Aveda Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo

Brilliant™ Shampoo

restores softness and shine
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(451 reviews) 428
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 451 Reviews
5 Stars
359
4 Stars
67
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
430 of 448(96%)of Aveda customers recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews Brilliant™ Shampoo
Review 1 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

People ask what shampoo we use

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
From:Midwest
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type coarse
Skin type dry
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 2003
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
User submitted photo
" This is a great everyday shampoo with the scent of petigrain, orange, and lemon. I have used this shampoo for the past 10 years on and off. In fact, I have even bathed my dog with this shampoo. This works great and like Aveda says "it provides Shine." My sister in law who lives in France went out immediately to buy this shampoo after seeing the shine in our hair. The matching conditioner is very moisturizing and will complement this shampoo nicely. "
My salon isDomani Salon and Spa
This product is best for:provides a lot of shine
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Daily Shampoo with the right conditioner

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:CT
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Hair concern reduce frizz
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I was a 15 plus year user of the Rosemary mint shampoo but the formula has been changing over the years and at the end of 2012, it became totally unusable for me. I have pretty much tried most of Aveda's products looking for daily shampoo to replace the rosemary mint and I just found Brilliant. I have to say that I have been using this for almost four days now in sweltering humid heat in the Northeast and I actually like it. You definitely have to use it with the right conditioner though.. something moisturizing. I have long , blonde highlighted hair and this is perfect for my texture. Let's hope the next bottle is just as good since I do notice Aveda's products varying bottle by bottle. I also use the color conserve which I love but I can only use it for so many days and have to switch because it can be a little drying. So far, I am extremely happy I have found something to replace the rosemary mint although I hold out hope they they will go back to the original formula some day because I loved that shampoo. In the meantime, I have Brilliant and color conserve. I might just try the conditioner but I haven't had much luck with Aveda's conditioner. For now, I am happy with the shampoo and hope it doesn't change or disappear completely. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

brilliant shampoo!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
From:Wisconsin, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 55 to 64
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern texture
Choosing Aveda Since 1985
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" The best, refreshing shampoo I have ever used! I have short, texturized hair and I love the way my hair feels and styles after each use. My scalp feels clean and refreshed after using this product! I have used this product for quite a few years now and never want to be without! "
My salon isnone
This product is best for:a good clean!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get clean.

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
From:Madison, OH 44057, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Ok Well! I've been using brilliant shampoo (& conditioner) for a week now.
Previous to this I've been using Smooth Infusions #shampoo / conditioner / glossing straightener# and used it for almost 4 weeks straight then I ran out. I purchased brilliant b/c I am on a quest to find the perfect Aveda shampoo / conditioner for me before I invest in a huge bottle of each because that is a nearly year-long commitment.
If you use a lot of product and need to get your hair squeaky clean, brilliant just might be your best choice. I don't use a ton of product. Actually, I prefer using very little or none if I can get away with it, so for those purposes I really don't need a shampoo like this. But I can see this stuff washing away every bit of badness that is on your hair :-#
If you have textured hair #and want to keep it that way# this is a great choice for you! This stuff does NOT weigh your hair down, not one bit. I have noticed that since I've been using brilliant shampoo, the natural waves in my hair have been making an appearance. The ends of my tresses look as if I've loosely curled my hair. Very pretty. If you like that sort of thing. I am one of those girls who generally likes my hair to be straight straight straight with not a curl or wave in sight. Even after I have used my flat iron, within a matter of a few short hours those beautiful subtle waves / loose curls are back. I'm trying to learn to embrace them. Yes, they are pretty.
My favorite thing? The scent. It is beautiful. It is my favorite. It lasts and lasts throughout a long day, even sitting in ultra-humid conditions #like indoor swim meets that last 4 hours or more). I can't stop deliberately smelling my hair - I just love it. I love it more than the scent used in smooth infusions. It is spicy. My husband says it reminds him of some of the essential oils I use, earthy and heady and "rich"-smelling. Like frankincense and myrrh.
My hair is definitely clean. It is bouncy and full and looks and feels healthy. It is soft. I don't have to struggle with tangles when my hair is wet. But the shine is what is missing. Even with using the smooth infusions glossing straightener, in conjunction with the brilliant shampoo and conditioner, that shininess is just not there. I don't think it's due to the shampoo. I think it's from the conditioner #separate review forthcoming#. Yes my hair is shiny just not *as* shiny as with smooth infusion. And the name "brilliant" to me imparts a brilliant shine. I didn't get it. And I don't want to have to add more product to my hair in the form of shine-infusing sprays or pomades, etc. to get the shiny-ness i'm searching for.
But I do like the stuff, it does get my hair clean, I don't have to use a ton of it which is a money-saver so I appreciate the value. The fragrance is to die for.
I'll keep using it til the bottle is empty, but I don't think this is "the one" for me. "
My salon isLadies & Gentlemen Salon & Spa - Mentor, OH
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!!

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Berryville, VA 22611, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern reduce frizz
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
" Aveda Brilliant Shampoo saved my hair. I was so done with having my long hair! I was considering cutting it short! Then, I tried Aveda Brilliant and now I don't know what I'd do without it. It's amazing!! I love my hair again! If you're considering this product...go for it!! I use less shampoo now and have better results! I've tried MANY top brands and they have NOTHING on Aveda!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
" I loved this shampoo/conditioner combination when I tried it. It made my hair so soft and shiny. I will certainly purchase this one again. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
From:Baton Rouge
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
Choosing Aveda Since 2004
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have always loved this shampoo when getting my hair cut at the salon and finally purchased some for home. Love the smell and the way it makes my hair feel - soft and healthy. "
My salon isParis Parker Perkins Rowe
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cleans well without being hasrh

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Choosing Aveda Since 1991
I am a stylist
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have dreadlocks and this is my favorite shampoo. This cleans my scalp and dreads completely without leaving a residual buildup. Dreads can be itchy and smelly if not cared for properly, but this shampoo does a great job. It smells fantastic! I constantly have people compliment me on my fragrance, then I tell them it's my shampoo- they're always surprised. It also doesn't strip hair color. This is very concentrated and a little goes a long way. I actually mix it with distilled water in a liter pump bottle. "
My salon isdon't have one
This product is best for:good ffor dreads
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Leaves Hair Tangled

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
From:Del Mar, CA, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1998
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I was disappointed in this shampoo as it doesn't create much of a lather without using a large amount. I used the brilliant conditioner and my long hair was very tangled. I do like the smell; I suggest using the other products in the brilliant line to get the shine/smoothness and try a different shampoo and condition for long hair. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lack of bubble, make hair itchy

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type coarse
Skin type combination
Hair concern smoother/straighter hair
" lack of bubble, so have to use a lot to cover entire hair. after using it, hair feel itchy much often. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product Yes
" love this shampoo, smells great, cleanses hair and scalp, adds moisture and volume, detangles hair, works wonderfully! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally Worth It!

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
From:Washington, DC, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type medium
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2011
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth take public transportation
" This has been my favorite shampoo for years- I encountered it at an Aveda salon and fell in love. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair feel very clean and has a great scent. It's not super drying, but I do recommend using it along with conditioner (I pair it with Rosemary Mint). A liter of this shampoo lasts me at least 6 months with daily use. "
This product is best for:cleansing
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the smell

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
From:Hutchinson, KS, USA
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
Hair type medium
Skin type normal
Hair concern protect color
Choosing Aveda Since 1997
I am devoted to Aveda
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" Love the smell of this shampoo and the way it makes my hair soft and shiny! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Smells amazing

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
Gender Female
Age 25 to 34
Hair type fine
Skin type combination
Hair concern volume
Choosing Aveda Since 2006
I am an Aveda customer
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I love this shampoo. It gives amazing shine and is hands down, the best smelling shampoo. However, I did take off one star because it is not the best for my fine, color-treated hair. It strips the color, and flattens my hair even more than usual. I'm sure it's awesome for those with thick hair. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It Really Is Brilliant!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
From:Susquehanna County, PA, USA
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type fine
Skin type sensitive
Hair concern thinning hair
Choosing Aveda Since 1986
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" I have baby fine hair that gets very tangled, particularly after washing. It is also thinning and is color-treated. I have spent years trying to find products that successfully detangle--until now. The Brilliant shampoo/conditioner combination is the best I've found for detangling baby fine hair--and I have also used several other Aveda products. As a bonus, the combination creates shine for color-treated hair, provides bounce and volume and has a very nice aroma. "
My salon isAcacia
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shampoo

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
" Great shampoo for textured hair. The scent is out of this world. "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Made my hair so soft!!

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
From:Wisconsin
Pure Privilege memberYes
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 18 to 24
Hair type medium
Skin type combination
Hair concern add moisture
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth recycle
" today was my first time using the Brilliant shampoo and I can say it's definitely a winner! Lathers up and once I rinse it's so nice I feel like I could get away without using conditioner! Love it "
My salon isEdge Salon Mayville, WI
This product is best for:moisturizing, shine, softness
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent choice

PostedJune 22, 2015
Customer avatar
By 
I received a free trial of this product No
Gender Female
Age 35 to 44
" The best Aveda shampoo! It's my favorite one :). Works for all hair types "
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shampoo and conditioner ever!!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
By 
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
From:Tracy california
Pure Privilege memberYes
Gender Female
Age 45 to 54
Hair type coarse
Skin type normal
Hair concern more shine
Choosing Aveda Since 2012
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member Yes
My favorite thing to do for the Earth bike/walk
" I have a grey hair i used the two brilliant products and the results were super!! My hair looks shiny , no frezz and feels soft i love it ! "
My salon isCreations
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brilliant™ Shampoo
RATINGS: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant shampoo is a must have for me!

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Customer avatar
By 
From:Almond, NC 28713, USA
Gender Female
Age 65 or over
Hair type fine
Skin type normal
Hair concern volume
I am an Aveda customer
Pure Privilege member No
My favorite thing to do for the Earth buy organic/local
" I have baby fine hair and as I have aged it is also thinning. Brilliant shampoo makes my hair appear fuller without that feeling of stripping it or roughing up the hair shaft. I love the natural scent it has as well.
When I started using Brilliant my daughter noticed the difference and is now buying the same shampoo for herself. "
This product is best for:cleans without being harsh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>