Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

restores softness and shine
Overall rating:
4.707 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(443 reviews) 420
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 443 Reviews
5 Stars
353
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
5
1 Star
6
424 of 440(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By girlAveda
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By FaithfulAvedaShopper
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By reiglet
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me. "
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleans well without being hasrh

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
By beehivekristine
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have dreadlocks and this is my favorite shampoo. This cleans my scalp and dreads completely without leaving a residual buildup. Dreads can be itchy and smelly if not cared for properly, but this shampoo does a great job. It smells fantastic! I constantly have people compliment me on my fragrance, then I tell them it's my shampoo- they're always surprised. It also doesn't strip hair color. This is very concentrated and a little goes a long way. I actually mix it with distilled water in a liter pump bottle. "
My salon isdon't have one
This product is best for:good ffor dreads
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By stonefox
" I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By Aschne1111
I received a free trial of this product Yes
" love this shampoo, smells great, cleanses hair and scalp, adds moisture and volume, detangles hair, works wonderfully! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made my hair so soft!!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By holly087
From:Wisconsin
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" today was my first time using the Brilliant shampoo and I can say it's definitely a winner! Lathers up and once I rinse it's so nice I feel like I could get away without using conditioner! Love it "
My salon isEdge Salon Mayville, WI
This product is best for:moisturizing, shine, softness
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By DCJAK
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
" The best Aveda shampoo! It's my favorite one :). Works for all hair types "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Really Is Brilliant!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By Calin
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Susquehanna County, PA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have baby fine hair that gets very tangled, particularly after washing. It is also thinning and is color-treated. I have spent years trying to find products that successfully detangle--until now. The Brilliant shampoo/conditioner combination is the best I've found for detangling baby fine hair--and I have also used several other Aveda products. As a bonus, the combination creates shine for color-treated hair, provides bounce and volume and has a very nice aroma. "
My salon isAcacia
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Brilliant is a light, clean, quality shampoo

PostedMay 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By soulspark
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
From:Tucson, AZ, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2002
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Switched from using Clove shampoo to Brilliant to change things up a bit! Brilliant feels lighter and while it may not moisturize as much as the clove shampoo does it will leave your hair shiny:) "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By kalika
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By SilverTip
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type fine
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 1980
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" Since my hair turned grey/white, this shampoo makes my hair soft,shiney and bright. I use the conditioner,hairspray in this line too! "
My salon isReccias
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes my hair shiny

PostedMay 18, 2015
Customer avatar
By redrosepinkheart
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2005
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I like this shampoo and conditioner because it makes my dark and thick hair appear shiny. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Heavenly scent, weighed my hair down

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Customer avatar
By eastdakota
From:San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Hair type fine
Hair concern volume
" I love love love the scent of this shampoo. It's amazing. Unfortunately, with super thick but extra fine hair, my hair goes flat very easily. This shampoo left a strange texture to my hair and flattened it to the point that I couldn't even use the shampoo once a week.
Ah well. "
This product is best for:scent
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly brilliant!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Customer avatar
By Katiek42
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
From:Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
Choosing Aveda Since 2009
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" My hair has never been so healthy since I began diligent use of this shampoo. Another perk, my husband loves the way it smells!!! "
My salon isCity Looks
This product is best for:cleaning
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this shampoo is a game changer!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Customer avatar
By bonnie591
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern repair damage
I am an Aveda customer
" I don't normally rave about a product, but when I do, it probably has done magic for me! I've always had very hard to manage hair. Super tangled, weak and easy to break. I went to an Aveda salon and my hairstylist suggested the brilliant shampoo and conditioner line to me. It's probably 10x the price of what I'm used to paying at the drug store but I would say it's worth it. I love the smell (pretty much smells like what all 'natural' products smell like)! I no longer feel the need to wash my hair every single day (I used to, because my hair would get super oily by the end of the day and I couldn't take it). I just put in some maroccan oil on the 2nd day.
Although it doesn't FEEL oily, my hair is kinda bunched up into sections like oily hair does. I don't mind it, but if there's another line of shampoo/conditioner that does the same as Brilliant + solve this problem, that would be awesome!
I think I would continue purchasing the shampoo for sure! A good hair day is a good day. "
My salon isJuut Palo Alto
This product is best for:detangling
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By Mcmdcuellar
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it ! "
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and hydrating

PostedApril 17, 2015
Customer avatar
By TahoeGirl
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
" Great shampoo that hydrates my hair without weighing it down. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shampoo is a must have for me!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By Nanoo
From:Almond, NC 28713, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have baby fine hair and as I have aged it is also thinning. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair appear fuller without that feeling of stripping it or roughing up the hair shaft. I love the natural scent it has as well.
When I started using Brilliant my daughter noticed the difference and is now buying the same shampoo for herself. "
This product is best for:cleans without being harsh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic shampoo for course hair

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
By gwilliams
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
From:Birmingham, AL, USA
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type coarse
Skin type acne prone
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2000
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" If you have coarse or thick hair that runs on the dry side, this product is for you! I love the shine and smell this shampoo gives my hair and it keeps the fly aways tamed. The entire brilliant line is perfect for keeping my hair shiny and smooth. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>