliant Shampoo and Conditioner for over a year now. I have fine straight/slightly wavy thin hair (but I do have a lot of it). Brilliant is my HG shampoo and conditioner. It gently cleanses my hair, and the conditioner is more moisturizing than most of the others I've tried. I keep trying to figure out how to describe the scent. I think it smells like autumn (which I personally love). Great line of products. PLEASE do not discontinue! "
My salon isPyure Salon Boynton Beach
This product is best for:gentle cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOT FINE HAIR? This system works for me and might for you!!!

PostedDecember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:Wisconsin
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern hold
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" Initially, I was first drawn to the smell of Brilliant, and although I don't use it everyday, it is my favorite shampoo. I use it along with Brilliant Conditioner. I then mix AVEDA's Confixor and Phomollient together and blow dry my hair. Once I am done, I use one of three AVEDA products (Smooth Infusion, Light Elements, or Control Paste) to keep my style. As I am writing this, it sounds like I use a lot of product, but it doesn't feel that way. I have very fine hair and AVEDA products are the only products that I have found that both work AND smell the way that I want them to. I sometimes use other products, but have never been nearly as satisfied with them as I am with my AVEDA products. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me. "
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing shampoo

PostedNovember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Corydon IN
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have very thick course hair. Plus it is graying. This shampoo makes my hair manageable and softer. I have looked and tried hundreds of products and won't look any further. Love it. "
My salon isCut-n-up
This product is best for:moisture
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
" I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
From:New Hampshire
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1995
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" I had been using color conserve shampoo and thought I would try this for a change. I like the feel of my hair after shampooing and probably will change to this shampoo full time. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite shampoo!

PostedSeptember 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have finally found a shampoo that thoroughly cleans my oily scalp and leaves my hair shiny and smooth. Not to mention the scent...so wonderful! I absolutely love it! Please do not ever change or discontinue it! "
This product is best for:shine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant shampoo!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:Wisconsin, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" The best, refreshing shampoo I have ever used! I have short, texturized hair and I love the way my hair feels and styles after each use. My scalp feels clean and refreshed after using this product! I have used this product for quite a few years now and never want to be without! "
My salon isnone
This product is best for:a good clean!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!!

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Berryville, VA 22611, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
" Aveda Brilliant Shampoo saved my hair. I was so done with having my long hair! I was considering cutting it short! Then, I tried Aveda Brilliant and now I don't know what I'd do without it. It's amazing!! I love my hair again! If you're considering this product...go for it!! I use less shampoo now and have better results! I've tried MANY top brands and they have NOTHING on Aveda!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for thick course hair

PostedNovember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:North Port, FL, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
Reviewed as part of sweepstakes/contest No
" I love many of the Aveda products (Clove, Black Malva, Color Conserve) and the Brilliant Line was recommended by an Aveda consultant for my thick course hair. I have given it a week and my hair lacked the usual softness. "
My salon isJames Griffith
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally found one that works!

PostedJuly 20, 2009
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
From:Whitefish Bay, WI
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern curl enhancement
Choosing Aveda Since 1996
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Since discontinuing the Sap Moss shampoo & conditioner I have tried every combination Aveda has to offer. This is the best I've found for my hair type. I have thick/coarse, naturally curly, color treated, shoulder length hair. Every other combination gave my a tangled mess that looked flat and dry after styling. Using this shampoo with the Brilliant Conditioner gives me healthy looking hair that is easy to comb through after using it. I get good curl when styling and the smell is great! "
This product is best for:Coarse hair, Thick hair, Dry hair, Straight hair, Wavy hair, Curly hair
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Upstate, New York
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" This is the best product that I've ever used on my daughter's hair(5 yrs old) and my hair. We are both African American and have textured hair and the product not only smells heavenly but adds moisture and great sheen. My hair never felt smoother and moisturized before. My daughter's hair was so smooth and soft hat she did not cry when I combed her hair. The brilliant conditioner is highly recommended by me. Aveda products are more then worth the price "
This product is best for:Coarse hair, Dry hair, Wavy hair, Curly hair, coarce, super dry
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy to use this

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
From:Chicago
Hair type medium
Skin type oily
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 2008
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" My hair had lost its shine and looked dull after all the chemical treatment and using straightening products.
After using this shampoo I can see a difference. My hair has started looking shinier. I hope to get all the shine and strength back to my hair.
My hair has a lot of frizz so I first started with the Smooth infusion products. But somehow I didn't find much difference. But this Brilliant shampoo definitely makes my hair look healthier.
"
This product is best for:Oily hair, Straight hair, frizzy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shampoo is a must have for me!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
From:Almond, NC 28713, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have baby fine hair and as I have aged it is also thinning. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair appear fuller without that feeling of stripping it or roughing up the hair shaft. I love the natural scent it has as well.
When I started using Brilliant my daughter noticed the difference and is now buying the same shampoo for herself. "
This product is best for:cleans without being harsh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it ! "
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic shampoo for course hair

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Birmingham, AL, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" If you have coarse or thick hair that runs on the dry side, this product is for you! I love the shine and smell this shampoo gives my hair and it keeps the fly aways tamed. The entire brilliant line is perfect for keeping my hair shiny and smooth. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>